Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support

Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > General Discussion & Off Topic > General Discussion
Register FAQ Today's Posts Search

Old 04-08-2010, 02:09 AM

Post NAB Show/ The New "AVID" in Five Days

As a Pro Tools operator, I can say that it has been a rough two years. I mostly work on LE with my 003R, and I am seeing more people testing and switching to other software than I have seen in my short career. I love Pro Tools, don't get me wrong, but there have to be some clanging and some improvement that needs to be done.

Will that change, this coming April 12? Will NAB be the venue for a change at Avid?

So the name that we all love will now just be a memory, as Avid has decided to drop the Digidesign name from the products. Now with everything with the new AVID logo stamped on all of the Pro Tools Label, will Avid make that announcement that we have been waiting for? They was pretty non-existent during NAMM, which is just really a merchant show, but we are all craving some word from the new thinking at Avid. I know I have been waiting for a few features myself. These are some features that I would like to hear this Monday for the press event;

1. Pro Tools 9
2. Full Native 64bit program
3. Stable program (it should not crash, ever!)
4. Unlock track limitations (or make a higher count)
5. Only two versions of Pro Tools (Pro Tools Essentials and Pro Tools HD "Pro Tools HD,LE, and M-Powered will be one)
6. All Avid interfaces is no longer restricted to one version of Pro Tools
7. Software no longer relies on HD | Accel Cards
8. Interfaces with PCIe cards, as well as new, powerful Accel cards
9. ADC Standard in Pro Tools LE
10. Satellite feature standard/included in Pro Tools HD
11. Built in surround sound mixing and monitoring up to 7.1 monitors