Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools 9

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-20-2012, 04:13 AM
paulreed paulreed is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: kill devil hills, north carolina
Posts: 460
Default peak finder??

I just watched this video http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Ci_y7...layer_embedded
and in logic it seems the software will find the peak in your track.
does Pro Tools have anything like this that I have missed for the last 10 years???
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-20-2012, 04:43 AM
Emcha_audio's Avatar
Emcha_audio Emcha_audio is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Montréal, canada
Posts: 6,590
Default Re: peak finder??

You can simply look at your wave to see which peak is the highest, then go to that point and play it while watching the meter, it will tell you the the actual peak level of the wave track.

When you get used to it, it's going to be faster than going through the menus (in logic) to get that find highest peak option.
__________________
Manny.

Wave-T.com
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-20-2012, 05:03 AM
paulreed paulreed is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: kill devil hills, north carolina
Posts: 460
Default Re: peak finder??

this is how I have been doing it, but it does not seem to always give me the peak, relying on my eyes. I often think I have found the peak, then play the track through and it was not.
I will put this into the ideascale.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 01-20-2012, 07:15 AM
daeron80 daeron80 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Orlando, Florida, USA
Posts: 3,887
Default Re: peak finder??

Good idea. I love how Peak automatically scans for the peak and gives a readout of it in the lower left. It would be cool if PT would let you, like, select a region and do a Get Info-type command to see its "vitals." Or it could just show up in the tool bar along with the start/end/length.
__________________
David J. Finnamore

Nyquist was right.

PT 2021.6 Ultimate | Omni | macOS Catalina in a Trashcan 32GB
PT 2021.6 | Saffire Pro 40 | Win10 latest, HP Z440 64GB
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 01-20-2012, 07:20 AM
PD-John PD-John is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Perth, Australia
Posts: 488
Default Re: peak finder??

Not sure if this helps, but I often find the Peak and RMS of a track by selecting the clip, then opening AudioSuite > Other > Gain and click "Find Level".
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 01-20-2012, 09:21 AM
paulreed paulreed is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: kill devil hills, north carolina
Posts: 460
Default Re: peak finder??

Quote:
Originally Posted by PD-John View Post
Not sure if this helps, but I often find the Peak and RMS of a track by selecting the clip, then opening AudioSuite > Other > Gain and click "Find Level".
sounds like the way to do it for mastering purposes with the whole track bounced to left and right cause you could do it within your mastering session by selecting the whole song

It would be real nice to be able to tell the peak of a whole song without playing it through during mixing

Thanks
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 01-20-2012, 06:54 PM
PD-John PD-John is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Perth, Australia
Posts: 488
Default Re: peak finder??

Quote:
Originally Posted by paulreed View Post
It would be real nice to be able to tell the peak of a whole song without playing it through during mixing

Thanks
Command-clicking on the little info box on the session Master fader will show the highest peak value of the song, but it's probably not the most accurate way of finding out.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 01-20-2012, 07:56 PM
Fidelis Fidelis is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Sao Paulo - Brazil
Posts: 989
Default

The best app for this is snapper by audioeasy. Its a great app for playing audio in the finder and it shows you on both right and left channels the peak value and peak location.
__________________
http://www.ricardomosca.com

Hackintosh, 3,7 GHz 10-Core Intel i9, 64 GB 3200 MHz DDR4, OSX Catalina 10.15.7, PT HDX 2021.6, SSL 4040G+, tons of outboard

Mac Book Pro 2019 2.4Ghz i5, 16GB RAM, OSX 10.14.6, PT Vanilla 2020.9.1
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 01-21-2012, 06:24 AM
Sonopolis Sonopolis is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Berlin
Posts: 331
Default Re: peak finder??

The TL Master Meter that comes with Protools has a logging feature. Unfortunately it doesn't come as Audio Suite (again!), so you can't do an off-line check of the peaks.

I would find an off-line check of the phase relationship of a stereo mix even more useful. These are features that are definitely missing in Protools.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 01-22-2012, 06:15 PM
daeron80 daeron80 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Orlando, Florida, USA
Posts: 3,887
Default Re: peak finder??

Wait, were you meaning the peak of a whole mix? That's indeterminate in many cases. If you have even one modulation plug-in in the session that's not synced to tempo, the program has no way of knowing what its phase relationship will be on playback, and thus the mix peak is unknowable in advance.
__________________
David J. Finnamore

Nyquist was right.

PT 2021.6 Ultimate | Omni | macOS Catalina in a Trashcan 32GB
PT 2021.6 | Saffire Pro 40 | Win10 latest, HP Z440 64GB
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Signal peak/distortion/db meter peak when recording enabling track on Pro Tools LE 8 hotgravy 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 0 06-30-2012 10:49 AM
Peak level finder/ Spectrum Analyser veryape135 macOS 6 12-13-2011 09:20 PM
Enable Finder lordtom 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 1 12-31-2008 07:35 PM
BPM finder mike001 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 4 09-17-2005 08:45 PM
Mbox Peak / Peak Light Issue soulcatcher 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 1 06-29-2004 08:01 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 07:38 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com