Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support

Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Licensing & Accounts

Old 10-20-2022, 12:27 PM

Default Am I able to transfer projects to another account/pc?

Forgive me as I am brand new to Pro Tools.
But I am looking to practice on working with mixing projects at home and be able to transfer them to a local studio that already has Pro Tools. I have the Student Studio Subscription of Pro Tools, 2022.7.0 and they have a slightly older version, I know they have a permanent copy of Pro Tools on an iLok key.

I'm not sure if I need an iLok key as well or be able to transfer my projects on a portable hard drive. Or if I can log in with my account and save progress on the cloud.

I'm not sure if it's that complicated but I'd figured it's worth asking someone that is familiar as the engineer there wasn't sure.
Old 10-20-2022, 01:43 PM

Default Re: Am I able to transfer projects to another account/pc?

Welcome to DUC.

This is both simpler and much more complex than you probably imagined.

OK first being super clear on naming is important.

In Pro Tools land

"Projects" refer to content stored online in cloud projects in Avid cloud. Cloud projects are notoriously buggy and a great way to lose your work. Very few users, here, including folks with decades of experience will use cloud projects.

Sessions refer to content in Pro Tools session format stored on local disks. The standard way of working/interchanging Pro Tools work.

You should be working exclusively with local sessions stored on your computer. If you mean sessions, stop calling them projects.

Anybody who tries to get you to use Cloud Projects you should punch in the face.

If you are using cloud projects now, punch yourself in the face, then Save it as a local session.