Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 11-27-2008, 04:08 PM
Sf Audio Sf Audio is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 52
Default external sync with digi 002 rack

I'm currently without external conversion, so will have to use the converters on the digi 002....

A friend of mind has a lucid genx192, and he says you can sync the digi 002 via spdif, and run off the genx clock, and it will improve the performance of the onboard converters.

Anyone confirm or deny?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 11-27-2008, 07:50 PM
therecordinghouse therecordinghouse is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Fort Wayne, IN.
Posts: 1,094
Default Re: external sync with digi 002 rack

maybe. clocks are what they are. imo, the benefit is not necessarily in improved quality of your recordings, but in improved monitoring. in turn, you make better decisions at the tracking and mixing stage. you probably wont reap a whole lot of benefit with a master clock, unless you are using multiple digital devices.



try it and see....


fwiw, i notice a pretty substantial difference clocking my 002r and protools to my isochrone ocx. i hear greater detail and dynamics in my virtual instruments, and i can hear what my eq plugins are doing much easier (i am making less drastic curves). i even find Dverb useful now....
__________________
Lynn Graber
Studio and Mobile Recording, Fort Wayne, IN.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 11-27-2008, 10:15 PM
Sf Audio Sf Audio is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 52
Default Re: external sync with digi 002 rack

so I did try it....and yes, it seems to improve the sound a bit. Overall a bit more presense and detail - not night and day but something. Worth doing it. But as you said, maybe it's just the monitoring and not the actual files recorded to disk?

Either way, it's an improvment and any improvement is good!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
digi 003 rack sync lights KV626 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 1 03-02-2014 07:19 AM
connecting external rack to digi 002 inserts Nighttrain 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 3 10-15-2006 09:49 PM
sync mpc 2000xl to digi oo2 rack killabutcha 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 1 03-20-2005 07:12 PM
MPC 2XL Digi 002 Rack Sync jaaypeso 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 0 11-30-2004 09:22 PM
Digi 002 Rack - Sync to Camera? totemspock 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 4 06-09-2003 11:02 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:13 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com