Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Virtual Instruments

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-31-2022, 03:23 PM
smurfyou smurfyou is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 913
Default Avid dropping Falcon PSA - crossgrade to full UVI version $100 includes $100 voucher

Maybe you've all seen by now but there was a quiet announcement that Avid is no longer including Falcon with PT licenses. If you are on a current subscription or support plan it will continue to work until the end of that plan period.

It's a shame because Falcon is pretty amazing and capable but I guess it was a good run.

---------------
admin edit: See https://avid.secure.force.com/pkb/ar...UVI-Falcon-FAQ for info and jump to https://duc.avid.com/showthread.php?p=2627422 for the crossgrade offer from UVI.
__________________
~Will

Last edited by DigiTechSupt; 02-12-2022 at 11:49 AM. Reason: added crossgrade link
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-31-2022, 04:19 PM
unkJE's Avatar
unkJE unkJE is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Adelaide, Australia
Posts: 2,641
Default Re: Avid dropping Falcon PSA

Quote:
Originally Posted by smurfyou View Post
... If you are on a current subscription or support plan it will continue to work until the end of that plan period...
Hope you're right!
If you are, I’ll have Falcon until March 2024 (when my current Standard Plan expires)



I'm trying to work out if there's any ambiguity here:

https://avid.secure.force.com/pkb/ar...m-Requirements
• Support Removed
UVI Falcon removed from Pro Tools as of January 31st, 2022


https://avid.secure.force.com/pkb/ar...UVI-Falcon-FAQ
Tracks show "Plug-In Inactive" where Falcon was inserted.
This can occur on/after Feb 1, 2022 with the version of Falcon bundled with Pro Tools Subscriptions and Perpetual licenses since this was a limited time bundling that ended Jan 31, 2022.

Note that customers still have the use of Falcon during their term up until that renews or expires at the end of their current month (for Monthly Subscriptions) or current year (for Annual Subscriptions and Software Updates + Support Plans).


https://duc.avid.com/showthread.php?...19#post2626719
Avid's bundling of the UVI Falcon plug-in with Pro Tools & Pro Tools | Ultimate will end on Jan 31st, 2022. Products redeemed or renewed starting on Feb 1, 2022 will not include Avid Falcon AAX (existing customers will have use of the plug-in through the end of their current term)
.
__________________
Pro Tools 2022.7 & 12.5.1 HD - Studio One 5.5.2 Pro - Win10 64 Pro – 32 GB RAM - Lenovo W520 ThinkPad (4276-37U) & 433830U Dock – SSDs Samsung 860 Evo & 2 T5s – Digidesign Command|8 - SSL UC1 - Mbox 3 Pro - Axiom Pro 49 – Eris E 4.5 spkrs
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 02-01-2022, 05:20 AM
Stephen Bond's Avatar
Stephen Bond Stephen Bond is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Bedfordshire, United Kingdom
Posts: 1,542
Default Re: Avid dropping Falcon PSA

These third party 'value added' additions are always a concern. A good few people got messed up with Slate Digital and plugins from other parties in the bundle which got dropped. For me, it is another clear reason to not be subscription but old school purchase.

I haven't even bothered adding any of the Avid plugins I don't own licences permanent licenses for. I had a tinkle with Falcon to demo but stayed away for the exact same reason.

Stephen
__________________
Mac mini M1 2020 16Gb Memory- 256Gb Storage, Big Sur, Pro Tools 2022.5, Focusrite Scarlett 2i2

Save an additional 10% off any purchase at Waves!

https://www.waves.com/r/9zsnwd
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 02-01-2022, 08:01 AM
AlexLakis AlexLakis is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Annapolis, MD
Posts: 1,323
Default Re: Avid dropping Falcon PSA

Quote:
Originally Posted by Stephen Bond View Post
These third party 'value added' additions are always a concern.
I couldn't agree more, I make it a point never to use third-party stuff (even tho they are part of my active subscriptions.) Its too risky.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 02-01-2022, 09:59 AM
RossH RossH is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: CANADA
Posts: 111
Default Re: Avid dropping Falcon PSA

Quote:
Originally Posted by AlexLakis View Post
I couldn't agree more, I make it a point never to use third-party stuff (even tho they are part of my active subscriptions.) Its too risky.

Yup. Wish they'd just lower PT prices instead of packing in the third party stuff.
__________________
Control Room: PT Ultimate HDX 2022.6 // Mac Pro 2012 // Mojave 10.14.6 // BlackMagic DeckLink Intensity Pro // Genelec 5 x 8250A + 7270A DSP Active Subwoofer // Yamaha NS-10's
Edit Suite: PT Ultimate 2022.6 // Mac Pro 2013 // Catalina 10.15.7 // Mbox Pro // Genelec 5 x 6010A + 5040A Active Subwoofer
Video Suite: PT Ultimate 2022.6 // iMac Pro 2017 //Catalina 10.15.7 // Focusrite Scarlett Solo
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 02-02-2022, 10:16 AM
musicman691 musicman691 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: The Sopranos State (NJ)
Posts: 19,020
Default Re: Avid dropping Falcon PSA

Played it smart as I also use Digital Performer and I wanted Falcon to work across both platforms. So I purchased Falcon direct from UVI and have never looked back. UVI does run 30% off sales from time to time on Falcon.
__________________
Jack
See profile for system details
iMac dead & retired as of 11/4/17

QAPLA!
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 02-03-2022, 02:29 PM
smurfyou smurfyou is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 913
Default Re: Avid dropping Falcon PSA

UVI apparently has a crossgrade price to the full version. If I understand correctly you just need to request it and it's an individual code.

Especially with v2.5 Falcon is unusually deep. I don't know if it's underrated or just not talked about but I enjoy using it. Otherwise I agree about the Avid bonus software, I ignore most of it.
__________________
~Will
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 02-03-2022, 06:19 PM
musicman691 musicman691 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: The Sopranos State (NJ)
Posts: 19,020
Default Re: Avid dropping Falcon PSA

Quote:
Originally Posted by smurfyou View Post
UVI apparently has a crossgrade price to the full version. If I understand correctly you just need to request it and it's an individual code.

Especially with v2.5 Falcon is unusually deep. I don't know if it's underrated or just not talked about but I enjoy using it. Otherwise I agree about the Avid bonus software, I ignore most of it.
The 2.5 update is huge. Falcon is a complex beast but worth taking the time to learn it. Word of warning - to make things run a bit smoother put the Soundbanks on an ssd (take it from one who knows).
__________________
Jack
See profile for system details
iMac dead & retired as of 11/4/17

QAPLA!
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 02-03-2022, 08:20 PM
smurfyou smurfyou is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 913
Default Re: Avid dropping Falcon PSA

Quote:
Originally Posted by musicman691 View Post
The 2.5 update is huge. Falcon is a complex beast but worth taking the time to learn it.
+1
__________________
~Will
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 02-04-2022, 07:01 AM
DonaldM's Avatar
DonaldM DonaldM is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Indiana
Posts: 4,479
Default Re: Avid dropping Falcon PSA

Quote:
Originally Posted by musicman691 View Post
Played it smart as I also use Digital Performer and I wanted Falcon to work across both platforms. So I purchased Falcon direct from UVI and have never looked back. UVI does run 30% off sales from time to time on Falcon.

I bought it outright, too. Its an amazing beast of a VI, up there with Omnisphere. I'd highly recommend outright purchase, too.
__________________
"Never believe anything you hear in a song." Tyrion Lannister, Game of Thrones
Owner: Dragon Rock Productions LLC


Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Now that Pro Tools includes Falcon, will we see MPE support implemented soon? LDS Pro Tools 2018 12 12-12-2019 04:36 AM
Bought PT9 crossgrade, but I now have PT9 full version, correct? SixChurchStreet Pro Tools 9 1 02-27-2012 08:52 AM
PT 9 Crossgrade Versus PT9 Full Version? paul_g 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 3 11-22-2010 08:27 AM
LE crossgrade vs Full Version EricWillhelm 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 1 11-04-2010 07:42 PM
renmax includes IR full version? not just ir-l ?? blumediaprojekt Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 2 02-22-2006 03:24 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:46 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com