Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Post Production > Post - Surround - Video

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 09-17-2004, 01:39 PM
bigears bigears is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 55
Default 5.1 Surround mix for feature film in protools LE?

Is is possible to monitor a 5.1 mix in protools LE?

I have heard that it is possible but difficult, but I havent found any details of how to do it yet.

In terms of working back from the speaker set up, up the audio chain.....
with a digi002 fader model you have enough outputs to send into a 5.1 speaker system to check where you are placing spot effects
BUT
how can you route a sound from the track it sits on in protools out to a 5.1 set up? or how can you move it around till you find the correct place in the speaker field you want the sound

I think that it boils down to a question of the pan pot at the output stage of each track in protools

instead of having the left and right option you need to have some routing or a plugin which directs the sound to a 5.1 output

at the end of the job I want to play out 6 channels from the digi002 into the dolby encoder box. But up till that point I want to be able to monitor where I am placing sounds in the 5.1 speaker set up from protools playback

any advice would be great

thanks
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 09-18-2004, 03:45 AM
gerax gerax is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Modena, Italy
Posts: 1,616
Default Re: 5.1 Surround mix for feature film in protools LE?

Well...the answer is that it can be done, but it's far from easy to do and flexible, definitely not the most friendly method of doing surround for a feature.
You have to route the additional 4 (Center, L surround, R surround and Sub) to analog outputs on the back of the unit (and the L/R as well) and route the 6 channels to a device like the SPL Surround Monitor Controller that will give you the ability to hook up all of the speakers and have control over them.

So far so good, but the bad new is that since Pro Tools LE is missing the possibility to have a dedicated internal surround panning (and a surround matrix output) if you want to do some panning of tracks you have to be creative with aux sends, using them to assign the right amount of a track to the surround channel and so on...as I said definitely not the easiest and fastest way of working, but for some simple surround tasks it can be done, I belive it would be a nightmare to mix a full feature this way though. Maybe Digidesign will shake itself and implement it in PT 7 like all of its contenders (Nuendo, SX, Samplitude, Logic...) have already done.

Hope this helps

L.G.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 09-18-2004, 05:24 AM
K-Man K-Man is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: VAlley Village, CA
Posts: 170
Default Re: 5.1 Surround mix for feature film in protools LE?

It's called Nuendo. It's 100% host based. It runs off of Digi's hardware. Plus it has full 5.1 surround capabilities.

Doing it in LE is just a huge pain in the arse. Not worth it. Digi will come around eventually and go host based. Host based processing power has dramatically increased since Digi introduced their rackmount TDM systems. Digi has to come around to stay competitive. Their rivals are already taking us into the future of digital audio production with just as many host based capabilities that TDM offers. But Digi makes their money off of selling huge systems like that, so they'll milk it for all it's worth until the end.

Cheers!

-K
__________________
Apple Mac Pro 3.0 8C
8GB RAM
Digi002R
Dynaudio BM5a Monitors
--------------------
Mac OS X 10.4.10
PT|LE 7.3.1cs4
CoreAudio 7
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 09-18-2004, 10:03 AM
bigears bigears is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 55
Default Re: 5.1 Surround mix for feature film in protools LE?

thanks for the info

just wondering if i get nuendo will the faders and other knobs on the digi002 work in nuendo so that i can pan in real time without using the mouse to write automation?
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 09-18-2004, 04:13 PM
Digitrove Digitrove is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: San Francisco
Posts: 73
Default Re: 5.1 Surround mix for feature film in protools LE?

I'm pretty sure the 002 faders will not work with Nuendo. I doubt you'd want to do any surround panning with the 002 anyway. Tactile surround panning is pretty much a useless endeavor without a joystick.
__________________
"Learn how to handle hot things, keep your knives sharp, and above all, have fun."
-Julia Child, as paraphrased by Tom Robbins
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 09-18-2004, 06:11 PM
bigears bigears is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 55
Default Re: 5.1 Surround mix for feature film in protools LE?

not sure what you are getting at with that last statement?

the position of a joystick is nice to see but to some extent you should be doing this with your eyes closed and concentrating on the sound and if it is in the place you want it to be

if its a question of moving a fader to change the position of the sound in the 5.1 speakers rather than using pan pot or a joystick then thats fine so long as it sounds right

are you saying that its impossible to place sounds well without a joystick?
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
5.1 surround mix for feature film finalmixaudio Post - Surround - Video 32 03-12-2014 11:03 AM
MXF audio for feature film mix in PT cablet Post - Surround - Video 2 05-01-2013 07:34 PM
HDX for feature film work The golfer Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Mac) 6 03-14-2012 11:48 PM
HDX for feature film work take 2 The golfer Post - Surround - Video 28 03-06-2012 02:19 PM
Mixing a feature film in ProTools bigears General Discussion 6 03-23-2004 02:00 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:35 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com