Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support

Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win)
Register FAQ Today's Posts Search

Old 01-13-2010, 06:38 PM

Default Building a workstation or buying a Dell

So, I would like to build a workstation that can support most home audio recording. Running simply through an MBox I would like it to be capable of running several plugins and recording 4 tracks simultaneously. I am very new to Pro Tools and am unfamiliar with what hardware works well with audio recording. I run an IMac now and I get HW Buffer errors and lock ups constantly. That combined with the fact that I have to buy every plugin I'm gearing more towards windows based systems. I am trying to spend somewhere around 600 dollars, I'm on a budget, so my options are either build a unit or buy a Dell, seemingly. Just looking for some recommendations. I found some dells that "seem" like it would be a good fit for around that price range. 2.6 ghz processors, 4 gb of ram etc...Then i see computers for twice the price with 1.8 ghz and 2 gb of ram. Just looking for some direction. Sorry for being a newb. Thanks in advance guys.
Old 01-13-2010, 07:40 PM

Default Re: Building a workstation or buying a Dell

Quote:
Originally Posted by dwfender View Post