Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > General Discussion & Off Topic > General Discussion

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 06-09-2021, 01:27 AM
unkJE's Avatar
unkJE unkJE is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Adelaide, Australia
Posts: 2,416
Default Internet outages – and what is a CDN, anyway?

Our so-called cloud life: Expect more internet outages like Fastly's and protect yourself
https://www.usatoday.com/story/tech/...re/7600097002/


Fastly global internet outage: why did so many sites go down — and what is a CDN, anyway?
https://www.abc.net.au/news/2021-06-...-cdn/100200786


Websites back online after Fastly-linked glitch takes down internet
https://www.reuters.com/business/med...wn-2021-06-08/
__________________
Pro Tools 2021.7 & 12.5.1 HD - Studio One 5.4 Pro - Win10 64 Pro – Lenovo W520 ThinkPads (Type 4276-37U) & 433830U Docks – SSDs Samsung 860 Evo & 2 T5s - Mbox 3 Pro - Axiom Pro 49 - AIR Mini 32
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 06-09-2021, 04:15 AM
musicman691 musicman691 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: The Sopranos State (NJ)
Posts: 18,702
Default Re: Internet outages – and what is a CDN, anyway?

Quote:
Originally Posted by unkJE View Post
Our so-called cloud life: Expect more internet outages like Fastly's and protect yourself
https://www.usatoday.com/story/tech/...re/7600097002/


Fastly global internet outage: why did so many sites go down — and what is a CDN, anyway?
https://www.abc.net.au/news/2021-06-...-cdn/100200786


Websites back online after Fastly-linked glitch takes down internet
https://www.reuters.com/business/med...wn-2021-06-08/
And people wonder why the knowledgeable around here tell others to ditch anything Cloud related especially iLok.
__________________
Jack
See profile for system details
iMac dead & retired as of 11/4/17

QAPLA!
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 06-17-2021, 11:48 PM
unkJE's Avatar
unkJE unkJE is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Adelaide, Australia
Posts: 2,416
Default Re: Internet outages – and what is a CDN, anyway?

Apart from Internet outages from cyber attacks, there are "routing table errors":

Akamai says a technical problem not cyber attack was behind mass bank, corporate web outage

https://www.abc.net.au/news/2021-06-...-app/100223900



"Our" Akamai?



“The domain akmedia.digidesign.com registered by Avid Technology, Inc. was initially registered in May of 1994 through CSC CORPORATE DOMAINS, INC.. The hosted servers are located in New York City, New York within the United States which resides on the Akamai Technologies, Inc. network.”
__________________
Pro Tools 2021.7 & 12.5.1 HD - Studio One 5.4 Pro - Win10 64 Pro – Lenovo W520 ThinkPads (Type 4276-37U) & 433830U Docks – SSDs Samsung 860 Evo & 2 T5s - Mbox 3 Pro - Axiom Pro 49 - AIR Mini 32

Last edited by unkJE; 06-18-2021 at 06:49 AM. Reason: more info
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 07-05-2021, 09:29 PM
unkJE's Avatar
unkJE unkJE is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Adelaide, Australia
Posts: 2,416
Default Re: Internet outages – and what is a CDN, anyway?

In Australia:

Commonwealth Bank customers have been unable to use banking services, investigation underway

https://www.abc.net.au/news/2021-07-...tage/100270998
__________________
Pro Tools 2021.7 & 12.5.1 HD - Studio One 5.4 Pro - Win10 64 Pro – Lenovo W520 ThinkPads (Type 4276-37U) & 433830U Docks – SSDs Samsung 860 Evo & 2 T5s - Mbox 3 Pro - Axiom Pro 49 - AIR Mini 32
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 07-05-2021, 10:08 PM
unkJE's Avatar
unkJE unkJE is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Adelaide, Australia
Posts: 2,416
Default Re: Internet outages – and what is a CDN, anyway?

If Cloud is ever going to succeed – especially in times of Internet outages, Avid should offer an “anytime” downloadable copy of a Cloud Session – simply by clicking a “Download File/s to your Email Address or Avid Account” button - “Save as you go” ….

To have a Cloud Session interrupted or compromised – whether permanently or temporarily – should be addressed ….

Too late, if the Net goes down – while you’ve got a Cloud Session open, because at the moment, this is the procedure:

Close Cloud Session in iLok License Manager
Transfer license to physical iLok
Synchronize iLok
Log out of iLok License Manager
Restart computer
Open same Session on Offline computer
__________________
Pro Tools 2021.7 & 12.5.1 HD - Studio One 5.4 Pro - Win10 64 Pro – Lenovo W520 ThinkPads (Type 4276-37U) & 433830U Docks – SSDs Samsung 860 Evo & 2 T5s - Mbox 3 Pro - Axiom Pro 49 - AIR Mini 32

Last edited by unkJE; 07-05-2021 at 10:19 PM. Reason: Download File/s to your Email Address - hit "Save' to update
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 07-06-2021, 10:16 AM
albee1952 albee1952 is online now
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Norwich, CT
Posts: 37,046
Default Re: Internet outages – and what is a CDN, anyway?

Quote:
Originally Posted by unkJE View Post
If Cloud is ever going to succeed – especially in times of Internet outages, Avid should offer an “anytime” downloadable copy of a Cloud Session – simply by clicking a “Download File/s to your Email Address or Avid Account” button - “Save as you go” ….

To have a Cloud Session interrupted or compromised – whether permanently or temporarily – should be addressed ….

Too late, if the Net goes down – while you’ve got a Cloud Session open, because at the moment, this is the procedure:

Close Cloud Session in iLok License Manager
Transfer license to physical iLok
Synchronize iLok
Log out of iLok License Manager
Restart computer
Open same Session on Offline computer
Absolutely agree, but wait...there's MORE
If internet goes down, if PT is open, everything should continue to work as long as PT remains open. I would be fine with getting a popup telling me my iLok Cloud session has been interrupted, would I like to continue working, and have a checkbox for YES, or Save/Close/End cloud session.
__________________
Gigabyte X79/intel i7 3930K, 32GB RAM, HD/Native, 192 IO
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


The better I drink, the more I mix

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 07-06-2021, 06:19 PM
unkJE's Avatar
unkJE unkJE is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Adelaide, Australia
Posts: 2,416
Default Re: Internet outages – and what is a CDN, anyway?

Quote:
Originally Posted by albee1952 View Post
Absolutely agree, but wait...there's MORE
If internet goes down, if PT is open, everything should continue to work as long as PT remains open. I would be fine with getting a popup telling me my iLok Cloud session has been interrupted, would I like to continue working, and have a checkbox for YES, or Save/Close/End cloud session.
Great suggestions - because they'd rely on the ability to have both Cloud and Offline Sessions running simultaneously

If the Internet goes down whilst a Cloud Session is open, there goes the chance to edit or save your Session, resulting in “lost work” …

If a Pro Tools license is “locked in the Cloud” – this would force one to wait ‘til the Net’s working again, in order to end the Cloud Session and transfer your Pro Tools license back to your iLok …

It appears if the Net goes down while you’ve got a Cloud Session open – not only are you locked out of the Cloud – you’re also unable to run Pro Tools on your Offline computer …
__________________
Pro Tools 2021.7 & 12.5.1 HD - Studio One 5.4 Pro - Win10 64 Pro – Lenovo W520 ThinkPads (Type 4276-37U) & 433830U Docks – SSDs Samsung 860 Evo & 2 T5s - Mbox 3 Pro - Axiom Pro 49 - AIR Mini 32
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 07-06-2021, 06:42 PM
unkJE's Avatar
unkJE unkJE is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Adelaide, Australia
Posts: 2,416
Default Re: Internet outages – and what is a CDN, anyway?

Ages ago, I suggested:

Multiple Authorizations (2 would satisfy most people!) for Pro Tools

https://duc.avid.com/showpost.php?p=2587291&postcount=1


The above is based on sound theory: “the more computers that are running Pro Tools, at any given time, the better it is for Avid!”


and it'd solve "The Net went down while my Pro Tools license was locked in the Cloud" ...
__________________
Pro Tools 2021.7 & 12.5.1 HD - Studio One 5.4 Pro - Win10 64 Pro – Lenovo W520 ThinkPads (Type 4276-37U) & 433830U Docks – SSDs Samsung 860 Evo & 2 T5s - Mbox 3 Pro - Axiom Pro 49 - AIR Mini 32

Last edited by unkJE; 07-06-2021 at 08:00 PM. Reason: cancel the Cloud "Save Session to Email Address/Avid Account" button - multiple Authorizations is way easier!
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 07-06-2021, 07:20 PM
JFreak's Avatar
JFreak JFreak is online now
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Tampere, Finland
Posts: 21,945
Default Re: Internet outages – and what is a CDN, anyway?

Quote:
Originally Posted by albee1952 View Post
If internet goes down, if PT is open, everything should continue to work as long as PT remains open.
You would think so, but no.

In the olden DigiDesign days when you booted PT you could have taken iLok key off and put it to a safe place, with software continuing to run uninterruptly (one of the reasons why OSX 10.6.8 & PT 8.1.1 combination is still one of my absolute favourites) but since PT was rebranded Avid in 9.0.0 the software keeps polling for license every minute, even if you use physical license key -- so beware of misplacing your USB key unless you want to relaunch PT.
__________________
Janne
What we do in life, echoes in eternity.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 07-06-2021, 07:30 PM
unkJE's Avatar
unkJE unkJE is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Adelaide, Australia
Posts: 2,416
Default Re: Internet outages – and what is a CDN, anyway?

Thanks Janne ... it certainly appears that you would not be too offended by a 2nd or 3rd Pro Tools Authorization ... may the kudos continue - with more contributors!

You don't have to ring my bell, but I'd certainly appreciate a

+1

Here:

https://duc.avid.com/showthread.php?t=413194
__________________
Pro Tools 2021.7 & 12.5.1 HD - Studio One 5.4 Pro - Win10 64 Pro – Lenovo W520 ThinkPads (Type 4276-37U) & 433830U Docks – SSDs Samsung 860 Evo & 2 T5s - Mbox 3 Pro - Axiom Pro 49 - AIR Mini 32

Last edited by unkJE; 07-06-2021 at 08:32 PM. Reason: added "where to add +1"
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Pro Tools won't let me sign into account. Says no internet - but internet is working. copyalan Pro Tools 2020 5 05-31-2020 02:49 PM
Internet Explorer 8 RichrdC Pro Tools M-Powered (Win) 11 12-31-2009 06:27 PM
How many use your PC for internet stuff too? skyking 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 18 06-18-2003 12:16 AM
they took my internet away... coaster General Discussion 3 12-14-2000 03:53 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:11 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com