Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Hardware > Eleven Rack

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 06-25-2013, 09:55 AM
thepresident777 thepresident777 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: land of pleasant living
Posts: 11
Default Microphone Emulators

Is it possible to turn off the microphone emulators for recording on a PC?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 06-25-2013, 10:56 AM
nst7 nst7 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Cincinnati OH
Posts: 9,838
Default Re: Microphone Emulators

No, it is not possible. You can turn off the cabinet, which turns off both the cabinet and mic.

I'm curious, why would you want to do that?
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 06-25-2013, 11:17 AM
thepresident777 thepresident777 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: land of pleasant living
Posts: 11
Default Re: Microphone Emulators

Quote:
Originally Posted by nst7 View Post
No, it is not possible. You can turn off the cabinet, which turns off both the cabinet and mic.

I'm curious, why would you want to do that?
The entire chain in between the instrument and speakers is virtual, so why would I want a mic?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 06-25-2013, 11:26 AM
TieDyedDevil TieDyedDevil is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 502
Default Re: Microphone Emulators

Quote:
Originally Posted by thepresident777 View Post
The entire chain in between the instrument and speakers is virtual, so why would I want a mic?
Heh. Good question.

I'd guess that the answer is somewhere along the lines of the difficulty of measuring the response of a microphone without a speaker and vice versa.

But that's just a guess...
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 06-25-2013, 11:55 AM
nst7 nst7 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Cincinnati OH
Posts: 9,838
Default Re: Microphone Emulators

The reason you want a mic is because that's how it would be in real life. How do you know how the cabinet speakers sound if you don't have a mic to record it?

If you stood in a room 20 feet away from the cabinet, and liked the sound, you would have to put up some kind of mic at that position to capture it. If you put your ear 2 inches from the cabinet, it would sound completely different, and again, you would need a mic at that position to capture that as well.

That's the entire purpose of amp sims, is to emulate amps in real life. Same thing applies to live use. A mic is put up to the cabinet, then amplified in the PA system.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 06-25-2013, 12:40 PM
TieDyedDevil TieDyedDevil is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 502
Default Re: Microphone Emulators

Quote:
Originally Posted by nst7 View Post
Same thing applies to live use. A mic is put up to the cabinet, then amplified in the PA system.
I think the OP's underlying point is: "What if don't want the mic'd amp sound."

Some players like the sound of their guitar amps "in the room". The question them becomes: "Why can't I have a modeler behave exactly like a guitar amp, rather than a mic'd amp?"
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
mcdsp plugins emulators based on??? blackpoetry Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 17 08-30-2009 12:05 PM
analog console and tape emulators cuzinofdef Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 10 09-17-2003 02:05 PM
CS-10 Users and Emulators Rejoice! Leigh Marble 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 0 07-06-2002 06:09 PM
Word2001 Mac conflicts, Conflict Catcher, Windows emulators dave23 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 7 03-02-2001 07:14 PM
Conflicts between Windows emulators and DAWS dave23 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 0 12-19-2000 11:10 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 09:07 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com