Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 06-05-2012, 07:10 AM
Fabb2004 Fabb2004 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 5
Default Anybody know what the max sampling rate of PT 8.0 LE is?

I am using an MBox 2 Pro, but am looking to upgrade to another interface or possibly a dedicated AD/DA along with my Focusrite ISA preamp. Right now the best I can record through the MBox 2 Pro is 24 bit, 96KHz. Does anyone know if this is a limitation of the Mbox hardware or the software itself? I would like to get a 24 bit 192KHz AD/DA, but I want to make sure PT 8.0 LE can handle this?

Thoughts? Are there any issues with upgrading to different hardware and still using 8.0 LE in terms of the sampling rate?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 06-05-2012, 07:45 AM
nst7 nst7 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Cincinnati OH
Posts: 9,838
Default Re: Anybody know what the max sampling rate of PT 8.0 LE is?

If you stay with LE 8, your choices are limited.

The software itself is limited to 96k, so it wouldn't matter what hardware you used. You would need to upgrade to PT 9 or 10 to be able to do 192k, and then you can use any interface you want.

Having said all that, there is very little reason to record above 96k. There have been a zillion discussions about it, but the consensus is that there is very little advantage vs. the extra processing power and storage requirements.

BUT, if you really want to, one of the best things I can recommend is to get the new Mbox 3 Pro bundled with PT9, which gives a free upgrade to 10. Both the hardware and the software would be compatible with 192k recording, and the conversion is gigantic jump in quality from what you have, regardless of what sample rate you used. You will be far less likely to feel that you need a separate converter with this.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 06-09-2012, 10:58 PM
YYR123's Avatar
YYR123 YYR123 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Austin TX
Posts: 13,735
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by nst7 View Post
, and the conversion is gigantic jump in quality from what you have, regardless of what sample rate you used.
Yes the pre's are really good especially with compared with ur mb2 - +1 with NST7
__________________
Daniel
HDX - PT12.5.1 - HD I/O 16x8x8
Win10-Pro (v1709)- 6 Core i7-6850k - ASUS X99 Deluxe ii
D-Command Main Unit - 'Ole Blue


http://www.sknoteaudio.com/ plugins rock and are affordable.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Sampling Rate Problem Please Help D.O.T General Discussion 0 07-13-2008 06:33 AM
16k sampling rate? guy.fi 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 4 10-31-2007 03:03 AM
Sampling rate problem IPerez27 Post - Surround - Video 4 08-24-2004 08:38 PM
mbox sampling rate madincraft 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 1 08-05-2003 11:16 PM
Mbox sampling rate madincraft 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 1 08-03-2003 02:49 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 01:07 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com