Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 09-03-2002, 01:10 AM
iamspooky iamspooky is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Honolulu, Hawaii 96826
Posts: 130
Default What\'s going on ?

Aloha,

I have been a Protools PC user for the past year and just switched to a new MAC G4 which I am now in the process of setting up PT and learning the MAC OS. Anyway, could someone briefly explain what all this "core audio" and new things that Apple is releasing in OSX Jaguar and how it's gonna affect/relate to Protools...and other plug-ins and software. I am under the impression that APPLE is gonna give someone the shaft with this new "core audio" or its gonna take a while for the other developers to "catch up" ??

Any comments are appreciated...

Mahalo [img]images/icons/cool.gif[/img] ,
Mark
__________________
Regards,
Mark [img]/images/graemlins/cool.gif[/img]
www.rebelshots.com
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 09-03-2002, 03:30 AM
thermoboy thermoboy is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Saint Denis (Reunion Island)
Posts: 138
Default Re: What\'s going on ?

Quote:
Originally posted by iamspooky:
Aloha,

I have been a Protools PC user for the past year and just switched to a new MAC G4 which I am now in the process of setting up PT and learning the MAC OS. Anyway, could someone briefly explain what all this "core audio" and new things that Apple is releasing in OSX Jaguar and how it's gonna affect/relate to Protools...and other plug-ins and software. I am under the impression that APPLE is gonna give someone the shaft with this new "core audio" or its gonna take a while for the other developers to "catch up" ??

Any comments are appreciated...

Mahalo [img]images/icons/cool.gif[/img] ,
Mark
<font size="2" face="Verdana, Arial">Hi Spooky,

So welcome to the mac side.
One thing you should know is that Pro Tools LE for OSX is still under development. When it ships, it will support dual-processing (get ready to double your horsepower if you own a DP) and will have to rely on a library of re-written (carbonized) plug-ins.
I know that Jaguar also includes great possibilities for MIDI, but being an audio guy I can't tell you more...

Hope this helps

Aloha
__________________
Thermoboy (from Reunion Island)
--------------------------------------------
http://www.thermoboy.com
Thermostudio powered by :
G4 DP 2x500 Mhz / Digi 001
[working on 1st self-prod. LP]
--------------------------------------------
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:55 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com