Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools 11

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 09-25-2013, 09:11 AM
ZachMcNees ZachMcNees is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 12
Default How to update with only an iLok license??

I have a legal iLok bundle of Pro Tools 11 HD. It was transferred to me BY Avid as I reviewed Pro Tools 11 for a website. Because of this, I have no activation code and thus, Pro Tools 11 does not show up in "my products" in my avid account.

As a result, I'm unable to access the update to 11.02 that I desperately need! What is the solution for customers like me that have legal ilok licenses of Pro Tools that were given or sold to them but no way to access the product updates? Very frustrating.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 09-25-2013, 11:12 AM
mesaone mesaone is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 5,257
Default Re: How to update with only an iLok license??

Try downloading the Pro Tools 11 trial here: http://www.avid.com/Trial/ProTools

I believe it is a full version, but the license they provide for it expires after a month. Don't bother transferring the trial license to your iLok, just use your existing license. It should work.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 09-25-2013, 11:52 AM
ZachMcNees ZachMcNees is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 12
Default Re: How to update with only an iLok license??

I already have Pro Tools 11.0 installed and working fine. Pro Tools tells me that an update (11.02) is available but it just takes me to Avid's website which tells me I have to login and download the update through my account.

Avid needs to make software updates readily available. There's no point in keeping them under lock and key if the software requires an iLok license to work!
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 09-25-2013, 12:09 PM
YYR123's Avatar
YYR123 YYR123 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Austin TX
Posts: 13,738
Default Re: How to update with only an iLok license??

Quote:
Originally Posted by ZachMcNees View Post
I already have Pro Tools 11.0 installed and working fine. Pro Tools tells me that an update (11.02) is available but it just takes me to Avid's website which tells me I have to login and download the update through my account.

Avid needs to make software updates readily available. There's no point in keeping them under lock and key if the software requires an iLok license to work!
Email customer service - or hang out here till u get a avid employee
__________________
Daniel
HDX - PT12.5.1 - HD I/O 16x8x8
Win10-Pro (v1709)- 6 Core i7-6850k - ASUS X99 Deluxe ii
D-Command Main Unit - 'Ole Blue


http://www.sknoteaudio.com/ plugins rock and are affordable.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 09-25-2013, 12:53 PM
ronwasserman's Avatar
ronwasserman ronwasserman is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 1,852
Default Re: How to update with only an iLok license??

Quote:
Originally Posted by ZachMcNees View Post
I already have Pro Tools 11.0 installed and working fine. Pro Tools tells me that an update (11.02) is available but it just takes me to Avid's website which tells me I have to login and download the update through my account.

Avid needs to make software updates readily available. There's no point in keeping them under lock and key if the software requires an iLok license to work!
You sign in to your avid store account and DL the update. Why does that seem so hard. And it does make sense to keep them locked up. Cuts down on just any one DLing the software and slowing their server.
__________________
Ron Wasserman
http://www.ronw.com
http://www.imdb.me/ronwasserman
http://www.fishertheband.com
Mac Pro (Late 2013) 3.5 GHz 6-core Intel Xeon E5 - 32 GB Ram / 1TB Flash Storage - Avid HD I/O - Latest Mac OS - HDX3 - Latest PT Version.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 09-25-2013, 01:22 PM
YYR123's Avatar
YYR123 YYR123 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Austin TX
Posts: 13,738
Default Re: How to update with only an iLok license??

Quote:
Originally Posted by ronwasserman View Post
You sign in to your avid store account and DL the update. Why does that seem so hard
Obviously he did not get this added to his account !!
he said avid transferred it to him but it doesn't show up in his account

So maybe he bought it off of somebody and never got it added
he's going to have problems from here on out
__________________
Daniel
HDX - PT12.5.1 - HD I/O 16x8x8
Win10-Pro (v1709)- 6 Core i7-6850k - ASUS X99 Deluxe ii
D-Command Main Unit - 'Ole Blue


http://www.sknoteaudio.com/ plugins rock and are affordable.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 09-29-2013, 12:34 PM
ZachMcNees ZachMcNees is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 12
Default Re: How to update with only an iLok license??

Let me once again reiterate the problem:

AVID sent me an iLok license of Pro Tools 11. They did NOT give me an authorization code. Therefore, I am able to install and use Pro Tools 11 with my full HD license but am UNABLE to update my software because I do not have Pro Tools 11 authorized in my Avid account, just in my iLok account.

this is RIDICULOUS. Absolutely and completely ridiculous.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 09-29-2013, 02:29 PM
Bruce Paine's Avatar
Bruce Paine Bruce Paine is offline
Admin Emeritus
 
Join Date: Apr 1998
Location: Carmel, CA
Posts: 2,824
Default Re: How to update with only an iLok license??

The trial version is the same as the paid version, and has been updated to Pro Tools 11.0.2 on both Mac and Windows.
  1. Click on the Pro Tools 11 graphic at the top of the forum
  2. Click on the Free Trial button on that page
  3. Fill out the form
  4. Download the installer or installers you need

Since you already have the license, you won't have to transfer the trial license that will be deposited to your iLok account.

While most users would have the downloads in their Avid accounts because they entered an activation code, in your case you would not. You would contact whoever you worked with in media relations or artist relations if you have a similar problem in the future, since they would be the ones that provided the license rather than Avid support.
__________________
Bruce Paine
System Details
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 09-30-2013, 09:11 AM
ZachMcNees ZachMcNees is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 12
Default Re: How to update with only an iLok license??

Bruce, appreciate the response. FYI the download link for Pro Tools 11 for Mac has a TYPO in it!! Fortunately I caught it and repasted the link without the typo but I would say fix that one ASAP. Good lord.

http://cdn.avid.com/ProTools/11.0.2/PProTools_11_0_2_Trial_Mac.zip
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 09-30-2013, 11:31 AM
mesaone mesaone is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 5,257
Default Re: How to update with only an iLok license??

Hmm... I gave the same answer 5 days ago, and nobody listened
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Will PT10/11 License Overwrite PT9 License On iLok? rmccam macOS 12 06-30-2013 11:53 AM
iLok License Manager - LICENSE TRANSFER ERROR MESSAGE jzacks524 General Discussion 6 06-26-2013 05:43 PM
iLok License Manager - Status Update from PACE... Avid Technical Alerts 0 06-10-2013 01:00 PM
ilok - Cannot download license: Pro Tools 10+9 Bundle requires surrender of license soukotta Pro Tools 10 10 09-25-2012 07:22 AM
NO iLok License Card with GSM format license chip willy wonka 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 1 04-19-2007 10:26 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 07:00 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com