Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > macOS

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 11-22-2021, 08:30 PM
rogerwilco2000 rogerwilco2000 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: city and/or country
Posts: 22
Default Pro Tools with Apple/iPad Sidecar

If you're using a Mac and and iPad there's a feature called Sidecar which will turn your iPad into a secondary display which can either mirror or extend your main computer's desktop.

When I use this with Pro Tools, moving a PT window from the main to the Sidecar display turns Pro Tools unresponsive and I have to force quit.

Has anyone else run into this issue and is there a fix? I've searched the internet and the only thread I could find was an old one on Reddit where everyone chimed in how their normal secondary monitor worked just fine. For the record, a standard second monitor works great; it's just a Sidecar display that freezes PT.

I'm on an M1 mini (Big Sur on Silicon/Rosetta), most current PT install.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 11-23-2021, 08:25 PM
audiobob's Avatar
audiobob audiobob is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Houston
Posts: 967
Default Re: Pro Tools with Apple/iPad Sidecar

I use Sidecar with an iPad but only as a movie playback monitor for sound design and mixing. Works perfectly with no PT freezes on an Intel Mac mini with Big Sur.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 11-24-2021, 03:07 PM
rogerwilco2000 rogerwilco2000 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: city and/or country
Posts: 22
Default Re: Pro Tools with Apple/iPad Sidecar

Thanks for this. I can remember using Sidecar with my older Intel i7 MacBook Pro; I'm assuming this is probably a Silicon compatibility issue and not a Sidecar one.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 11-24-2021, 04:55 PM
jeffro's Avatar
jeffro jeffro is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Earth
Posts: 9,896
Default Re: Pro Tools with Apple/iPad Sidecar

Haven't used it much, but some quick tests with Pro Tools Ultimate 2021.10 on a 2019 iMac (Catalina or Bug Sur) with an iPad Pro didn't show any problems.
__________________
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Izotope Insight 2 not working on iPad screen with Sidecar or Duet? randolphschwiemerfield AAX Plug-ins 3 09-19-2021 03:45 PM
Apple Ipad tablet unveiled nst7 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 13 04-21-2010 05:23 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:53 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com