Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 11-07-2008, 03:49 PM
Bender Bender is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Posts: 1,147
Default Preamp / channel strip

I recently updated my home setup and replaced my 002 with an 003
I have lots of mics my best being AKG 414, Neuman TL103, U87

What would be a great preamp or Channel Strip

I have had lots of stuff through the years and am convinced the $200 to $500 stuff is not much better than the stuff that comes with Digi stuff.
All these Fake tube models where it is really solid state with the circuit going through a tube is not the same as the real stuff that ran with tubes.

At work I have used Telefunken, Avalon, Neeve but would like a single channel high end recommendation for tracking vocal and acoustic guitar.

Thanks
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 11-07-2008, 06:03 PM
pguy pguy is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 443
Default Re: Preamp / channel strip

Hey Bender.... What are you considering?

Do you have a few that your interested in?
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 11-07-2008, 09:02 PM
humpback humpback is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Los Angeles, USA
Posts: 306
Default Re: Preamp / channel strip

try here... http://www.summitaudio.com/everest.html or http://www.solid-state-logic.com/mus...Mynx/index.asp . Tons of other stuff, but these jump to mind quickly.

Not cheap, but tasty, IMO. Very tasty indeed.

Best

Nathan
__________________
Studio:
Mac Mini 2.6 GHz i7
16GB RAM
PT 2019 and 10.14
UA Apollo Quad
Outboard:
2 x Summit Audio 2BA-221>TLA 50>EQF-100
2 x dbx 165a
4
x Shadow Hills GAMA
http://humpbackmedia.net[/SIZE]
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 11-08-2008, 02:23 AM
chris110000100101001 chris110000100101001 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Melbourne Australia
Posts: 485
Default Re: Preamp / channel strip

I agree, so many options. You haven't mentioned your budget.

A couple of great pre's that I have used and think are worth considering:

Manley Voxbox - http://manleylabs.com/containerpages/voxbox99.html

Midas XL42 - http://www.midasconsoles.com/xl42.html

What was your impression of the Telefunken and Avalon pre's at your work?
__________________
SMPTE for the devil
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 11-08-2008, 02:32 AM
Guitarfool5931@yahoo.com Guitarfool5931@yahoo.com is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 53
Default Re: Preamp / channel strip

I have a Focusrite Octopre which has been working great until now (working on getting fixed but don't think it's a hardware problem, probably something I'm doing wrong). Anyway, as far as vale goes I think it's pretty decent.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 11-08-2008, 09:54 AM
Bender Bender is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Posts: 1,147
Default Re: Preamp / channel strip

Thanks guys
I have no budget in mind. I work on a HD system at work and just want a setup at home for writing and acoustic jobs I get.
With the 003 and Mic's I have I want a high end setup for one input channel at a time. If it is a bigger job I go to the studio I work at.

I like that Manley. I think the preamp section is a clone of the Manley Mono Microphone Preamplifier

I can get one for $3200 Is that a good price?

Is the Avalon stuff any good or anybody use an Summit Audio TPA-200B

Thanks again
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 11-08-2008, 03:02 PM
Mikeren Mikeren is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: 41.66 N / 88.54 W
Posts: 417
Default Re: Preamp / channel strip

I use and really like the UA 6176 (street price $2100-$2200 US). 610 preamp and new version 1176 compressor. Sweet tube preamp and classic solid state comp. I think it works really well with my U87ai.

MR
__________________
Learn to listen. Listen to learn.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 11-08-2008, 10:54 PM
Barry Johns Barry Johns is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 3,567
Default Re: Preamp / channel strip

I have a MINT UA LA-610, you can't tell from new that I am selling right now for 1000.00.

barryathome@mac.com
__________________
HD Native Pcie, PTHD 11, PT12 Vanilla, Omni, Lynx Aurora 16, 192 I/O (16 in/8 out), 24 Fader D-Command, lots of preamps and compressors.

MacPro 5.1 (12) Core (2009 MacPro 8 Core Upgraded to a 12 Core MacPro), 56 Gig Ram, SSD System & 3 - 2TB Drives, OSX 10.9.5, Windows 10 Via Bootcamp
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 11-09-2008, 07:41 AM
dougied dougied is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Omahaha, Nebraska, U.S.A.
Posts: 609
Default Re: Preamp / channel strip

2nd the 6176!!! It's sweet!!!
__________________
Mac Pro Dual Quad 2.8Ghz 2008
MacBook Pro i7 2012
OSX 10.8.5 - OSX 10.7.5
Pro Tools 10.3.7 - 11.1.2
6GB RAM
Universal Audio Apollo Quad!!!
Eleven Rack
Focusrite Octopre MKII
Yamaha HS80s
Rockit RP5 Monitors w/ RP10 sub
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 11-10-2008, 07:29 PM
pguy pguy is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 443
Default Re: Preamp / channel strip

Do you guy's really hear big differences between pre's?

I'm trying to decide whether or not to get a few additional mic pre's.

I've tried some different pre's in the past, but, couldn't really hear the differences between them that I thought would be there.

Well...... being even more inexperienced at that time, maybe my ears were not capable.

Would you say that collecting different mic pre's is a real good way to get a variety of different tones?

Or.... can your tone be shaped as good if not better with high end software plugins and EQ's?

What about different microphones?

I don't have much experience with this, so your advice means a lot.

Thanks.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Strip Preamp with Mbox problem oettinger1919 General Discussion 4 12-09-2009 05:14 PM
URS Channel Strip George Ware Pro Tools TDM Systems (Win) 0 05-31-2006 06:36 PM
Renaissance channel vs Channel Strip frenchman Tips & Tricks 1 09-20-2003 05:18 AM
DBX 376 Channel Strip Yah 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 1 02-07-2002 12:01 AM
Who's using MH Channel Strip?? crowdog 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 5 12-04-2001 11:35 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 09:31 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com