Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools 11

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 06-25-2014, 02:22 PM
cocamycola89 cocamycola89 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Kristiansand, Norway
Posts: 81
Default Randomly distorting playback?! HELP!

Hey Guys,

I am experiencing severely distorted playback for no apparent reason in PT HD 11.0.2. It sounds just like its been slammed though a bitcrusher so I suspect it is some sort of sampling issue maybe? It comes on randomly and often and its disturbing my workflow so I am back on 10 for the time being. This is happening with the same consistency on both my work machines

Its important to note that as soon as I go into audio and midi setup and change the sample rate, PT gives me a warning saying it cant change the sample rate but the problem then mysteriously disappears.

-eric
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 06-25-2014, 10:55 PM
Cutlerbri Cutlerbri is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Seattle
Posts: 290
Default Re: Randomly distorting playback?! HELP!

I have the same issue, Eric. I get horrible distortion and I have to quite PT 11 and re-enter the session. That usually works but I get the feeling itd won't be long before I must upgrade some of my components. I'm running an underpowered system, as you can see below. I'm okay as long as I don't use too many tracks, VIs, and plugins.
I'm sure most of the nice folks who offer advice here will want to know more about your system. Check out the link, "Help us Help You" at the top of this page. Then list as much information as you can about your system setup.
__________________
Brian
See profile page for system details
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 06-25-2014, 11:23 PM
Intransit Intransit is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 556
Default Re: Randomly distorting playback?! HELP!

Do these come in extremely loud blasts of noise? I've had that a couple times.
__________________
Mac Pro 2012 12-Core 2.4GHz RAM 48GB
Native 2018.3 HD_OSX 10.12.3
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 06-26-2014, 04:12 AM
cocamycola89 cocamycola89 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Kristiansand, Norway
Posts: 81
Default Re: Randomly distorting playback?! HELP!

Quote:
Originally Posted by Cutlerbri View Post
I have the same issue, Eric. I get horrible distortion and I have to quite PT 11 and re-enter the session. That usually works but I get the feeling itd won't be long before I must upgrade some of my components. I'm running an underpowered system, as you can see below. I'm okay as long as I don't use too many tracks, VIs, and plugins.
I'm sure most of the nice folks who offer advice here will want to know more about your system. Check out the link, "Help us Help You" at the top of this page. Then list as much information as you can about your system setup.
Been a while since I was on this forum so thanks for the reminder about the info update, everything should be visible now. I am relived I am not the only one with this issue but I am sorry about your difficulties.
__________________
MacBook Pro (Early 2015)
2,2 GHz Intel Core i7
16GB Memory
OS X (10.13.4)
RME Fireface UFX
Protools HD 11.3.2
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 06-26-2014, 04:14 AM
cocamycola89 cocamycola89 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Kristiansand, Norway
Posts: 81
Default Re: Randomly distorting playback?! HELP!

Quote:
Originally Posted by Intransit View Post
Do these come in extremely loud blasts of noise? I've had that a couple times.
No its more like someone just un-bypassed a bit crusher on your output for no apparent reason. Its not any louder then the music but certainly much more unpleasant.
__________________
MacBook Pro (Early 2015)
2,2 GHz Intel Core i7
16GB Memory
OS X (10.13.4)
RME Fireface UFX
Protools HD 11.3.2
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 06-26-2014, 04:42 AM
SpinningDisk's Avatar
SpinningDisk SpinningDisk is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: USA
Posts: 1,474
Default Re: Randomly distorting playback?! HELP!

Stupid question. Your not demoing a plugin are you? Some plugins give out a harsh distorted sound in demo mode.
Like I said, stupid question.

__________________
PT 11, PT LE 6.0, DIGI 001, DIGI 003, 27" Late 2012 Intel iMac, Blue and White G3, Reason 7, Celemony, Waves, A.I.R., Softube, XLN Audio, IKmultimedia, Massey
Alesis Masterlink, Alesis Adat LX20,
, Yamaha Motif ES8, Sure SM58, Sure KSM27, Byerdynamic MC 834 N, Event Project Studio 6, Pod Line 6, Focusrite Trakmaster Pro DI, Glyph Drives, Lexicon,
Fender Strats, Ibanez Acoustic, Ibanez Bass, Ibanez Electric.

http://www.johnackermusic.com/
protools@verizon.net

Live and Let Live
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 06-26-2014, 10:04 PM
Intransit Intransit is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 556
Default Re: Randomly distorting playback?! HELP!

So this just happened to me tonight. Maybe reading this jinxed me. Just working along, session is pretty big. For feature film. I didn't even load anything new, even removed a couple plugs, but what did do was go through a lot of custom Massive patches. I was getting this bit crushing sound. CPU Errors and Video could not playback errors. The only thing that stopped it and allowed me to work was remove the Massive that I was messing with and load a new one.

I have ignore cpu errors checked. So what I think happened is my messing with Massive patches caused the AAE to get sand in it's…

Pretty odd, past week it's been fairly smooth working. A few odd crashes. Pro Tools, the fickle lady.

;P
__________________
Mac Pro 2012 12-Core 2.4GHz RAM 48GB
Native 2018.3 HD_OSX 10.12.3
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 06-27-2014, 03:15 AM
cocamycola89 cocamycola89 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Kristiansand, Norway
Posts: 81
Default Re: Randomly distorting playback?! HELP!

Quote:
Originally Posted by SpinningDisk View Post
Stupid question. Your not demoing a plugin are you? Some plugins give out a harsh distorted sound in demo mode.
Like I said, stupid question.

Not a stupid question at all but I am currently not demoing anything no.
__________________
MacBook Pro (Early 2015)
2,2 GHz Intel Core i7
16GB Memory
OS X (10.13.4)
RME Fireface UFX
Protools HD 11.3.2
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 06-27-2014, 03:19 AM
cocamycola89 cocamycola89 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Kristiansand, Norway
Posts: 81
Default Re: Randomly distorting playback?! HELP!

Quote:
Originally Posted by Intransit View Post
So this just happened to me tonight. Maybe reading this jinxed me. Just working along, session is pretty big. For feature film. I didn't even load anything new, even removed a couple plugs, but what did do was go through a lot of custom Massive patches. I was getting this bit crushing sound. CPU Errors and Video could not playback errors. The only thing that stopped it and allowed me to work was remove the Massive that I was messing with and load a new one.

I have ignore cpu errors checked. So what I think happened is my messing with Massive patches caused the AAE to get sand in it's…

Pretty odd, past week it's been fairly smooth working. A few odd crashes. Pro Tools, the fickle lady.

;P
She sure is! Since I wrote this PT has been behaving like an angle As if it sensed I was on to it

Your referring to NI´s Massive? If so, Massive is a permanent resident in most my sessions so I really hope its not that!
__________________
MacBook Pro (Early 2015)
2,2 GHz Intel Core i7
16GB Memory
OS X (10.13.4)
RME Fireface UFX
Protools HD 11.3.2
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 06-27-2014, 12:39 PM
Intransit Intransit is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 556
Default Re: Randomly distorting playback?! HELP!

Quote:
Originally Posted by cocamycola89 View Post
Your referring to NI´s Massive? If so, Massive is a permanent resident in most my sessions so I really hope its not that!
Okay. I'm a jackass. I've known about this issue for a few months. But I'm tired, 14 hours a day on a feature will do that.

With Native HD selected, any Sound Toys plugin placed after NI Massive will cause crippling CPU spikes even with nothing in your session other then one Massive and one ST. My workaround is placing my effects for Massive on an aux and routing there.

My test was only with HDN. With Mac line out selected it's fine. People using Apollo are good too.

So that's what happened to me last night. I was tired and needed a new sound and I put a ST on the same track as NI Massive. Didn't hit me until this morning.

That's the problem with these bugs. Even if you know about them, under deadlines and lack of sleep Sh@# happens. I spent 30 min restarting etc trying to figure out what was going on even though I already knew.
__________________
Mac Pro 2012 12-Core 2.4GHz RAM 48GB
Native 2018.3 HD_OSX 10.12.3
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Audio Playback cuts off randomly. Please help. Mboxer2 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 5 01-23-2009 03:56 PM
Reason Instruments are DISTORTING on Playback! outtareach 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 3 12-23-2008 10:26 AM
002 and Mbox distorting on mac funkyape 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 4 09-06-2005 03:46 PM
Distorting Vocals hymns 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 4 08-21-2005 10:12 AM
Digi 002 Distorting on Playback JTolbert 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 1 12-09-2003 05:32 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:24 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com