How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support

Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools 9
Register FAQ Today's Posts Search

Old 04-23-2011, 07:10 PM

Default Automatic Delay Compensation?

Greetings,

I am considering cross-grading from PT LE 8 to 9. As I understand it, PT 9 has "Automatic Delay Compensation", but I have had this explained to me two ways...that this means it will compensate for plug-ins which create delay issues, like Drumagog, or that this will prevent latency issues when playing along with a session. Does automatic delay compensation fix one or both of these issues? My primary objective was to simplify the use of drumagog, but I didn't know if I was correct in my understanding.

THANKS FOR YOUR HELP!

-Dax
Old 04-23-2011, 07:34 PM

Default Re: Automatic Delay Compensation?

I'm not a pro tools user (yet) but here is how delay compensation works.

When you insert a plugin, there will always be latency as the audio has to go through the plugin and out again. As far as I know, the previous versions of Pro Tools didn't "automatically compensate" for this. And so you had to adjust the delay to get everything in sync again. With ADC you don't have to do this anymore, Pro Tools will automatically do this.

I may be wrong, but that's what I know.
Old 04-23-2011, 08:00 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by theOnlyMoment View Post
I'm not a pro tools user (yet) but here is how delay compensation works.

When you insert a plugin, there will always be latency as the audio has to go through the plugin and out again. As far as I know, the previous versions of Pro Tools didn't "automatically compensate" for this. And so you had to adjust the delay to get everything in sync again. With ADC you don't have to do this anymore, Pro Tools will automatically do this.

I may be wrong, but that's what I know.