Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Virtual Instruments

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #11  
Old 02-04-2022, 07:17 AM
K Roche's Avatar
K Roche K Roche is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Wilds of Wyoming
Posts: 1,792
Default Re: Avid dropping Falcon PSA

Quote:
Originally Posted by smurfyou View Post
Maybe you've all seen by now but there was a quiet announcement that Avid is no longer including Falcon with PT licenses. If you are on a current subscription or support plan it will continue to work until the end of that plan period.

It's a shame because Falcon is pretty amazing and capable but I guess it was a good run.
Humm to clarify are you certain Falcon is tied to the current annual support plan period, and will not continue if you keep your plan current thru annual renewal ? Because for example I still have functioning (add on promo licenses) for things no longer offered like Loom, Twist and Vacuum Pro
If it does expire even with continued renewal ? that is a shame because Falcon is great and I really like the new Piano plugin...
__________________
System :
Avid Carbon interface , PT Ultimate 2022.6 .....Mid 2020 iMac 27" 3.8GHz 8-core i7 10th Gen processor,,128GB 2666MHz DDR4 memory,,2TB SSD storage,,Radeon Pro 5700 XT with 16GB of GDDR6 memory,, on Monterey 12.5.1

"Peace cannot be kept by force. It can only be achieved by understanding" Albert Einstein

Enjoy the Journey
.... Kev...
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 02-04-2022, 09:20 AM
musicman691 musicman691 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: The Sopranos State (NJ)
Posts: 19,020
Default Re: Avid dropping Falcon PSA

Quote:
Originally Posted by K Roche View Post
Humm to clarify are you certain Falcon is tied to the current annual support plan period, and will not continue if you keep your plan current thru annual renewal ? Because for example I still have functioning (add on promo licenses) for things no longer offered like Loom, Twist and Vacuum Pro
If it does expire even with continued renewal ? that is a shame because Falcon is great and I really like the new Piano plugin...
I don't think that Falcon will stop working - there just won't be anymore updates and forget about downloading the program or the Avid Plugsound soundbank. I know about the latter - when I did not renew my support and update plan both the download for Falcon (yes it was in my account even though I purchased it direct from UVI after a short while) and the Avid Plugsound soundbank went away. Check the release limit date on your iLok and see what the date is (if any).
__________________
Jack
See profile for system details
iMac dead & retired as of 11/4/17

QAPLA!
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 02-04-2022, 11:02 AM
smurfyou smurfyou is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 920
Default Re: Avid dropping Falcon PSA

Quote:
Originally Posted by K Roche View Post
Humm to clarify are you certain Falcon is tied to the current annual support plan period, and will not continue if you keep your plan current thru annual renewal ? Because for example I still have functioning (add on promo licenses) for things no longer offered like Loom, Twist and Vacuum Pro
If it does expire even with continued renewal ? that is a shame because Falcon is great and I really like the new Piano plugin...
Yes according to Avid the iLok license will expire so you will not be able to authorize it when it loads.
__________________
~Will
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 02-04-2022, 11:18 AM
musicman691 musicman691 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: The Sopranos State (NJ)
Posts: 19,020
Default Re: Avid dropping Falcon PSA

Quote:
Originally Posted by smurfyou View Post
Yes according to Avid the iLok license will expire so you will not be able to authorize it when it loads.
To be sure check the expiration date on your iLok. Mine was tied to the expiration date for my update/support plan for PT. Like I said I played it smart and purchased Falcon when UVI had one of their 30% off sales on Falcon.
__________________
Jack
See profile for system details
iMac dead & retired as of 11/4/17

QAPLA!
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 02-05-2022, 06:44 AM
K Roche's Avatar
K Roche K Roche is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Wilds of Wyoming
Posts: 1,792
Default Re: Avid dropping Falcon PSA

Quote:
Originally Posted by smurfyou View Post
Yes according to Avid the iLok license will expire so you will not be able to authorize it when it loads.
Well poopy head Avid .... I just checked in FAQ, and it looks like it will operate UNTIL you reach your renewal date (for me Jan 31, 2023 ) and then the iLok license expires ----"dam sam,,, I'm gonna miss that girl"
__________________
System :
Avid Carbon interface , PT Ultimate 2022.6 .....Mid 2020 iMac 27" 3.8GHz 8-core i7 10th Gen processor,,128GB 2666MHz DDR4 memory,,2TB SSD storage,,Radeon Pro 5700 XT with 16GB of GDDR6 memory,, on Monterey 12.5.1

"Peace cannot be kept by force. It can only be achieved by understanding" Albert Einstein

Enjoy the Journey
.... Kev...

Last edited by K Roche; 02-05-2022 at 07:06 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 02-05-2022, 07:14 AM
musicman691 musicman691 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: The Sopranos State (NJ)
Posts: 19,020
Default Re: Avid dropping Falcon PSA

Quote:
Originally Posted by K Roche View Post
Well poopy head Avid .... I just checked in FAQ, and it looks like it will operate UNTIL you reach your renewal date (for me Jan 31, 2023 ) and then the iLok license expires ----"dam sam,,, I'm gonna miss that girl"
I'd wait for a UVI 30% off sale and buy Falcon from them.
__________________
Jack
See profile for system details
iMac dead & retired as of 11/4/17

QAPLA!
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 02-05-2022, 07:33 AM
K Roche's Avatar
K Roche K Roche is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Wilds of Wyoming
Posts: 1,792
Default Re: Avid dropping Falcon PSA

Quote:
Originally Posted by musicman691 View Post
I'd wait for a UVI 30% off sale and buy Falcon from them.
I may do that thanks
__________________
System :
Avid Carbon interface , PT Ultimate 2022.6 .....Mid 2020 iMac 27" 3.8GHz 8-core i7 10th Gen processor,,128GB 2666MHz DDR4 memory,,2TB SSD storage,,Radeon Pro 5700 XT with 16GB of GDDR6 memory,, on Monterey 12.5.1

"Peace cannot be kept by force. It can only be achieved by understanding" Albert Einstein

Enjoy the Journey
.... Kev...
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 02-05-2022, 10:39 PM
unkJE's Avatar
unkJE unkJE is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Adelaide, Australia
Posts: 2,642
Default Avid Falcon crossgrade to full UVI version $100 includes a $100 voucher!

Falcon crossgrade for users of Pro Tools - get the full version of Falcon for only $100 (regularly $349) - this deal includes a $100 Voucher!

"As a special way to say thank you for your continued support, we also include the $100 voucher good towards any soundware purchase on uvi.net (voucher code delivered by email after registering your Falcon license).
Each license of Falcon, like all UVI products, can be activated on up to 3 systems concurrently via iLok, and will work in standalone and across all major DAWs (VST, AU, AAX).
UVI provide your personal Falcon voucher code
Code linked to your personal account and valid once at uvi.net for a month."


Submit a request for a “Pro Tools - Falcon AAX Crossgrade” from the drop-down menu here:
https://support.uvi.net/hc/en-us/requests/new
__________________
Pro Tools 2022.9 & 12.5.1 HD - Studio One 5.5.2 Pro - Win10 64 Pro – 32 GB RAM - Lenovo W520 ThinkPad (4276-37U) & 433830U Dock – SSDs Samsung 860 Evo & 2 T5s – Digidesign Command|8 - SSL UC1 - Mbox 3 Pro - Axiom Pro 49 – Eris E 4.5 spkrs
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 02-05-2022, 10:47 PM
unkJE's Avatar
unkJE unkJE is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Adelaide, Australia
Posts: 2,642
Default Re: Avid dropping Falcon PSA

Quote:
Originally Posted by smurfyou View Post
Maybe you've all seen by now but there was a quiet announcement that Avid is no longer including Falcon with PT licenses. If you are on a current subscription or support plan it will continue to work until the end of that plan period.

It's a shame because Falcon is pretty amazing and capable but I guess it was a good run.

Quote:
Originally Posted by DonaldM View Post
... I'd highly recommend outright purchase, too.

Quote:
Originally Posted by K Roche View Post
..."dam sam,,, I'm gonna miss that girl"

Quote:
Originally Posted by musicman691 View Post
I'd wait for a UVI 30% off sale and buy Falcon from them.

Avid Falcon crossgrade to full UVI version for $100 includes a $100 voucher!
https://duc.avid.com/showpost.php?p=2627422&postcount=1
__________________
Pro Tools 2022.9 & 12.5.1 HD - Studio One 5.5.2 Pro - Win10 64 Pro – 32 GB RAM - Lenovo W520 ThinkPad (4276-37U) & 433830U Dock – SSDs Samsung 860 Evo & 2 T5s – Digidesign Command|8 - SSL UC1 - Mbox 3 Pro - Axiom Pro 49 – Eris E 4.5 spkrs
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 02-05-2022, 11:01 PM
unkJE's Avatar
unkJE unkJE is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Adelaide, Australia
Posts: 2,642
Default Re: Avid Falcon crossgrade to full UVI version $100 includes a $100 voucher!

Acknowledging “taste is a subjective thing” …

Love to hear recommendations from Full Falcon users:
“Best ways to spend UVI Falcon $100 Voucher”
__________________
Pro Tools 2022.9 & 12.5.1 HD - Studio One 5.5.2 Pro - Win10 64 Pro – 32 GB RAM - Lenovo W520 ThinkPad (4276-37U) & 433830U Dock – SSDs Samsung 860 Evo & 2 T5s – Digidesign Command|8 - SSL UC1 - Mbox 3 Pro - Axiom Pro 49 – Eris E 4.5 spkrs
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Now that Pro Tools includes Falcon, will we see MPE support implemented soon? LDS Pro Tools 2018 12 12-12-2019 04:36 AM
Bought PT9 crossgrade, but I now have PT9 full version, correct? SixChurchStreet Pro Tools 9 1 02-27-2012 08:52 AM
PT 9 Crossgrade Versus PT9 Full Version? paul_g 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 3 11-22-2010 08:27 AM
LE crossgrade vs Full Version EricWillhelm 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 1 11-04-2010 07:42 PM
renmax includes IR full version? not just ir-l ?? blumediaprojekt Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 2 02-22-2006 03:24 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:46 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com