Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools 9

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 11-21-2011, 03:45 PM
bryced87 bryced87 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: USA
Posts: 410
Default Monitor level question

Hello

I just got some monitors finally. I am wondering how loud they should be. Does the level of them make any difference with what I'm hearing while I'm in the final mixing stage?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 11-21-2011, 04:18 PM
Craig F Craig F is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 12,595
Default Re: Monitor level question

yes it matters

to low and you may over load your recoding level
to high and your may get ear fatigue and/or under record you levels

get a SLP meter and some band limited pink noise (if you can't find BL Pink, use the full pink signal generator and put step HPF/LPF at 500Hz and 2kHz) you will want between 75 dB SLP and 85 dB SPL at the opium listing postion per speaker depending on the size of your room and how close they are to you
(yes, this is the simplified version)
__________________
...

"Fly High Freeee click psst tic tic tic click Bird Yeah!" - dave911


Thank you,

Craig
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 11-21-2011, 04:22 PM
dr sound's Avatar
dr sound dr sound is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Burbank, CA
Posts: 2,203
Default Re: Monitor level question

Quote:
Originally Posted by bryced87 View Post
Hello

I just got some monitors finally. I am wondering how loud they should be. Does the level of them make any difference with what I'm hearing while I'm in the final mixing stage?
Go here and read this and follow the directions:
http://duc.avid.com/showthread.php?t=87830
__________________
Marti D. Humphrey CAS
aka dr.sound
www.thedubstage.com
IMDB http://www.imdb.com/name/nm0401937/
Like everything in life, there are no guarantees just opportunities.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 11-21-2011, 05:07 PM
bryced87 bryced87 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: USA
Posts: 410
Default Re: Monitor level question

Do I have to buy a spl meter? I really don't have anymore money to spend.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 11-21-2011, 05:24 PM
Ryan Young's Avatar
Ryan Young Ryan Young is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Santa Clarita, CA
Posts: 1,837
Default Re: Monitor level question

Buy one from Radio Shack, it's like $40. If you HAVE to, return it later that day. You'll need it in the future, when you upgrade to a surround system.
__________________
-Ryan Young

•2019 Mac Pro 3.5 GHz 8-Core Intel Xeon W - 48 GB 2666 MHz DDR4 (OS 10.15.5) •HD Native PCIe, HD Omni, 192 I/o, Pro Tools Ultimate •Avid S3 + Dock •Blackmagic Intensity Pro (HDMI) •5.1 Room with JBL LSR4300 series

Additional Systems

•2010 Mac Pro 2 x 2.66 GHz 6-Core Intel Xeon - 48 GB 1333 MHz DDR3 (OS 10.14.6) •HD Native PCIe, 192 I/o, 96 I/o, Pro Tools Ultimate •McMix (x4), McControl (x1), JLCooper Surround panner for D-Command ES, Avid Control •Blackmagic Intensity Pro (HDMI) •7.1.4 Room with JBL LSR4300 series

•2017 MacBook Pro 2.8 GHz i7 - 16 GB 2133 MHz LPDDR3 (OS 10.14.6) •HD Native TB, HD Omni, Pro Tools Ultimate •McMix (x1), McControl (x1), Avid Control * or * D-Command ES Main Unit •Fed into whichever system is the main system
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 11-21-2011, 05:34 PM
Craig F Craig F is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 12,595
Default Re: Monitor level question

iPhone SLP Meter app is good also
__________________
...

"Fly High Freeee click psst tic tic tic click Bird Yeah!" - dave911


Thank you,

Craig
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 11-21-2011, 06:23 PM
bryced87 bryced87 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: USA
Posts: 410
Default Re: Monitor level question

Okay thanks, I read through the articles. I downloaded a pink noise file. I'm still unsure as to whether I should play this file in another program or if I can play it in pro tools. Wouldn't playing it in pro tools and adjusting the master fader mess up my SPL reading?
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 11-21-2011, 08:20 PM
Craig F Craig F is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 12,595
Default Re: Monitor level question

you don't adjust anything in PT
only your main volume knob and speaker trims

if your are using your Mater Faster as your volume control you need to get a proper monitoring system
__________________
...

"Fly High Freeee click psst tic tic tic click Bird Yeah!" - dave911


Thank you,

Craig
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 11-21-2011, 08:23 PM
bryced87 bryced87 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: USA
Posts: 410
Default Re: Monitor level question

Okay

I dont' really understand what you mean. I got m audio studio monitors. I have used lynda which is a tutorial site for software it clearly explains how using the master fader properly adjusts the volume mix. Is this without monitors?I've spent 300 dollars on these monitors and now I'm afraid I don't know how to use them properly. Is there a video tutorial that explains how to do this?
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 11-21-2011, 08:33 PM
Craig F Craig F is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 12,595
Default Re: Monitor level question

you should have a device like these that has a volume knob on it
http://www.sweetwater.com/c417--Monitor_Management

Using the Master Fader to adjust speaker level affects any file that is being produced from it (ether an output or a bounce)
Normally you want to keep that as untouched as posable
__________________
...

"Fly High Freeee click psst tic tic tic click Bird Yeah!" - dave911


Thank you,

Craig
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Question on mix bus level and my monitoring level dilemma bukman 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 19 10-20-2009 05:06 PM
Monitor level (knob) question Pedro perez 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 2 12-17-2005 01:25 PM
Digi 001 Monitor Outs level question RobbaDobba 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 0 09-26-2005 06:38 AM
Monitor Level BrianD 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 4 07-14-2003 01:41 PM
Control24 Monitor level Freddie ProControl, Control|24, Command|8 1 04-04-2001 09:50 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:49 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com