Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 02-29-2004, 11:19 AM
kraaag kraaag is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 114
Default what should the virtual memory be if?

I have one gig of ram how should I set the virtual memory for best performance?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 02-29-2004, 11:23 AM
Cliffy_Boy's Avatar
Cliffy_Boy Cliffy_Boy is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Montréal, Québec
Posts: 5,091
Default Re: what should the virtual memory be if?

Digi recommends minimum 1024 and maximum 1024. Thay also suggest no paging file. Try both.
__________________
Cliff Stendel
-iMac 5K 32g
-PT12. HDX
-HD I/O 8x8x8. -HD Omni -Avid S3


-API 2500 -API 5500 -UA 2-1176 -UA 2-610
-Neve 1073, Chandler LTD-1 -Eventide H8000FW -Lexicon PCM96
-Bricasti M7. -Joe Meek channel.


-Waves Mercury, Flux all, Softube All, Plugin Alliance all, McDSP all, Sonnox All, MH production, Wave Arts,a bunch more
-Moog Voyager XL, Nord Piano, Hartmann Neuron, ARP Axxe, Gibson Les Paul, Mesa Boogie Roadster, Kemper, Taylor T5 and T5-12
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 02-29-2004, 12:37 PM
K.B. K.B. is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: London - a rather posh bit
Posts: 4,711
Default Re: what should the virtual memory be if?

I too have 1 Gig of RAM, and have my paging file thingy switched off.

Seems to be running ok. But it's a bit of a wait and see.

There's some info on the matter here. he doesn't suggest switching it off, but most prople I know with 1 Gig do.

BTW, have you read this DUC thread? The tweaks mentioned are well worth doing.

Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 02-29-2004, 04:48 PM
QuikDraw QuikDraw is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: Azle, Texas, USA
Posts: 2,114
Default Re: what should the virtual memory be if?

There are quite a few people on the DUC that run 512MB or more RAM and have turned off their paging file altogether with no ill effects. However, Microsoft and several XP experts have recommended that at least a small paging file be maintained, even if you think you don't need it. If you've got it turned off, and the system runs fine then don't worry about it. If certain programs crash once in a while you might consider creating a small paging file just for compatibility reasons. Some programs will crash quite consistently if there's no paging file (though I've never seen even a partial list of these programs).

Mike
__________________
-- Mike
- MacBook Pro 15.4" (9,1) - 2.3 GHz i7 16GB RAM
- OS X 10.14.1 Mojave / Windows 10 (Bootcamp) - PT running on Windows partition
- PreSonus Quantum 2
- PreSonus Studio 24c
- MBox 3 Mini
- Mackie Onyx 1640i
- PT 2020.12.1 (vanilla)
- Various USB2/3 and Firewire hard drives
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 02-29-2004, 08:51 PM
tele_player tele_player is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: California
Posts: 6,557
Default Re: what should the virtual memory be if?

Maybe such programs exist - if they do, they are doing something dumb. I haven't seen one, but there are LOTS of programs I don't run.

Quote:
Some programs will crash quite consistently if there's no paging file (though I've never seen even a partial list of these programs).

__________________
Quad 2.5 G5, 4.5G RAM


Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Virtual memory 001tony Pro Tools M-Powered (Win) 2 04-15-2009 02:20 PM
Virtual Memory Warwick 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 3 11-07-2005 08:37 AM
virtual memory? luckykid 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 3 06-05-2005 08:06 AM
How much virtual memory for 2gb? rclayton21 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 1 06-03-2005 12:57 PM
Virtual Memory? RDOG 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 2 10-24-2000 05:29 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:36 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com