Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Mixing > Avid Pro Mixing General Discussion

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 10-27-2023, 04:13 PM
johnmichaelcaldwell johnmichaelcaldwell is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2020
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 23
Default Sync HD Loses Connection With No Session Open

On two computers, every time a session is closed I lose the connection to the Sync HD, getting this error: "Lost communication with the Sync HD. Check connections and power on Sync HD. Should I set the sync peripherals to MTC?" (With buttons "Use MTC" and "Keep Sync HD").

The Sync HD appears to work just fine with any session open but after I close the session I get the above dialog box almost every time I close a session. Satellite sync works fine throughout the session.

I've tried replacing the serial cable and reinstalling Pro Tools and the drivers. I think this started to happen after I updated the computers to MacOS 12.6.9 on the two Intel machines. I have a third silicon machine with the same OS and this doesn't happen.

Wondering what could be causing this? Has anyone had this issue before?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 10-29-2023, 06:31 AM
Frank Kruse Frank Kruse is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: old europe
Posts: 6,002
Default Re: Sync HD Loses Connection With No Session Open

No idea what your specs are but I am seeing this a lot since upgrading to my new machine. I suspect it's a new bug with native, Mx Macs, PT23.6&23.9 or a combination of them all.

Quite often PT will say "communication to SYNC HD" lost or won't even find it in the morning. Shutting down and re-starting the machine usually fixes it. Re-launching PT does not.

Never happened on my old 5,1 cheese greater.

Frank.
__________________
PTHDnPCIe 2024.3.1 (OSX13.6.7), 8x8x8, MacPro 14,8, Decklink SDI 4k, SYNC HD, Nanosyncs HD, 64GB RAM, Xilica Neutrino, Meyersound Acheron
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 11-02-2023, 11:50 AM
johnmichaelcaldwell johnmichaelcaldwell is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2020
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 23
Default Re: Sync HD Loses Connection With No Session Open

Well, the thing for me is that it’s not happening on the Native machine. This only happens on the Intel machines.

Even after I click the message that it’s lost communication and the dialog goes away, if I don’t have a session open, the message pops up again.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 11-10-2023, 02:27 AM
kosmokrator kosmokrator is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 136
Default Re: Sync HD Loses Connection With No Session Open

we were having the same issue on one machine, albeit with the Sync X. Computers are Intel MacPros (the new ones).

Seems to be a strange bug since it only happened on one of multiple systems that are technically identical.

Seems to have gone since our tech team upgraded the firmware on the Sync X.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 11-10-2023, 02:35 AM
Frank Kruse Frank Kruse is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: old europe
Posts: 6,002
Default Re: Sync HD Loses Connection With No Session Open

And your PT version is?
__________________
PTHDnPCIe 2024.3.1 (OSX13.6.7), 8x8x8, MacPro 14,8, Decklink SDI 4k, SYNC HD, Nanosyncs HD, 64GB RAM, Xilica Neutrino, Meyersound Acheron
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 11-25-2023, 11:43 AM
kosmokrator kosmokrator is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 136
Default Re: Sync HD Loses Connection With No Session Open

Quote:
Originally Posted by Frank Kruse View Post
And your PT version is?
sorry Frank, completely missed that..

We're on 2023.6

Problem reappeared tough, the techs cross-checked between different studios and the problem still happened with a changed Sync X, so seems to be on the PT machine side.

All other studios are on the same hard-and software version, so not sure what it is exactly..
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
S1 loses connection Jazzbass56 Avid S1, S3, Dock and Control App 24 01-30-2020 10:18 AM
PT 12 HD loses sync but only indicates in session window Nick Namnone Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Mac) 0 11-09-2016 10:44 AM
ModDelayIII loses tempo sync after reopening session clausiii macOS 0 05-30-2012 01:31 AM
002R Loses connection w/PT LE 7.3.1 badseed79 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 0 04-09-2007 10:17 PM
001 loses connection mersisblue 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 0 07-28-2004 08:47 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:04 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com