Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support

Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Virtual Instruments
Register FAQ Today's Posts Search

Old 05-17-2006, 12:44 PM

Default Dimension Pro

Is anyone using Cakewalk's Dimension Pro? I just got a copy and am starting to play with it.
Any comments or tips?
Old 05-17-2006, 04:30 PM

Default Re: Dimension Pro

I've been using it for a couple of months now. The sounds are fantastic but the RTAS implementation in 1.2 is dismal. The pitch is off by a little under a semitone and a half in the RTAS version and it feels really unstable. Please complain to cakewalk about this so they fix it. I've written two bug reports via their website so let em' know because a simple problem like that should be an easy fix.

I use it as a wrapped VST and there's no problem with the base pitch however, as a wrapped VST, with the GUI open you lose keyboard focus with this particular plug so you can't start/stop playback from the keyboard. The protools GUI gets choppy as well, especially when you have realtime controllers mapped to functions in Dimension and are twisting the knobs. Also the processor spikes when you select an instrument. It's a bit of a processor hog depending on the complexity of the patch but the sounds are really pretty amazing. The Garritan Pocket Orchestra that's included is really top notch for the price.
Old 05-17-2006, 10:53 PM

not sure, i'll you'll see this, but if you did please advise if you can.....i also tried to use VST wrapper, to get groove agent in my protools to work, ..and it shows up under instruemnts and all that..but i can't get any sound out of it....every thing is right as fars AUX and midi chaneel and speakers and all that...i just don't know what else i need to do....thanks
Old 05-18-2006, 02:51 AM