Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > AAX Plug-ins

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 12-25-2022, 07:48 AM
marcnyc marcnyc is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2000
Posts: 176
Default Structure Free no longer? Any substitutes?

I'm on Pro Tools 2022.10 and MacOS 12.6.2 and I needed a quick/easy/free way to play some samples so I tried to download and install Structure Free today but after downloading the v1.0.2 installer from Avid I got a message saying "This package is incompatible with this version of macOS".

Avid's Structure Free compatibility page (https://avid.secure.force.com/pkb/ar...ility/en353933) does not mention anything about it not working on 12.6 (it just says minimum 10.4).

Does anyone know if Structure has been discontinued and/or if there is an alternate easy/free way to use some external sounds and map them out on a keyboard?

Thanks

Last edited by marcnyc; 12-25-2022 at 09:25 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 12-25-2022, 09:54 AM
marcnyc marcnyc is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2000
Posts: 176
Default Re: Structure Free no longer? Any substitutes?

I just tried downloading and installing the Avid AIR Instrument Bundle (https://www.avid.com/plugins/first-a...trument-bundle) and I get the same error...
Did I miss something and AIR is no longer compatible?
Or is something weird happening on my system?
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 12-25-2022, 10:49 AM
Darryl Ramm Darryl Ramm is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 19,749
Default Re: Structure Free no longer? Any substitutes?

I have no idea what is going on with Avid and Air Structure or what *exact* installer you are downloading and I don't use Structure at all. But Structure/Structure Free version 1.5.10.82e5fd3is is included with the First_AIR_Instruments_Bundle_19.12_Mac.dmg part of the Avid Complete Plugin Bundle (and is therefore installed on my system) and if you have that ACPB you should have Structure Free and that First Air installer in you product downloads on Avid.com. Are you using the 19.12 installer?

But for me Structure is broken once installed, I'm running Pro Tools 2022.10 on unsupported Ventura 13.1 and instantiating that version of structure hangs (spinning wheel of death) or crashes Pro Tools. I have no idea if this is just a problem in my system, is a problem specific to Ventura etc. and I'm not going to debug this further. Maybe this will get sorted out with the upcoming Pro Tools 2022.12 release, maybe it should never install and it's installing only because the installer is confused by Venture 13.x??? I have no idea.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 12-25-2022, 11:11 AM
marcnyc marcnyc is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2000
Posts: 176
Default Re: Structure Free no longer? Any substitutes?

The latest version of the AIR bundle on the Avid website is 18.1 and that is what I tried to install and I get that error.
I'm on Monterey, which is supported, so I am not sure what is going on.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 12-25-2022, 11:18 AM
BScout BScout is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 4,253
Default Re: Structure Free no longer? Any substitutes?

Structure is only fully supported to macOS11

Any info on air plugins comes from
https://support.airmusictech.com/en/support/home

They are no longer part of Avid.
__________________
Pro Tools Ult 2024.3.1, HDX 2, MTRX/SPQ, RME BBF Pro + MADIface ProS1 x 2, Fire Max11 x 2, Dock, iPad Air5 Mac Mini 14,12, 12 core, macOS 13.6.7RAM 32GB, SSD 4TB, GPU 19 coreQNAP TVS-872XT 148TB TB3
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 12-25-2022, 11:19 AM
thin ice thin ice is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Berkshire
Posts: 998
Default Re: Structure Free no longer? Any substitutes?

Their numbering of plugin releases had me confused before. Aren't you looking for 19.12?
__________________
Mac Mini M1 16 GB
OS 14.4.1
PT 2024.3.1
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 12-25-2022, 11:21 AM
JoelG's Avatar
JoelG JoelG is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Canada
Posts: 2,115
Default Re: Structure Free no longer? Any substitutes?

If you log in to https://my.avid.com/ what do you have under Pro Tools, "Download Links and Product Details"?

I have 2018.3 for Win and 19.12 for Mac of the Air Instrument Bundle.

Joel
__________________
Jam Space:
HP Elite 6300 / Core i5 3770 / 24GB RAM / Win 11 Pro
Pro Tools HD / Focusrite 18i20 + M-Audio ProFire 2626

Home:
Asus B450 Pro4 / Ryzen 5 2600 / 32GB RAM / Win 11 Pro
Pro Tools HD / Focusrite 18i20 + M-Audio ProFire 2626

Rig:
Eleven Rack / ART SLA1 / Two 2x10 Passive Monitors / FCB1010 w/ EurekaPROM
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 12-25-2022, 11:21 AM
thin ice thin ice is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Berkshire
Posts: 998
Default Re: Structure Free no longer? Any substitutes?

That will in your software download links under your Pro Tools product.
__________________
Mac Mini M1 16 GB
OS 14.4.1
PT 2024.3.1
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 12-25-2022, 11:30 AM
marcnyc marcnyc is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2000
Posts: 176
Default Re: Structure Free no longer? Any substitutes?

I don't see AIR in my Protools Product & Download page.
I do have Pro Tools Ultimate and I know I've used Structure Free before but I wasn't aware that they were not part of Avid anymore or only supported until mcOS 11.
Their support page says they are in Testing (which to me means it should work) but it won't even launch the installer.

I don't see any links to 19.12. The AIR page on the Avid site makes you download 18.1 as the latest version. Is there a 19.12 somewhere?
Does anyone have a link?

I only see 18.1, even in this link:
http://secure.digidesign.com/service.../downloads.cfm

So confusing...
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 12-25-2022, 11:42 AM
Darryl Ramm Darryl Ramm is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 19,749
Default Re: Structure Free no longer? Any substitutes?

Quote:
Originally Posted by marcnyc View Post
The latest version of the AIR bundle on the Avid website is 18.1 and that is what I tried to install and I get that error.
I'm on Monterey, which is supported, so I am not sure what is going on.
I've already pointed out you to the latest installer actually available from Avid is First_AIR_Instruments_Bundle_19.12_ and you get this as part of ACPB. Do you have a subscription to that? Do you have Structure Free as part some past promo? If so you don't necessarily ongoing updates from that.

But as BScout points out it may all not be supported anyhow. If these version numbers are correct structure 1.5.x seems ancient compared to the 2021 version directly from Air. And many of the other versions of Air instruments in that bundle are at the 2021 levels. I wonder if Avid messed this up with no deal for ongoing support for Structure from Air? Which would raise a question of how/why Avid is still bundling something with ACPB and apparently claiming that Bundle is supported on Monterey. Air seems fairly disorganized, a pity as some of their plugins are handy, I'm not sure how much I trust any info from them. It's going to be interesting to see what happens with 2022.12 and it's noticeable that the Air First bundle has not yet been updated to be universal binaries yet while other plugins in ACPB have been, not a good look for Avid or Air. I hope that installer bundle gets updated soon...
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Structure Free no longer reading FX from Structure patches? simon hunt Virtual Instruments 1 04-30-2014 05:42 AM
Structure Free unable to load homemade files from Structure 1.0 tuchel Virtual Instruments 0 04-26-2013 09:10 AM
When I loaded Structure from VIRT pack, Structure Free menu still there. dl0banter Virtual Instruments 2 06-12-2011 02:23 AM
Structure Free no longer recording to inst trk Alex Stolichnya Virtual Instruments 1 03-26-2008 07:08 PM
Mouse substitutes... soundboy69 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 2 04-01-2002 07:00 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:38 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com