Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community (https://duc.avid.com/index.php)
-   Windows (https://duc.avid.com/forumdisplay.php?f=93)
-   -   Pro Tools 10 on Windows 8?? (https://duc.avid.com/showthread.php?t=327737)

JamesClark1991 09-07-2012 02:09 PM

Pro Tools 10 on Windows 8??

Hi, I'm studying Sound Technology at university level and I need a DAW, naturally Pro Tools is my first choice. I will be purchasing a new PC in October/November when I go back to university which will have Windows 8 installed as default. However, I can't find anything on the AVID website (which is really poor imho) or on Google that gives information about Pro Tools 10 Windows 8 support. Could someone clarify if AVID are planning to (or already do) support Pro Tools 10 on Windows 8??

I know for sure that Cubase 6.5 work on Windows 8 and it is my second choice DAW, but I'd prefer to learn the industry standard.

I don't mind waiting til after Christmas to buy if I have to, I'd just like some re-assurance on your stance at the moment.

I don't want to purchase Cubase 6.5 only to find out you'll be patching support for Pro Tools in the near future.

I'd really appreciate ANY information on this as it's quite serious for me, I *need* a DAW for uni by March at the latest.

filosofem 09-07-2012 02:31 PM

Re: Pro Tools 10 on Windows 8??

Avid have not Qualified Windows 8 for Pro Tools.

JamesClark1991 09-07-2012 03:56 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by filosofem (Post 1962465)
Avid have not Qualified Windows 8 for Pro Tools.

Why not?

guitardom 09-07-2012 04:22 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by JamesClark1991 (Post 1962491)
Why not?

it is still in beta, its not even released. a developer preview has been released but things will still change in it. normal procedure for hem to wait until after its released to address it. how they have always done it.

Darryl Ramm 09-07-2012 04:34 PM