Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #11  
Old 07-15-2020, 03:05 PM
Ben Jenssen's Avatar
Ben Jenssen Ben Jenssen is online now
Member
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: Oslo
Posts: 4,669
Default Re: Oldest running version of Pro Tool in the world?

Audiomedia II, Deck, SoundDesigner, Vision, Studio Vision, Turbosynth… not that anything was like"turbo" in those days. It still felt like we were on the edge.
I can't really contribute much, my first version of PT vas 4 or 5, it came with the DIGI001. But, man, I got the most I could out of that old gear! And I still listen to those old SoundDesigner files and they sound just fine.
Added: I still have my old G4 and 001. With this reminiscencing, I might try to fire it up for the first time in maybe fifteen years. What do you think; will those HDs even spin?

Last edited by Ben Jenssen; 07-15-2020 at 03:41 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 07-16-2020, 07:45 AM
EGS's Avatar
EGS EGS is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Chicago
Posts: 3,470
Default Re: Oldest running version of Pro Tool in the world?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ben Jenssen View Post
...I still have my old G4 and 001...
Me too! Last year I was asked to recall some old MAC-only-SDII sessions. Much to my surprise, everything booted & worked! My old G4 can boot in OS9 for PTools 5 or OSX for PTools 6. I've often considered selling this old rig, but have now decided to keep it - just in case I need to recall & "up-convert" any ancient sessions.
__________________
Desktop: PT 2020.5 / Win11 / Intel 11th Gen i9 5.1GHz / 64Gb DDR4-3600 / Gigabyte Z590 Vision D / Focusrite LS56
Laptop: PT 2020.5 / Win10 / older HP ProBook with i7 quad / U-PHORIA UMC1820
Legacy (works!): PT 5 & 6 / OS9 & OSX / Mac G4 / DIGI001
Click for audio/video demo

Last edited by EGS; 07-16-2020 at 12:50 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 07-25-2020, 06:15 AM
HSLand HSLand is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: USA
Posts: 78
Default Re: Oldest running version of Pro Tool in the world?

I'm running Mix systems still in all rooms of my studio. Just recently I decided to sell my PTIII era stuff and 'upgrade' everything to Mix rigs. Everything runs on PowerMac 9600 machines. I'm on the lookout for more Mix stuff (cards, interfaces etc) so I came here to see what was being said.
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 07-25-2020, 08:07 AM
RickoDean's Avatar
RickoDean RickoDean is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Fultondale, Ala
Posts: 44
Default Re: Oldest running version of Pro Tool in the world?

Quote:
Originally Posted by HSLand View Post
I'm running Mix systems still in all rooms of my studio. Just recently I decided to sell my PTIII era stuff and 'upgrade' everything to Mix rigs. Everything runs on PowerMac 9600 machines. I'm on the lookout for more Mix stuff (cards, interfaces etc) so I came here to see what was being said.
I seen some on Mecari
__________________
MacPro2,1 2x Intel Xeon 3GHz Quad Core, 32GB ram, 1GB Sapphire Radeon HD 5770, OSX 10.7.5 (Pro Tools 9.0.6 HD3), 192 Digital, 96 i/o, 96i, sync i/o, midi i/o, BBE 442A, ART Pro MPA II (GE tube mod), Behringer Virtualizer Pro, 250GB Hard Drive (system)/ 250GB Hard Drive (recording) / 250GB Hard Drive (audio + sample bank), 250GB Hard Drive (Overflow), DigiDesign ProControl, Pro Control Fader Pack, Maschine MKII, Alesis QS6.1
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 03-24-2021, 08:50 AM
digitaltoast digitaltoast is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Chicago
Posts: 108
Default Re: Oldest running version of Pro Tool in the world?

Here's your name in lights Mark... ProTools 4.3.2 and the PowerMac 7100 started right up! Funny that the credits ticker takes longer to cycle than any of the other systems I have collected. Forgot the names were divided by department and interesting to see how many were in each.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg IMG_1167.jpg (75.3 KB, 0 views)
File Type: jpg IMG_1168.jpg (72.1 KB, 0 views)
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 03-24-2021, 09:00 AM
JFreak's Avatar
JFreak JFreak is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Tampere, Finland
Posts: 23,147
Default Re: Oldest running version of Pro Tool in the world?

Supporting pre-OSX is a headache already, good to see you have had success


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
__________________
Janne
What we do in life, echoes in eternity.
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 03-24-2021, 09:33 AM
digitaltoast digitaltoast is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Chicago
Posts: 108
Default Re: Oldest running version of Pro Tool in the world?

Yeah the G4 MDD with the OS9 Mix rig is being temperamental and won't make it through the startup...

Here's a couple more PT 4.3.2 shots...
Attached Images
File Type: jpg IMG_1173.jpg (36.1 KB, 0 views)
File Type: jpg IMG_1174.jpg (63.4 KB, 0 views)
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 03-25-2021, 08:53 AM
groovebrother groovebrother is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: france
Posts: 469
Default Re: Oldest running version of Pro Tool in the world?

congrats !!
__________________
My soundcloud page
Mac Pro 2x 2.66GHz 6-Core / 80 Go Ram / PE6R4-i - HD Native - Tempo Sata Pro 6Gb - PTHD : 10 / 11 /12 / Ultimate - 192 i/o Digidesign - MTPAV - OSX : 10.4 / 10.5 / 10.6.8 / 10.8.5 / 10.9.5 / 10.11.6 / 10.13 - PowerMac G4 MDD / Pro Tools HD 5.3 / 6 / 7 / 8
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 06-20-2021, 06:59 PM
Grey Grey is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2000
Location: Atlanta
Posts: 301
Default Re: Oldest running version of Pro Tool in the world?

I still use my PT5, G4 MDD Rig in OS 9.
Love the old TDM plugins.
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 06-21-2021, 01:41 AM
unkJE's Avatar
unkJE unkJE is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Adelaide, Australia
Posts: 2,648
Default Re: Oldest running version of Pro Tool in the world?

Quote:
Originally Posted by elicious View Post
... any info/updates on the whole X form/EA kerfuffle...

Seems like 7.4 was the most popular version:

https://secure.digidesign.com/servic...rticleId=43414

• Pro Tools HD 7.4 Installer (Mac OS X 10.4 Universal Binary) [0 MB]
• Pro Tools HD 7.4 Installer (Windows XP) [0 MB]
• Pro Tools HD 7.4.2 Installer (Mac OS X Leopard) [0 MB]
• Pro Tools HD 7.4cs10 Update (Mac OS X Tiger) [0 MB]
• Pro Tools HD 7.4cs10 Update (Windows XP) [0 MB]
• Pro Tools HD 7.4.2cs4 Update (Mac OS X Leopard) [0 MB]
• Pro Tools HD 7.2 Web Installer for Windows XP [0 MB]
• Pro Tools HD 7.2 Web Installer (PowerPC-based Mac Only) [0 MB]
• Pro Tools HD 7.2cs3 Update for Mac OS X (PowerPC) [0 MB]
• Pro Tools HD 7.2cs3 Update for Windows XP [0 MB]
• Pro Tools HD 7.2.1 Web Installer (Intel-based Mac Pro Only) [0 MB]
• Pro Tools HD 7.2.1cs2 Update for Mac Pro [0 MB]
• Pro Tools HD 7.3 (Windows XP) [0 MB]
• Pro Tools HD 7.3 (Mac OS X Universal Binary) [0 MB]
• Pro Tools HD 7.3.1cs7 Update (Windows XP) [0 MB]
• Pro Tools HD 7.3.1cs8 Update (Mac OS X) [0 MB]

Pro Tools Software Updates - scroll down to Pro Tools 7 Systems
https://avid.secure.force.com/pkb/ar...nload/en355241


05-05-2010
https://duc.avid.com/showpost.php?p=...7&postcount=12
Quote:
Originally Posted by Happy_Kyne View Post
Hi All,

Your local neighborhood Digidesign, errr, Avid, software engineer here. I have been responsible for much of the Elastic Audio signal processing work during PT 8.x. During 8.0 XForm was indeed modified to correct for some artifacts that we noticed while doing pitch shifting listening tests. We felt confident that the algorithm was improved after making the changes that we did, over the 100 audio files that we tested with. So, I'm not sure why the experience in the field is so different. Let's get to the bottom of this. If some can provide an audio that exhibits worse behavior in 8.X than it does in 7.4, please provide this file.

Please reply back with the location of the file. FTP site? SoundCloud? Whatever. Thanks.

Mark Jeffery


05-14-2010
https://duc.avid.com/showpost.php?p=...9&postcount=17

Quote:
Originally Posted by Happy_Kyne View Post
Hi Folks,

I was "absorbed" by a big ol' Satellite Link issue during the last 10 days. But now I'm back.

Thanks for the audio examples. Indeed, the difference is obvious. I will investigate further. Keep you posted.


Mark


07-09-2020
https://duc.avid.com/showpost.php?p=2572057&postcount=1

Quote:
Originally Posted by Happy_Kyne View Post
Hi, Mark Jeffery here. I began development of Pro Edit (half of Pro Tools 1.0) 30 years ago and I am feeling a little nostalgic. I am curious if anyone has an old mac that still runs any older versions of Pro Tools. I mean 90’s era Pro Tools. Pro Tool 2 or 3 or 4. If you can I would LOVE to see a couple screen shots. Particularly one of the “about box”. I forget what version it was, but I created the about box to work with 3D glasses at one point. Thanks, for any help.
__________________
Pro Tools 2022.9 & 12.5.1 HD - Studio One 5.5.2 Pro - Win10 64 Pro – 32 GB RAM - Lenovo W520 ThinkPad (4276-37U) & 433830U Dock – SSDs Samsung 860 Evo & 2 T5s – Digidesign Command|8 - SSL UC1 - Mbox 3 Pro - Axiom Pro 49 – Eris E 4.5 spkrs

Last edited by unkJE; 07-13-2021 at 06:37 PM. Reason: love to hear Happy sing: "Happiness is a warm X-Form"
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
trial version pro tool 11 alainj Le Forum en Français 1 03-11-2016 03:43 PM
Pro tool 11.1.3 running smooth Mac 10.11.2 thequin Pro Tools 11 2 01-04-2016 04:45 AM
Oldest Version of PT for OSX Lion? ChuckS macOS 2 07-09-2013 07:10 AM
Pro Tool on G4 iBook Running Panther SGSeries 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 2 01-02-2004 01:55 AM
Oldest PT version w/Beat Detective PTUser NYC Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 14 06-02-2003 08:33 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:45 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com