Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools 12

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 03-15-2016, 01:53 AM
tjG tjG is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Location: Australia
Posts: 2
Default PT-First 12.3.1 AAE error -6117

Installed PT-First on Windows 8.1 and received this error about a month ago.
Jump forward to now..

Fresh install of Windows 10,
Audio device: Realtek High Definition Audio (latest drivers)
Dell PC, i7-4510U @ 2.00GHz, 8GB DDR3 RAM.

Installed Asio4all, selected Realtek device in Asio4ALL control panel.
Installed PT-First
Ran PT as admin (attempted with both Intel integrated graphics and nVidia 840M (both latest drivers))

Tried holding down "N" during application start but went straight to error:
"AAE error -6117 was encountered"

I've tried all troubleshooting that I could find (including: disabling audio devices, repair install of PT, and "allow applications to take exclusive control of this device" under audio device settings)
I even disabled my firewall but still no luck..

Any other ideas on a possible work around? Why won't PT let me open without a correct audio device (apparently) so I can fix it inside the application?

Any assistance would be great.
I did take the time to read all the threads I could find before posting here/
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 03-15-2016, 02:30 AM
sw rec sw rec is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Colo Spgs Colo
Posts: 6,042
Default Re: PT-First 12.3.1 AAE error -6117

(1) Win 10 is still not supported.
(2) If you have only one audio device (no dedicated interface) Windows will designate it as the default Windows sound device, then Pro Tools can't access it. It's best to get an actual DAW-spec interface.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 03-15-2016, 02:42 AM
tjG tjG is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Location: Australia
Posts: 2
Default Re: PT-First 12.3.1 AAE error -6117

Quote:
Originally Posted by sw rec View Post
(1) Win 10 is still not supported.
(2) If you have only one audio device (no dedicated interface) Windows will designate it as the default Windows sound device, then Pro Tools can't access it. It's best to get an actual DAW-spec interface.
But it didn't work for 8.1 either? Even with an external secondary sound device...

Guess I'll go back to Cubase... I'm getting the feeling that Avid's attitude it just "Use OSX or gtfo"
Thanks though...
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 03-15-2016, 03:11 AM
sw rec sw rec is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Colo Spgs Colo
Posts: 6,042
Default Re: PT-First 12.3.1 AAE error -6117

It's working on hundreds of Win 8.1 systems...(running Win 7 myself on 12.4 HD without a hiccup.) We need complete system specs from you to nail down exactly what's happening. This smacks of a major hardware insufficiency somewhere.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
PT First AAE Error 6117 epicsaxman13 Pro Tools | First Discussion 10 06-18-2016 06:28 PM
AAE error -6117 was encountered gusgo44 Pro Tools 12 2 02-13-2016 07:55 AM
Error 6117 Fix Please dogsareloud Pro Tools | First Discussion 7 02-03-2016 05:28 AM
Error AAE-6117 Spacerock Pro Tools | First Discussion 1 12-09-2015 02:16 PM
Audio Error 6117 PT First laurabeele Pro Tools | First Discussion 3 08-13-2015 12:34 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:06 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com