Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools 11

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 11-17-2014, 08:47 AM
musicmixer04 musicmixer04 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Oslo
Posts: 287
Default open .pts files in PT 11. possible?

Hi Im currently moving all my sessions over to my PT11 HD native rig. I have a ca 200 session made on an old PT Mix system. PT 6.4.1 The .pts files are not recognized by PT 11HD.

what I have to do is open the .pts sessions on my PT 10 rig , then save session copy in, to make a new session file .ptx and then I can open the project in PT 11

This Is a very time consuming process, Is there any possible workarounds to open .pts in PT11?

Thanks
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 11-17-2014, 08:50 AM
Craig F Craig F is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 12,591
Default Re: open .pts files in PT 11. possible?

make a new session in 11 then use Import Session Data to import the old .pts sessions

not as fast as direct opening but faster than going through 10
__________________
...

"Fly High Freeee click psst tic tic tic click Bird Yeah!" - dave911

PT11 System Requirements link http://avid.force.com/pkb/articles/C...m-Requirements


Thank you,

Craig
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 11-17-2014, 10:47 AM
sw rec sw rec is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Colo Spgs Colo
Posts: 5,800
Default Re: open .pts files in PT 11. possible?

Or open it in PT 11 and immediately do a "save as.." I do this all the time, and maybe it's my imagination, but if I open, save as, close, re-open the new one it seems to operate more smoothly.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 11-17-2014, 12:21 PM
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Norwich, CT
Posts: 36,709
Default Re: open .pts files in PT 11. possible?

Assuming the new system is the same platform as the old??(Mac or PC)
__________________
Gigabyte X79/intel i7 3930K, 32GB RAM, Presonus Studio 1810C
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


I started in this business with nothing..........and I have most of it left

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 11-17-2014, 01:06 PM
Top Jimmy's Avatar
Top Jimmy Top Jimmy is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Spokane, WA
Posts: 5,511
Default Re: open .pts files in PT 11. possible?

Quote:
Originally Posted by albee1952 View Post
Assuming the new system is the same platform as the old??(Mac or PC)

Yeah, and Mac/PC compatibility enforced. Archiving unenforced sessions on DVD or on Windows from Mac could very well be causing issues.
__________________
James Cadwallader

Hackintosh - Gigabyte Z77X-UP5TH, Intel Core i7-3770K, 32GB 1600Mhz DDR3, 2x SATA 6Gb/s 240GB SSD, 3x SATA 6Gb/s 1TB HDD, 1x Glyph 2TB USB3 HDD, Mojave 10.14.6.

Pro Tools Ultimate 2021.3, HD Native, Focusrite Red 8Pre (Mac)
Pro Tools 2020.12, Mbox3 (Win)

Presonus Faderport, Pro Tools | Control
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 11-17-2014, 05:05 PM
musicmixer04 musicmixer04 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Oslo
Posts: 287
Default Re: open .pts files in PT 11. possible?

I have 3 systems

My Old PT Mix 6.4.1 which I run on PC with all sessions mac compatible checked

PT 10 on macbook Pro 2011, All the 6.4.1 .pts files opens just fine

PT11HD on macbook pro late 2013, .pts files are not recognised by the system, just a grey square with exec in green writing.

Only way that works is open the .pts files first in PT 10 and save as .ptx, then PT11 can open the files.

Quote:
Or open it in PT 11 and immediately do a "save as.." I do this all the time, and maybe it's my imagination, but if I open, save as, close, re-open the new one it seems to operate more smoothly.
Interresting. any specific improvements? I have noticed some bugs with ADC not working properly when open PT 10 sessions in PT 11 HD. maybe this will do the tricks

Thanks :)
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 11-17-2014, 06:34 PM
Top Jimmy's Avatar
Top Jimmy Top Jimmy is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Spokane, WA
Posts: 5,511
Default open .pts files in PT 11. possible?

I just tested this with a .pts created on a Windows machine and opened in PT 11 on Mac. Trying to double click the .pts just gave me an error, but I was able to start Pro Tools and then open the .pts from the file menu just fine.
__________________
James Cadwallader

Hackintosh - Gigabyte Z77X-UP5TH, Intel Core i7-3770K, 32GB 1600Mhz DDR3, 2x SATA 6Gb/s 240GB SSD, 3x SATA 6Gb/s 1TB HDD, 1x Glyph 2TB USB3 HDD, Mojave 10.14.6.

Pro Tools Ultimate 2021.3, HD Native, Focusrite Red 8Pre (Mac)
Pro Tools 2020.12, Mbox3 (Win)

Presonus Faderport, Pro Tools | Control
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 11-19-2014, 03:44 PM
musicmixer04 musicmixer04 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Oslo
Posts: 287
Default Re: open .pts files in PT 11. possible?

Quote:
I just tested this with a .pts created on a Windows machine and opened in PT 11 on Mac. Trying to double click the .pts just gave me an error, but I was able to start Pro Tools and then open the .pts from the file menu just fine.

It worked. thanks :O)
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 11-19-2014, 10:29 PM
JFreak's Avatar
JFreak JFreak is online now
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Tampere, Finland
Posts: 21,269
Default Re: open .pts files in PT 11. possible?

PT11 dropped support for PT4.x and earlier, but PT5.x and newer sessions should be readable.
__________________
Janne
What we do in life, echoes in eternity.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 04-05-2017, 10:09 AM
randyE randyE is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Minneapolis Mn
Posts: 14
Default Re: open .pts files in PT 11. possible?

thanks, man! so glad i found this. i've been importing audio since i couldn't open the sessions but opening them from PT did the trick. woot!


Quote:
Originally Posted by Top Jimmy View Post
I just tested this with a .pts created on a Windows machine and opened in PT 11 on Mac. Trying to double click the .pts just gave me an error, but I was able to start Pro Tools and then open the .pts from the file menu just fine.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
.sib .soc files don't open jeremy_235 Avid Scorch (iOS) Forum 1 08-17-2011 01:45 AM
can you open PT 7.0 files in 6.9? schpilkas 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 1 03-11-2007 01:35 AM
can i open 7.1 files in 7?? GStyle Pro Tools M-Powered (Win) 2 07-02-2006 05:00 AM
can't open files session files .....plz help... syntax 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 7 04-19-2004 07:09 AM
can PT LE 5.0.1 open 6.0.1 TDM files? jaffaman 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 2 07-19-2003 09:53 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:38 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com