Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support

Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Post Production > Post - Surround - Video

Old 01-19-2004, 06:47 AM

Default what did i do wrong?

I'm very new to ProTools, and last week i had to create a session to take to a dubbing theatre for final mixing, and i'm hoping someone will be able to tell me where i went wrong.

The original material was imported into PTle 6.2.2 (DVToolkit) via an OMF created in Digital Performer 4.1.

As prompted, I saved the session to a folder on one of my drives. Named the session, etc.

Once i had finished adding the pan automation, I saved everything, and took the drive to the session. I had used the save a copy as...option so i could save the file in the correct format for the mix (PT v5).

When we tried to open the session, PT kept looking for the original OMF file to extract the audio from and completely ignored the 420mb audio files folder that had been created by my PT when the pans were done. Luckily, I had the laptop with me and had a copy of the original OMF file so we could port that across...but why didn't protools use the files that were part of its own session folder?
Old 01-19-2004, 06:57 AM

Default Re: what did i do wrong?

Did you check the Enforce MAC/PC compatibility checkbox?
http://felipousismix.wix.com/felipousismix

Open Core Mac Pro OSX Ventura | ProTools HD 2023.x | Merging HAPI ADA8 | UAD Quad PCIe | Kali IN-8 | Presonus Temblor 10 | Softube, SSL, Universal Audio, Slate Digital, McDSP, Fabfilter, Plugin Alliance among other plugins
Old 01-19-2004, 08:44 AM

not sure, but as both my system and the dubbing system are running on macs anyway, would i need to do that?
Old 01-19-2004, 09:03 AM