Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Pro Tools 2021

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 12-06-2021, 08:29 PM
Focuret Focuret is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Chicago, USA
Posts: 186
Default Updated to HD Driver 2021.7.0 yet still no HD Native available to select for output

I've just updated macOS to Monterey after being on Big Sur. The HD Driver doesn't seem to work at all. It doesn't show as an output device in macOS. I've uninstalled, reinstalled, restarted the computer, ran the touch command in Terminal and still no luck. Any idea how to get the HD Native/HD Omni to work as a sound output?
__________________
MacBook Pro Touch Bar (15-inch, 2016 2016), 2.9 GHz Intel Core i7, 16 GB 2133 MHz LPDDR3, Radeon Pro 460 4096 MB
Intel HD Graphics 530 1536 MB | macOS Big Sur 11.5.2 | Avid HD Native Thunderbolt | Avid HD Omni | Pro Tools Ultimate | Avid Artist Control | Avid Artist Mix
|
Avid Artist Transport | KRK RP8G2 Monitors | KRK K10S Subwoofer | Slate Digital VMS Virtual Microphone
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 12-06-2021, 08:52 PM
Sardi Sardi is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Perth
Posts: 2,515
Default Re: Updated to HD Driver 2021.7.0 yet still no HD Native available to select for outp

Mac OS Monterey is not supported.

Your best bet is to roll back to Big Sur. If you want to try your luck and persist with Monterey, try a reinstall of the HD driver.

https://avid.secure.force.com/pkb/ar...ation-on-macOS


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 12-06-2021, 09:03 PM
off the wall's Avatar
off the wall off the wall is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: NYC-NJ
Posts: 425
Default Re: Updated to HD Driver 2021.7.0 yet still no HD Native available to select for outp

Quote:
Originally Posted by Focuret View Post
I've just updated macOS to Monterey after being on Big Sur. The HD Driver doesn't seem to work at all. It doesn't show as an output device in macOS. I've uninstalled, reinstalled, restarted the computer, ran the touch command in Terminal and still no luck. Any idea how to get the HD Native/HD Omni to work as a sound output?
That was a mistake. Monterey is not approved for Pro Tools and even those who have gotten it to work, many plug-ins crash Pro Tools on launch. Also you aren’t even using the latest driver.
__________________
offthewallproductions
Mac Pro 5,1 3.46 Ghz 12 core, Open Core 0.7.6 EFI, Radeon RX580 GPU, GC-TITAN RIDGE TB3 PCIe card, M.2 NVMe SSD boot drive on PCIe card, 48GB RAM, MacOS 11.6.3
Pro Tools Ultimate 2021.12 HDX, UA Octo PCIe card in external TB3 chassis, HD I/O, C|24 control surface.
Genelec 1031AP/7070A 5.1 monitoring.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 12-06-2021, 09:09 PM
Focuret Focuret is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Chicago, USA
Posts: 186
Default Re: Updated to HD Driver 2021.7.0 yet still no HD Native available to select for outp

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sardi View Post
Mac OS Monterey is not supported.

Your best bet is to roll back to Big Sur. If you want to try your luck and persist with Monterey, try a reinstall of the HD driver.

https://avid.secure.force.com/pkb/ar...ation-on-macOS


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
I upgraded because it wasn’t working on Big Sur. The odd thing is that it used to work fine but suddenly wasn't working. On big Sur when I uninstalled and reinstalled, it would work after it's installed and asking you to restart to finish. If I don't restart then it works.
__________________
MacBook Pro Touch Bar (15-inch, 2016 2016), 2.9 GHz Intel Core i7, 16 GB 2133 MHz LPDDR3, Radeon Pro 460 4096 MB
Intel HD Graphics 530 1536 MB | macOS Big Sur 11.5.2 | Avid HD Native Thunderbolt | Avid HD Omni | Pro Tools Ultimate | Avid Artist Control | Avid Artist Mix
|
Avid Artist Transport | KRK RP8G2 Monitors | KRK K10S Subwoofer | Slate Digital VMS Virtual Microphone
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 12-06-2021, 09:10 PM
Focuret Focuret is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Chicago, USA
Posts: 186
Default Re: Updated to HD Driver 2021.7.0 yet still no HD Native available to select for outp

Quote:
Originally Posted by off the wall View Post
That was a mistake. Monterey is not approved for Pro Tools and even those who have gotten it to work, many plug-ins crash Pro Tools on launch. Also you aren’t even using the latest driver.
What is the latest driver and how do I get it? That's what was in my available downloads.

I updated to Monterey because the driver wasn't working on big Sur either.
__________________
MacBook Pro Touch Bar (15-inch, 2016 2016), 2.9 GHz Intel Core i7, 16 GB 2133 MHz LPDDR3, Radeon Pro 460 4096 MB
Intel HD Graphics 530 1536 MB | macOS Big Sur 11.5.2 | Avid HD Native Thunderbolt | Avid HD Omni | Pro Tools Ultimate | Avid Artist Control | Avid Artist Mix
|
Avid Artist Transport | KRK RP8G2 Monitors | KRK K10S Subwoofer | Slate Digital VMS Virtual Microphone
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 12-06-2021, 09:36 PM
_JJ_ _JJ_ is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 133
Default Re: Updated to HD Driver 2021.7.0 yet still no HD Native available to select for outp

Be sure that "prefs" >> "security and privacy" is not blocking the driver from being fully installed. Sometimes you need to go there to give the installer permission to finish the job.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 12-06-2021, 10:16 PM
Eric Lambert's Avatar
Eric Lambert Eric Lambert is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 3,149
Default Re: Updated to HD Driver 2021.7.0 yet still no HD Native available to select for outp

Quote:
Originally Posted by Focuret View Post
I've just updated macOS to Monterey after being on Big Sur. The HD Driver doesn't seem to work at all. It doesn't show as an output device in macOS. I've uninstalled, reinstalled, restarted the computer, ran the touch command in Terminal and still no luck. Any idea how to get the HD Native/HD Omni to work as a sound output?
Which Driver installation file did you use, the separate download, or the one which is included in the ProTools installation itself? I had terrible trouble with the separate download and never got it to work whereas the one included with PT worked right away.

I don't know if that's your issue, but it was mine. Maybe Avid has fixed all the Driver installers by this point.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 12-07-2021, 03:43 PM
Focuret Focuret is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Chicago, USA
Posts: 186
Default Re: Updated to HD Driver 2021.7.0 yet still no HD Native available to select for outp

Quote:
Originally Posted by Eric Lambert View Post
Which Driver installation file did you use, the separate download, or the one which is included in the ProTools installation itself? I had terrible trouble with the separate download and never got it to work whereas the one included with PT worked right away.

I don't know if that's your issue, but it was mine. Maybe Avid has fixed all the Driver installers by this point.
I used the one in the downloads section of my PT section at my.avid. So I supposed that's the separate download. If there is a newer driver than the one in my downloads, can I get a link or instructions on how to get it?
__________________
MacBook Pro Touch Bar (15-inch, 2016 2016), 2.9 GHz Intel Core i7, 16 GB 2133 MHz LPDDR3, Radeon Pro 460 4096 MB
Intel HD Graphics 530 1536 MB | macOS Big Sur 11.5.2 | Avid HD Native Thunderbolt | Avid HD Omni | Pro Tools Ultimate | Avid Artist Control | Avid Artist Mix
|
Avid Artist Transport | KRK RP8G2 Monitors | KRK K10S Subwoofer | Slate Digital VMS Virtual Microphone
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 12-07-2021, 03:53 PM
Focuret Focuret is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Chicago, USA
Posts: 186
Default Re: Updated to HD Driver 2021.7.0 yet still no HD Native available to select for outp

Quote:
Originally Posted by _JJ_ View Post
Be sure that "prefs" >> "security and privacy" is not blocking the driver from being fully installed. Sometimes you need to go there to give the installer permission to finish the job.
nothing out of place there.
__________________
MacBook Pro Touch Bar (15-inch, 2016 2016), 2.9 GHz Intel Core i7, 16 GB 2133 MHz LPDDR3, Radeon Pro 460 4096 MB
Intel HD Graphics 530 1536 MB | macOS Big Sur 11.5.2 | Avid HD Native Thunderbolt | Avid HD Omni | Pro Tools Ultimate | Avid Artist Control | Avid Artist Mix
|
Avid Artist Transport | KRK RP8G2 Monitors | KRK K10S Subwoofer | Slate Digital VMS Virtual Microphone
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 12-07-2021, 03:57 PM
Darryl Ramm Darryl Ramm is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 15,501
Default Re: Updated to HD Driver 2021.7.0 yet still no HD Native available to select for outp

Quote:
Originally Posted by Focuret View Post
nothing out of place there.
What does that mean? Did you enable the driver there in the past? The option to do so disappears after 30 minutes so you won't see "nothing out of place there" unless you rerun the installer.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Updated to HD Driver 2021.7.0 yet still no HD Native available to select for output Focuret Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Mac) 0 12-06-2021 08:25 PM
PSA: PT 2021.7 & HD Native Driver & Big Sur & Izotope RX7 milosziv Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Mac) 6 08-25-2021 08:36 PM
2021.6 Clips/Markers Grid Select Broken the.engineer Pro Tools 2021 0 07-06-2021 03:43 PM
updated to Pro Tools 2021 and now only have 24 bus sends instead of 32 justjohnmusic99 Pro Tools 2021 3 06-22-2021 05:22 AM
2021 Scorch still being updated?? Carl393 Avid Scorch (iOS) Forum 6 04-29-2021 01:43 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 01:20 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com