Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 04-16-2003, 11:27 PM
Nitronick Nitronick is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Edmond, OK
Posts: 731
Default 8meg drive buffer=higher track count??

Just wondering.
My system drive took a dump on me a few weeks ago, and I had to use one of my audio drives to get back working. I am going to have to replace it in the near future.
Does the 8 meg buffer result in higher track counts?
Allen, Roy, guys, everybody, anybody??? Lets hear your thoughts.
I noticed Fry's Electronics had a WD 200gig with 8 meg buffer on sale over the weekend($150 after rebate [img]images/icons/shocked.gif[/img] [img]images/icons/shocked.gif[/img] [img]images/icons/shocked.gif[/img] ), but I couldn't get to Dallas in time [img]images/icons/mad.gif[/img]
Mitch
__________________
Mitchell Benson
Linda Brown and Associates
www.lindabrownandassociates.com
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 04-17-2003, 10:56 PM
Nitronick Nitronick is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Edmond, OK
Posts: 731
Default Re: 8meg drive buffer=higher track count??

bump
__________________
Mitchell Benson
Linda Brown and Associates
www.lindabrownandassociates.com
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 04-17-2003, 11:25 PM
Roy Howell Roy Howell is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Memphis
Posts: 8,635
Default Re: 8meg drive buffer=higher track count??

Nitronick,
I recently had to switch my System drive with another drive that had previously been used for audio storage, and my system is as fast and quiet as ever. I notice no difference in performance.(I do get occasional errors, but I'm convinced they're not drive-related). So, you should be fine with your former Audio drive as your Sys drive for a while.
On the 8mb cache drives, I hear they're more efficient, but I honestly don't know whether they would improve track count. Someone else can explain better than me why they're more efficient in general though. (DaBasstard can if he sees this).
I would suggest getting an 8mb cache drive when you do buy .(can't hurt... [img]images/icons/wink.gif[/img] )

There was a thread a few weeks back with some killer sales on Western Digital drives. I myself got a 60GB (with 8mb cache) for $60 after rebate, but some of the others were 120GB drives...very good buys.
I have a feeling they're still in that ball park price range. I'll post that thread if I find it...... -Roy
__________________
rh music
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 04-17-2003, 11:32 PM
Roy Howell Roy Howell is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Memphis
Posts: 8,635
Default Re: 8meg drive buffer=higher track count??

Here you go... [img]images/icons/wink.gif[/img]


http://duc.digidesign.com/cgi-bin/ub...=016159#000000
__________________
rh music
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
SATA or Firewire 800 for higher track count? BigEvil Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 7 01-17-2011 01:39 AM
Higher simultaneous recording track count in 7.3 coronos Pro Tools M-Powered (Win) 1 12-14-2008 12:09 PM
Trackball response slows down with higher track count QuickPuppy ICON & C|24 0 08-02-2007 01:34 PM
Higher Track count for ProTools Le??? NuBus General Discussion 7 07-21-2001 11:48 AM
Track Count, RTAS and Buffer Size ... phobia 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 6 03-20-2000 03:53 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:15 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com