Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Additional Resources

Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Tips & Tricks

Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 04-20-2012, 04:03 AM
Raoul23 Raoul23 is offline
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: UK
Posts: 2,209
Question Haas effect set up?

I keep hearing and reading about the Haas effect to really widen guitar tracks. The only thing is I can find a guide on how exactly to set it up eg routing/what delay to use etc. Is there anyone out there who can help me with this I'd really like to try it and see what it can do

Raoul Crane

PT 10.3.10 HD Accel 7, Windows 7 64 Bit, I7 960, Supermicro X8SAX, NVIDIA GeForce GT 610, 12GB Ram, Magma P7R464, Kingston SSD, 2 X WD Caviar Black, Dual Monitors
Reply With Quote
Old 04-21-2012, 12:22 PM
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: TWICKENHAM (South West London) UK
Posts: 1,690

Go read about Dolby stereo - its all there.

Mike Aiton BSc (hons)
Dubbing Mixer/Sound Designer
BAFTA member
IPS member
Post Production Expert at www.pro-tools-expert.com
Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2012, 11:16 PM
PD-John PD-John is offline
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Perth, Australia
Posts: 488
Default Re: Haas effect set up?

The most basic method is to simply duplicate the mono track and delay the duplicated region(s) by a few milliseconds. I usually nudge it forward 500 samples - obviously you need to watch out for phase issues/comb filtering. This isn't the best technique when looking for mono compatibility..

Combine this with a little pitch-shifting of the duplicated region ( around +/- 4 cents) and you can really widen things up.
Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-2012, 04:41 PM
janmuths janmuths is offline
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Byron Bay / Australia
Posts: 356
Default Re: Haas effect set up?

Try a mono-to-stereo Short-DLY. Set the DLY on only the left side to 0.4 - 0.8ms. IMHO, longer delays don't work any better.
You'll feel that the localisation is driven towards the right side. Compensate with the input level if you want to.

Simple effect, works really well. I sometimes do that to 'pan' signals while maintaining equal level L and R.

Hope this helps.

2010 Dolphin Award for Production / Engineering
Reply With Quote

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Haas delay to widen the guitar ? It's an old old trick kdiamond Eleven Rack 6 03-30-2011 04:09 AM
Haas Effect or screwy encode? Starcrash Post - Surround - Video 11 06-27-2006 11:05 PM
Haas Panning for 5.1? Mixchump Post - Surround - Video 0 10-11-2004 07:43 AM
Finally a new vocal effect to put the Cher effect to bed!!! ***BboY *** 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 5 08-22-2002 09:11 PM
Haas Effect? adamhaas 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 10 06-19-2002 09:00 AM

All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:09 PM.

Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com