Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Windows

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 04-06-2021, 07:32 AM
sw rec sw rec is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Colo Spgs Colo
Posts: 5,795
Default Video card question

Apologies for not “keeping up” with hardware protocol...there was a time when the more memory your video card had, the worse Pro Tools performance was. I’m hoping that’s not still the case as I prepare to remove an Nvidia Quadro with 758 mb memory, and replace it with an M2000 with 4gb memory. Any forseeable issues?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 04-06-2021, 08:44 AM
EGS's Avatar
EGS EGS is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Chicago
Posts: 2,927
Default Re: Video card question

Quote:
Originally Posted by sw rec View Post
Apologies for not “keeping up” with hardware protocol...there was a time when the more memory your video card had, the worse Pro Tools performance was. I’m hoping that’s not still the case as I prepare to remove an Nvidia Quadro with 758 mb memory, and replace it with an M2000 with 4gb memory. Any forseeable issues?
You should be fine. I'm using a lessor Nvidia with only 2gb. No issues for me, & I use it to drive 3 monitors.
__________________
Desktop: PT 2020.5 / Win 10 / GIGABYTE GA-X58A-UD3R / i7 hex 3.9GHz / 32GB / Focusrite LS56
Laptop: PT 2020.5 / Win 10 / HP ProBook / i7 quad / U-PHORIA UMC1820
Legacy: PT 5 & 6 / OS9 & OSX / Mac G4 / DIGI001
Click for demo
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 04-06-2021, 09:18 AM
sw rec sw rec is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Colo Spgs Colo
Posts: 5,795
Default Re: Video card question

^^^Thank you!^^^
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 04-06-2021, 10:12 AM
The Weed's Avatar
The Weed The Weed is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 6,598
Default Re: Video card question

I have an ASUS GT640 fanless NVidia video card with 2 GB and have had no issues for over 7 years. However, I always do a manual GeForce driver search on NVidia's driver website, only install the graphics driver and disable the card's HDMI audio in Device Manager. YMMV
__________________
Take your projects to the next level with a
non-union national read at reasonable rates
Demos: brucehayward dot com
Source-Connect: brucehayward
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 04-18-2021, 08:00 PM
sw rec sw rec is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Colo Spgs Colo
Posts: 5,795
Default Re: Video card question

M2000 card installed and working just fine!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Quick Video Card question Matt Rushmore Windows 12 03-01-2011 04:58 PM
question on (dual?) video card guy.fi 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 5 05-22-2009 11:19 PM
VIDEO / GRAPHICS CARD QUESTION hws 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 2 08-08-2007 01:22 AM
Video Card Question Riad 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 2 08-12-2003 07:35 AM
Video Card Question RJ Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 1 11-06-2002 10:42 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:44 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com