Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools 11

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 12-01-2015, 05:14 PM
aylavid aylavid is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Japan & New York
Posts: 59
Default Deleting Clips Without Erasing Automation?

Hello Experts!

We have been seeking a way of doing this when we have to exchange audio clips from a mix. If you lose Automation once when you delete clips and then import a new one, you have to rewrite Automation that is a pain.
Seems no one answered for this.

Appreciate telling us how to delete only audio clips and leave the automation completely.


Thank you,
__________________
Specifications:
Mac OSX 10.10.4
CPU: 2.8GHz Intel Core i7
RAM: 16GB 1600 MHz DDR3
Pro Tools 11.3.1

Appreciate the Rescue from Experts,

A.Y.L
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 12-01-2015, 05:15 PM
mesaone mesaone is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 5,257
Default Re: Deleting Clips Without Erasing Automation?

Turn off Automation Follows Edit.

__________________
Pro Tools HD 12.4, Pro Tools "Vanilla" 12.4, Artist Transport, 2x Artist Mix
Studio Blue: RME UCX, Win7 Pro, i7 960, 16GB || Studio Green: RME Babyface, Win10, i7 7700HQ, 16GB
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 12-01-2015, 05:36 PM
aylavid aylavid is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Japan & New York
Posts: 59
Default Re: Deleting Clips Without Erasing Automation?

Hello mesaone,

Thank you for the quick reply.
You also saved so many users who have been looking for this.

Just Turn off Automation switch and delete audio clips. Then import new clips.
We will try this! (We used to rewrite all over again)


Thank you!
__________________
Specifications:
Mac OSX 10.10.4
CPU: 2.8GHz Intel Core i7
RAM: 16GB 1600 MHz DDR3
Pro Tools 11.3.1

Appreciate the Rescue from Experts,

A.Y.L
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 12-02-2015, 04:27 AM
Drew Mazurek's Avatar
Drew Mazurek Drew Mazurek is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Maryland, USA
Posts: 11,600
Default Re: Deleting Clips Without Erasing Automation?

This was so much easier when they actually printed one on paper, but reading the manual periodically has ALWAYS helped me over the years. Each read through you pick up new little things.
__________________
www.drewmazurek.com

Mixing and Mastering click here to get started.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 12-02-2015, 05:41 AM
clausiii's Avatar
clausiii clausiii is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Vienna, Austria
Posts: 1,816
Default Re: Deleting Clips Without Erasing Automation?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Drew Mazurek View Post
This was so much easier when they actually printed one on paper, but reading the manual periodically has ALWAYS helped me over the years. Each read through you pick up new little things.
+1000
No offense intended!
But really, the ProTools Reference Guide is the best source for learning ProTools!
@ayavid: you can find the guide in your documents folder of MacOSX!
__________________
My ears! My ears!
clausiii
-----------------
MacBook Pro i7 Quad 2.6GHz 16GB RAM
ProTools 2020.11
Avid S1
Avid Dock
Avid Control
Digidesign Command|8
macOS Catalina
MOTU 4pre
MOTU Track16
Axiom Pro 25
LinnStrument 128
Roli Seaboard Block

tons of stomp boxes
tube amps
guitars
noise
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 12-02-2015, 06:31 AM
YYR123's Avatar
YYR123 YYR123 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Austin TX
Posts: 13,735
Default Re: Deleting Clips Without Erasing Automation?

Manual is deep, for sure I definitely have a link on my desktop

However I just had an Avid CS rep tell me himself that parts of the manual (shortcut in this case) are ambiguous and lacking some further explanation for different things

So manual yes, and the DUC/APAC yes also....
__________________
Daniel
HDX - PT12.5.1 - HD I/O 16x8x8
Win10-Pro (v1709)- 6 Core i7-6850k - ASUS X99 Deluxe ii
D-Command Main Unit - 'Ole Blue


http://www.sknoteaudio.com/ plugins rock and are affordable.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 12-02-2015, 12:43 PM
aylavid aylavid is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Japan & New York
Posts: 59
Default Re: Deleting Clips Without Erasing Automation?

Thank you, Drew Mazurek, clausiii, YYR123,

We take your advice seriously.
We have PDF PT11 Reference Guide. However, still not so easy to find out what we need to know on time from the manual. The pdf search window doesn't take us what we want. We searched keyword kind of "delete clips without losing automation" ...etc. Could not find.
We had beeing using another DAW long time. PT is about a couple of years. We usually search on the web. Much reliable than manual.

Seems you guys well handled with the manual.
We deeply appreciate if you show us some tip of way of finding anything from manual. e.g. this time, what kind of keywords do you use for the search and what page we can find this?

Thank you,
__________________
Specifications:
Mac OSX 10.10.4
CPU: 2.8GHz Intel Core i7
RAM: 16GB 1600 MHz DDR3
Pro Tools 11.3.1

Appreciate the Rescue from Experts,

A.Y.L
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 12-02-2015, 02:08 PM
YYR123's Avatar
YYR123 YYR123 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Austin TX
Posts: 13,735
Default Re: Deleting Clips Without Erasing Automation?

We have just as many problems searching the manual as you do

As with all search related problems sometimes less is more (i.e. Less words for your querying) it sometimes uses a broad net to catch what you need to catch

But as I said an avid customer service rep told me that the other day that the manual in some places and sometimes is very ambiguous
__________________
Daniel
HDX - PT12.5.1 - HD I/O 16x8x8
Win10-Pro (v1709)- 6 Core i7-6850k - ASUS X99 Deluxe ii
D-Command Main Unit - 'Ole Blue


http://www.sknoteaudio.com/ plugins rock and are affordable.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 12-02-2015, 04:25 PM
joachim's Avatar
joachim joachim is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Germany, München
Posts: 1,687
Default Re: Deleting Clips Without Erasing Automation?

Quote:
Originally Posted by aylavid View Post
We searched keyword kind of "delete clips without losing automation" ...etc. Could not find.
I like the other way around.
Instead of searching for self-formulated personal search terms like "delete clips without losing automation", I look, what kind of buttons arer there in the edit and mix window.
If you hover with the mouse over it, it displays its label. Hmm, "Automation follows Edit", what is that button used for -> so I search for "Automation follows Edit" in the Ref Guide.
Unfortunately, this has to be done for every button, you do not know. But kind of worth it.
And if you get to know the relevant part of the Ref Guide, and open sub-menus like, Mixing - Automation - Automation Preferences, one may find the answer.
But, my experience, the less you know about PT, the less you will find in the Ref Guide. The opposite is also true, to some extent.
__________________
PT 11.3.2 HD , RME Fireface 800 , Genelec 5.1 ,
Win7 64bit Professional , i7 3930 Hexcore , 48GB Ram , SSD System + SSD PT Session/Audio + SSD Video (all Samsung 840 Evo) + Spinner 1TB Data , 2x Radeon HD 5450 \\ SD 633 Femto MKH8060 MKH8070 MKH30/MKH40 DPA4060
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 12-03-2015, 04:33 PM
aylavid aylavid is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Japan & New York
Posts: 59
Default Re: Deleting Clips Without Erasing Automation?

@YYR123 and @joachim, Thank you for the response and advice.
We took your advice seriously and tried with Ref guide.
We searched for "Automation follows Edit" too. Then we found some page perhaps relate to what we were looking for. But unfortunately, we didn't quite get it this was the exact meaning of remaining automation when we delete audio clips.

The reply from two of you made us think what we have been questioning ourselves and curious why, that is why Avid company is not supporting their own customer for free by email and phone like many other companies. The company is supposed to appreciate customers that chose this product. For example, any products from Japanese company, you will receive fee support 100% in Japan. Because of products are created by the company, so that customers are supposed to be no idea about their products. So it is natural and common sense to think if the company wish to customers to choose their product, they should provide information about products and support when it is in trouble.
In the way of Avid, we see a many cool advertisement and videos they create and saying get our product Pro Tools. But after you purchased, they don't care about you. Instead, they say, pay us more if you need to know about our product. Only money oriented. No appreciation.
So that we started from PT11. However, we have already considered going back to other DAWs used to use or going for something new like Samplitude. They provide free support and good reputation.

Have you ever thought same way or question about same way?

Thanks,
__________________
Specifications:
Mac OSX 10.10.4
CPU: 2.8GHz Intel Core i7
RAM: 16GB 1600 MHz DDR3
Pro Tools 11.3.1

Appreciate the Rescue from Experts,

A.Y.L
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Deleting Unused Clips ReynaldoPena Windows 3 12-02-2012 01:44 AM
Deleting Clips Without Erasing Automation? Giannis Pro Tools 10 9 06-13-2012 09:55 AM
PT NOT ERASING AUTOMATION woodshopsound Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 5 01-31-2005 10:00 PM
Erasing automation on a Master track (volume)...how? Roy Howell 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 3 05-30-2002 05:40 AM
erasing automation Mike Glenn 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 4 05-28-2002 07:13 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:52 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com