Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Post Production > Post - Surround - Video

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 05-04-2006, 06:12 PM
WannabeSQ WannabeSQ is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 93
Default Output to tape with Timecode with LE?

I'm wondering if there's any way with PTLE and the DV Toolkit to do a layback with timecode. As far as I know, the only way to do that would be to assign an audio output for the timecode track to one of the analog audio outputs. Or is there some way to use MTC? Could I get a box that converts MTC to LTC and do this? It would be to transfer (via ADAT-TDIF bridge) 5.1+2 mixes/stems to DA88. I do this already on the HD system, but for time crunches I'd love to layback the M&E from the LE machine. I know the real answer is to just buy another HD system, but there's not enough money for that just yet.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 05-04-2006, 09:24 PM
georgia georgia is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: NY,NY
Posts: 1,859
Default Re: Output to tape with Timecode with LE?

DIGI002's will lock to MTC and output MTC.. There are a number of MTC to LTC boxes....

cheers
geo
__________________
georgia hilton CAS MPSE MPE

Hilton Media Management

Film Doctors http://www.filmdoctors.com
Me... http://georgiahilton.webs.com/
Stage 32 http://www.stage32.com/profile/6569/georgia-hilton
My Production Company http://www.hiltonmm.com

CREDITS (partial) http://www.imdb.com/name/nm0385255/resume
MEMBER: IATSE LOCAL 700
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 05-05-2006, 12:44 PM
Ken P Ken P is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Cincinnati USA
Posts: 555
Default Re: Output to tape with Timecode with LE?

a good box that will work is the MOTU Midi Timepice AV USB , i believe they go for around $250 or so on ebay (or even the serial model if your system supports it, it's even cheaper!). it can serve for all sorts of uses too, midi i/o, etc... i am sure there are other cheaper alternatives that are more specific for your purpose but this is the unit i had my eye on if the need arrises.
__________________
Ken P.

Pro Tools Ultimate, Mac Mini 3.2 i7, Mtrx Studio & Omni, 4x S1’s & Dock w/ iPad Air 2
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 05-05-2006, 01:10 PM
TVPostSound's Avatar
TVPostSound TVPostSound is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 3,315
Default Re: Output to tape with Timecode with LE?

Also the MOTU Digital Time Piece, it generates video sync, it will send sync to the 002 via SPDIF, connect via MIDI cables for MTC,
and also has viable 9 pin 422 machine control, and will send word clock and BlackBurst to your video machine..
They are almost as good as my Sync I/O!!!!

A 002R, along with the DTP makes for a great "Layback" station.

I just picked another one up for $50.00, in new condition!!!
__________________
IMDB
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 05-12-2006, 11:31 AM
mnoxious mnoxious is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 160
Default Re: Output to tape with Timecode with LE?

Where did you get the Digital Timepiece for $50?
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 05-12-2006, 11:55 AM
TVPostSound's Avatar
TVPostSound TVPostSound is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 3,315
Default Re: Output to tape with Timecode with LE?

Craigslist!!!! Where else!!!!
__________________
IMDB
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 05-12-2006, 11:59 AM
TVPostSound's Avatar
TVPostSound TVPostSound is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 3,315
Default Re: Output to tape with Timecode with LE?

Heres an eBay auction that didnt sell.

Make that person an offer:

http://cgi.ebay.com/MOTU-Digital-Tim...QQcmdZViewItem
__________________
IMDB
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 05-19-2006, 07:15 AM
Ken P Ken P is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Cincinnati USA
Posts: 555
Default Re: Output to tape with Timecode with LE?

Quote:
Also the MOTU Digital Time Piece, it generates video sync, it will send sync to the 002 via SPDIF, connect via MIDI cables for MTC,
and also has viable 9 pin 422 machine control, and will send word clock and BlackBurst to your video machine..
They are almost as good as my Sync I/O!!!!

A 002R, along with the DTP makes for a great "Layback" station.

I just picked another one up for $50.00, in new condition!!!
DIAFXMX, since this is slighly on the subject of my post HERE that you responded to, is this a device that would work to machine control a tc dat machine from FCP? and if i understand this correctly, are you also able to machine control a DVC Pro Deck or digi beta with an LE rig in the same way that i do with my HD rig at work for the most part? something tells me it wont quite work this way, i.e. PT LE would have to be "on line" chasing the machine when it comes to layback. either way, if my assumptions are even partially correct i am on my way to getting one of these very soon.
__________________
Ken P.

Pro Tools Ultimate, Mac Mini 3.2 i7, Mtrx Studio & Omni, 4x S1’s & Dock w/ iPad Air 2
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 05-19-2006, 08:59 AM
steppenwolf68 steppenwolf68 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Germany
Posts: 213
Default Re: Output to tape with Timecode with LE?

There is also 009 by Gallery to machine control 9-Pin devices....
pagehttp://www.gallery.co.uk/009docs/start_here.html
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 05-19-2006, 09:34 AM
TVPostSound's Avatar
TVPostSound TVPostSound is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 3,315
Default Re: Output to tape with Timecode with LE?

Quote:
DIAFXMX, since this is slighly on the subject of my post HERE that you responded to, is this a device that would work to machine control a tc dat machine from FCP? and if i understand this correctly, are you also able to machine control a DVC Pro Deck or digi beta with an LE rig in the same way that i do with my HD rig at work for the most part? something tells me it wont quite work this way, i.e. PT LE would have to be "on line" chasing the machine when it comes to layback. either way, if my assumptions are even partially correct i am on my way to getting one of these very soon.
Ken

FCP has builtin machine control, all you would need is a Keyspan USA28X USB/Serial adapter, and a MAC 8 pin to 422 9 pin cable.

LE, on the other hand would need a "sync box":
The 002 would only need the DTP. Since it has builtin MIDI ports.
MBox would need the DTP, along with a MOTU or M-Audio MIDI/USB adapter.

The DTP converts MTC to LTC, and drives machines via 9 pin, from MMC commands.
The DTP also send clock via SPDIF to 002R na d LE

This is not theory, I have configured, and tested the above solutions.
The MBox 2 should work like the 002, but I havent tried it.

As a matter of fact, just last week, the video editor used mixed audio (with music mixed infrom Digibetas) I used FCP, with an MBox on a Powerbook to replace that mixed audio that was used , with its matching DA88 clean dialog stems.
She provided me with an OMF for reference, and an EDL.

The last 2 years, I have also been using a 002R with the DTP (Using an Apogee FC8 ADAT/TDIF converter), to layback stems
to precoded DA88 tapes (for Dicovery deliverables). It keeps my HD free to mix!!!!

Oh, wait there is another method, I forgot about my Microlynx!!! That gets MMC, and MTC through MIDI ports. If you can find one of those, it will work with LE using the methods above substituting for the DTP!!!!!

But, there still is nothing better than HD with a SYNC I/O, and machine control!!!!



__________________
IMDB
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
chasing timecode from a 1/4 inch tape deck drguitar Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 9 02-06-2011 04:31 PM
Need someone to output to D88 5.1 M&E timecode etc Mark 66 Post - Surround - Video 6 01-14-2007 09:35 AM
Timecode striping anolog tape w/PTIII mznyc Tips & Tricks 4 02-28-2002 10:18 AM
Bad timecode on tape (but it's not) maestrodave Post - Surround - Video 0 12-12-2000 03:42 PM
Timecode (LTC) output on USD DannyVanSpreuwel Tips & Tricks 0 05-12-2000 11:01 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:11 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com