Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools 11

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 10-05-2014, 05:13 PM
Chingy Chingy is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 418
Default Workspace Auto-play Latency

Hello,

Is there a way to improve the latency of auto-play in the workspace? I have auto-play on, but when I move through the samples using the arrow keys, it takes a second or so for the sample to actually play. Would be great if I could make it instantaneous - not sure if if it is only playing on the beat or something.

Cheers.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 10-15-2014, 12:05 PM
Shan's Avatar
Shan Shan is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Vancouver, B.C.
Posts: 13,557
Default Re: Workspace Auto-play Latency

Are the samples you audition stored on a separate drive or the main system drive?

Shane
__________________
Pro Tools Power User Editing

Give your plug-ins a facelift...and skin 'em!
__________________

"Music should be performed by the musician, not by the engineer."

Michael Wagener 25th July 2005, 02:59 PM

__________________

Pro Tools|HD Native 9.0.1 | Pro Tools|HDX 10.2 | Studio One | REAPER 4.22 | HD OMNI | HoboMac Pro 2.26Ghz Quad-Core | W7 Ultimate 64-bit
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10-15-2014, 06:39 PM
Chingy Chingy is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 418
Default Re: Workspace Auto-play Latency

Separate, new 7200rpm drive. It doesn't cut off the playing sound, which means the next sound won't play until the previous sample ends (or so it seems) - or it is waiting for the next beat or something. Battery 4 in PT doesn't have this issue.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 10-17-2014, 07:25 AM
Shan's Avatar
Shan Shan is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Vancouver, B.C.
Posts: 13,557
Default Re: Workspace Auto-play Latency

One thing that comes to mind is there could be some dead space in front of the audio sample. Just throwing that one out there. Also, do you have loop preview selected?

Shane
__________________
Pro Tools Power User Editing

Give your plug-ins a facelift...and skin 'em!
__________________

"Music should be performed by the musician, not by the engineer."

Michael Wagener 25th July 2005, 02:59 PM

__________________

Pro Tools|HD Native 9.0.1 | Pro Tools|HDX 10.2 | Studio One | REAPER 4.22 | HD OMNI | HoboMac Pro 2.26Ghz Quad-Core | W7 Ultimate 64-bit
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 10-17-2014, 01:02 PM
Shifted Music's Avatar
Shifted Music Shifted Music is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: San Francisco
Posts: 1,010
Default Re: Workspace Auto-play Latency

The auto play in combination with Elastic audio to synch the loop prevue to the tempo has always worked like this for me.

When not in elastic audio synch i get playback fairly quickly. But it is depended on the drive and what not. I have a internal sample library on a WD caviar black which isn't the fastest by todays standards but does really well...

But when synching to the tempo it try and waits till a whole bar usually or the nearest beat.

and often isn't even correct so I have to re trigger if really trying to audition in context with the song.

I have found PT 11 to be better overall in this regard for SURE! but still sometime a bit laggy when synching to song tempo and previewing...
__________________
Jay-J

System
MacPro 12 Core • 24 G Ram • 10.12.6
PT 12.8.1 • Mbox 3 Pro • Plug-ins Verified
4 HD • OS ssd | Audio ssd | Sample Library ssd | Storage
MAXPower eSATA 6G Card • Wiebetech RTX100H-Q
Kensington Trackball Works/Orbit Optical
Bluetooth off/Airport on and off.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 10-17-2014, 08:28 PM
Chingy Chingy is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 418
Default Re: Workspace Auto-play Latency

How do you disable Elastic Audio in workspace?
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 10-18-2014, 06:44 AM
Drew Mazurek's Avatar
Drew Mazurek Drew Mazurek is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Maryland, USA
Posts: 11,599
Default Re: Workspace Auto-play Latency

Quote:
Originally Posted by Chingy View Post
How do you disable Elastic Audio in workspace?
Deselect the Metronome icon.
__________________
www.drewmazurek.com

Mixing and Mastering click here to get started.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 10-18-2014, 01:51 PM
Chingy Chingy is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 418
Default Re: Workspace Auto-play Latency

Looks like turning on Loop Preview fixed this. Without it one, Workspace seems to be delayed in terms of responding to keystrokes, but with it on, it is much more responsive with no latency. Strange behavior, but at least it worked! Thanks!
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 10-18-2014, 02:39 PM
Shan's Avatar
Shan Shan is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Vancouver, B.C.
Posts: 13,557
Default Re: Workspace Auto-play Latency

Quote:
Originally Posted by Shan View Post
...Also, do you have loop preview selected?

Shane
Quote:
Originally Posted by Chingy View Post
Looks like turning on Loop Preview fixed this. Without it one, Workspace seems to be delayed in terms of responding to keystrokes, but with it on, it is much more responsive with no latency. Strange behavior, but at least it worked! Thanks!
Good to hear you have it working now.

Shane
__________________
Pro Tools Power User Editing

Give your plug-ins a facelift...and skin 'em!
__________________

"Music should be performed by the musician, not by the engineer."

Michael Wagener 25th July 2005, 02:59 PM

__________________

Pro Tools|HD Native 9.0.1 | Pro Tools|HDX 10.2 | Studio One | REAPER 4.22 | HD OMNI | HoboMac Pro 2.26Ghz Quad-Core | W7 Ultimate 64-bit
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Play Sound in Finder - Clean; Play Sound in Workspace - Noisy LT_CJ macOS 6 03-16-2012 08:19 AM
Workspace Window - auto indexing issue TQ1 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 8 04-01-2008 06:11 PM
Play audio from workspace through ADAT 1-2 output max cooper 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 1 11-10-2007 02:30 PM
XP Users, Disabling CD-Rom Auto Play??? Rudger 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 7 07-26-2002 12:54 AM
auto play and toast Munxcub 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 2 05-24-2002 02:39 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:47 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com