Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 03-26-2004, 04:00 PM
The Weed's Avatar
The Weed The Weed is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 6,579
Default Looks Like OS X, Runs On XP...

Just for fun I sometimes check another forum - like we're not addicted to this one! - and came across this little gem:

"This is only semi tongue-in-cheek. Nah, what the h*ll. It is the truth: If you want the best possible performance and stability, Winxp on a P4 w/intel 875 chipset is the only way to go. As a former G5 user who switched over, I can tell you there is no comparison. however, it is a fact that Apple spends a great deal of money on marketing and asthetics.
Get StyleXP download the demo, apply the OS X "Panther" theme to your WinXP DAW. Use the "use no resources" option. In all seriousness that GUI alone will improve you workflow, it is magnificent.You will now have the most useful feature of the entire Mac platform on your crash free and fast Nuendo/Windows DAW. Hate to say it but the clock is finally ticking on my old friends. A native DAW is a WinXP PC period."

From this post.

No flames because he didn't mention AMD and dissed Mac.

Mentioned also was StyleXP. This is an amazing little app for only $20 US. Low enough in price to make it worth getting as a gag. I've got a friend of mine who uses a Mac and a client of his is going to buy him a PC to work with in the client's studio. He wants to come over and try my new PC to see how it runs. I'm going to load on "Panther" that day and watch his face. Should be good for at least a chuckle.

Info on StyleXP here.

Cheers,

__________________
Take your projects to the next level with a
non-union national read at reasonable rates
Demos: brucehayward dot com
Source-Connect: brucehayward
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 03-26-2004, 04:27 PM
K.B. K.B. is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: London - a rather posh bit
Posts: 4,711
Default Re: Looks Like OS X, Runs On XP...

You sure about that?
Quote:
Browse to where you extracted the files for your new boot screen in Explorer and select the correct file to copy to C:\Windows\System32. If you have SP1 for Windows XP installed use ntoskrnlsp.exe, otherwise use ntoskrnl.exe. IT IS VERY IMPORTANT TO USE THE CORRECT FILE, OR YOUR SYSTEM WILL LOCK UP ON BOOT.

Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 03-26-2004, 04:38 PM
The Weed's Avatar
The Weed The Weed is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 6,579
Default Re: Looks Like OS X, Runs On XP...

I just ran the zip function in XP and installed the program, no hassle, no worry. Runs fine on my computer.

Cheers,
__________________
Take your projects to the next level with a
non-union national read at reasonable rates
Demos: brucehayward dot com
Source-Connect: brucehayward
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 03-26-2004, 04:40 PM
The Weed's Avatar
The Weed The Weed is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 6,579
Default Re: Looks Like OS X, Runs On XP...

I just reread your post. That's for the boot screen. Don't mess with that, it's just to give you a different look when your computer is booting up, not necessary and a little scary.

Cheers,
__________________
Take your projects to the next level with a
non-union national read at reasonable rates
Demos: brucehayward dot com
Source-Connect: brucehayward
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 03-26-2004, 05:00 PM
K.B. K.B. is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: London - a rather posh bit
Posts: 4,711
Default Re: Looks Like OS X, Runs On XP...

It's good to see someone else checking these things work ok...

So, uh, how does PT run now?

Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 03-26-2004, 05:10 PM
IVcrane IVcrane is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 252
Default Re: Looks Like OS X, Runs On XP...

^
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 03-26-2004, 05:42 PM
The Weed's Avatar
The Weed The Weed is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 6,579
Default Re: Looks Like OS X, Runs On XP...

Ran 32 + 10 on the davec with and without "Panther". Made sure the display settings were the same and that the StyleXP icon was not in the system tray and out of memory. The CPU meter was pretty much the same, screen redraws maybe a just a tad slower. Overall, didn't really see a difference. YMMV, but I don't usually have really heavy sessions going on. As I said, I only got it as a joke, but it does look nice too.

Cheers,
__________________
Take your projects to the next level with a
non-union national read at reasonable rates
Demos: brucehayward dot com
Source-Connect: brucehayward
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 03-26-2004, 05:56 PM
K.B. K.B. is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: London - a rather posh bit
Posts: 4,711
Default Re: Looks Like OS X, Runs On XP...

Well, maybe Digi should consider buying it up...



Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 03-26-2004, 06:07 PM
K.B. K.B. is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: London - a rather posh bit
Posts: 4,711
Default Re: Looks Like OS X, Runs On XP...

IV

What does /\ mean?

And what combination of keys...?

Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 03-26-2004, 06:10 PM
The Weed's Avatar
The Weed The Weed is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 6,579
Default Re: Looks Like OS X, Runs On XP...

Shift + 6

Don't know what it means.

Cheers,
__________________
Take your projects to the next level with a
non-union national read at reasonable rates
Demos: brucehayward dot com
Source-Connect: brucehayward
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
LE 7.3 runs sluggish on my G5! tokyofan 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 5 11-13-2007 04:12 PM
Which Mp3 runs on OS X? JimCutler 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 2 10-04-2003 01:42 PM
Does anyone know if PTLE 5.3.1 runs under Win XP PRO? Minorelli01 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 5 06-27-2002 12:43 AM
Meter runs out Swanny Digidesign Hardware & Software 0 01-12-2001 05:29 PM
PTF runs on a PII 233 Mhz Taja13 Digidesign Hardware & Software 1 10-26-2000 11:14 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:20 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com