Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 03-17-2010, 09:03 PM
gsilbers gsilbers is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 285
Default No Ethernet port left for the Euphonix mix :(

i have the only ethernet port of my G52x2.5 used for the network/internet and the card slots (for ethernet card) used for PThd... how do i connect an euphonix mix board? (i cant sacrifice the PT nor the network. )
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 03-17-2010, 09:51 PM
diamondschwin diamondschwin is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Nashville/NYC
Posts: 510
Default Re: No Ethernet port left for the Euphonix mix :(

an ethernet switch


one thatll do just fine literally is like 10 to 15 bucks investment.
__________________
Max Holland
Producer / Re-Recording Mixer
Nashville / NYC

MKD Creative
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 03-18-2010, 12:50 AM
crizdee's Avatar
crizdee crizdee is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Brighton, UK
Posts: 10,686
Default Re: No Ethernet port left for the Euphonix mix :(

Quote:
Originally Posted by gsilbers View Post
i have the only ethernet port of my G52x2.5 used for the network/internet and the card slots (for ethernet card) used for PThd... how do i connect an euphonix mix board? (i cant sacrifice the PT nor the network. )
get an airport extreme card for the net!!

Ethernet switches are often a nightmare. tried using one with my control 24 on my old G5 and it would slow things down considerably.

Chris
__________________
PT MAC Troubleshooting... http://duc.avid.com/showthread.php?t=54888

Producer, Engineer,
UKmastering Mixing & Mastering
Blinders_Columbia top 40 UK album charts
Slow Readers Club Joy Of The Return #9 UK album charts

www.ukmastering.com


PT10.3.10 Mountain Lion HD6 accel Magma PE6R4 D Command 32 MacPro 12 Core 3.46ghz UAD-2 Octo x2. Manley Vari-Mu, Manley Massive Passive, SSL VHD, ADL600, Grove Tubes ViPre, Tube-Tech CL-1B. Hafler TRM active monitoring.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 03-18-2010, 06:49 AM
jeremyroberts jeremyroberts is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 1999
Location: New York, NY, USA
Posts: 3,020
Default Re: No Ethernet port left for the Euphonix mix :(

Quote:
Originally Posted by crizdee View Post
get an airport extreme card for the net!!

Ethernet switches are often a nightmare
Chris,

That's illogical. If the switch works and the wiring is done correctly, there should be zero issues.

I own a Netgear 8-port gigabit switch and it is just fine. You can get these now for less than US$70.
__________________
--Jeremy
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 03-18-2010, 12:20 PM
gsilbers gsilbers is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 285
Default Re: No Ethernet port left for the Euphonix mix :(

hmmm

didnt about the switch, ill check em out.

i cant use the airport for two reasons but mainly its because the signal just doesn't get there. but it does for other pcs.

how about ethernet to usb adapters? that could work right?
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 03-18-2010, 05:44 PM
John_Toolbox's Avatar
John_Toolbox John_Toolbox is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Minneapolis
Posts: 5,454
Default Re: No Ethernet port left for the Euphonix mix :(

Quote:
Originally Posted by jeremyroberts View Post
Chris,

That's illogical. If the switch works and the wiring is done correctly, there should be zero issues.

I own a Netgear 8-port gigabit switch and it is just fine. You can get these now for less than US$70.
+1 Ethernet switches are cake to wire and the $50 one I've been using for the last few years has never given me a single problem. I'm constantly using it to stream audio between my main DAW and my slave PC's.
__________________
- John

If a MIDI event triggers a sample of a tree falling and there's no one there to hear it, does it make a sound?
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 03-18-2010, 06:55 PM
Stylin' Audio Stylin' Audio is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2000
Location: Burlington, ON Canada
Posts: 223
Default Re: No Ethernet port left for the Euphonix mix :(

+2 Threw a $30 Linksys switch in the rack 4 years ago and haven't thought about it since! No setup other than plugging everything into it.
__________________
Colin Van Hattem
Noizemaker Productions
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 03-18-2010, 07:14 PM
TimNielsen TimNielsen is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Bay Area, CA
Posts: 1,216
Default Re: No Ethernet port left for the Euphonix mix :(

I have a MaxPower USB 802.11N adaptor, was about $50, and used it on a friend's iMac because the internal one didn't quite have the 'reach'. So it might work, they're stronger than the airport cards, probably because they're outside the case.

You can get them from www.macsales.com for sure. The only thing is that since it isn't seen as an airport, you have to use it's own little software app to connect. Not an issue at all if you're setting up a network and it won't change, just set it to connect at login. But not quite as elegant as an internal airport card.

Also, you can get an external airport antenna that will connect to the Mac to boost it's range. I had one for my G5 and it helped quite a bit, again, all it really did was put the antenna outside the case.

Good old Apple, go figure. On my 8-Core, the bluetooth isn't even strong enough to run a Magic Mouse, because the BlueTooth antenna is INSIDE the case, and it can't even get the 4 feet needed to run the mouse reliably.

Sometimes I just can't stand Apple's dumb decisions.

But a USB adaptor might solve your problems just fine.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Ethernet port 2 Frank Kruse Artist Series 23 11-05-2017 02:43 PM
Is there a way of checking the Ethernet port is working? curvemusic Artist Series 0 02-26-2014 11:02 PM
USB to Ethernet Adapter with Euphonix mcmix gsilbers Artist Series 3 05-04-2010 10:57 AM
Ethernet port/hub/switcher question. James Lugo Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 10 08-06-2009 09:23 AM
C24 Ethernet port quit.. please help! Surth ICON & C|24 1 07-22-2006 04:34 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:41 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com