Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools 9

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 12-31-2010, 12:08 AM
Whasssaaahhh Whasssaaahhh is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Belgium
Posts: 23
Question Dual monitor vs single monitor setup

Hello,

I am considering buying a second display (or maybe even 3, as my MacPro has 2 video cards inside), but wondering if PT9 supports multiple monitors (and if the window configuration feature supports save & recall of window setups)

Ronny
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 12-31-2010, 12:09 AM
HD2 HD2 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 928
Default Re: Dual monitor vs single monitor setup

Quote:
Originally Posted by Whasssaaahhh View Post
Hello,

I am considering buying a second display (or maybe even 3, as my MacPro has 2 video cards inside), but wondering if PT9 supports multiple monitors (and if the window configuration feature supports save & recall of window setups)

Ronny
Yes and Yes
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 12-31-2010, 12:25 AM
Ryan Young's Avatar
Ryan Young Ryan Young is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Santa Clarita, CA
Posts: 1,834
Default Re: Dual monitor vs single monitor setup

YES YES and OH YES! I take advantage of these window configurations, it's really great.
__________________
-Ryan Young

•2019 Mac Pro 3.5 GHz 8-Core Intel Xeon W - 48 GB 2666 MHz DDR4 (OS 10.15.5) •HD Native PCIe, HD Omni, 192 I/o, Pro Tools Ultimate •Avid S3 + Dock •Blackmagic Intensity Pro (HDMI) •5.1 Room with JBL LSR4300 series

Additional Systems

•2010 Mac Pro 2 x 2.66 GHz 6-Core Intel Xeon - 48 GB 1333 MHz DDR3 (OS 10.14.6) •HD Native PCIe, 192 I/o, 96 I/o, Pro Tools Ultimate •McMix (x4), McControl (x1), JLCooper Surround panner for D-Command ES, Avid Control •Blackmagic Intensity Pro (HDMI) •7.1.4 Room with JBL LSR4300 series

•2017 MacBook Pro 2.8 GHz i7 - 16 GB 2133 MHz LPDDR3 (OS 10.14.6) •HD Native TB, HD Omni, Pro Tools Ultimate •McMix (x1), McControl (x1), Avid Control * or * D-Command ES Main Unit •Fed into whichever system is the main system
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 12-31-2010, 02:24 PM
justus1900 justus1900 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Montgomery, IL
Posts: 758
Default Re: Dual monitor vs single monitor setup

Running Dual Dell 22" Monitors here and loving it.
__________________
Producer/Engineer/Musician
RIAA Platinum Sales Award: Lisa Stansfield "Affection"

Main:
Model: Dell 5750 Precision Workstation
OS: Windows 10 Pro 64bit
CPU:*Intel Core Processor i7-10750H (6 Core, 12MB Cache, 2.60 GHz to 5.00 GHz,
Memory:32GB, 2X16GB,DDR4 2933Mhz Non-ECC
OS M.2 512GB PCIe NVMe, Record Intel 1TB SSD, 2T SSD, 1TB SSD
Focusrite Scarlett 18i20 3rd Gen
AVID Pro Tools 2022.7
JBL LSR4328P 8"
JBL LSR310S 10 inch Powered Studio Subwoofer*
Yamaha HS50M Studio Monitors
Alesis Elevate 3 Studio Monitors
M-Audio Axiom 61 Midi Controller
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 01-01-2011, 07:43 AM
albee1952's Avatar
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Norwich, CT
Posts: 38,547
Default Re: Dual monitor vs single monitor setup

Me too. I cringe at the thought of working a single monitor, unless I am on a friend's 37" with a C24. Even then, we use a 20" on the side for Melodyne.
__________________
Gigabyte X79/intel i7 3930K, 32GB RAM, HD/Native, 192 IO
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


The better I drink, the more I mix

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 01-01-2011, 10:13 AM
trock trock is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: US
Posts: 162
Default Re: Dual monitor vs single monitor setup

2 dell 24 inch monitors off my mac pro and love it with PT 9 and Logic

its great
__________________
PT 10 - Mac Pro Octo 2.8 - 10.8.3
Artist series - MC control v2 - 2x mc mix - mc trans
Apogee Symphony
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 01-01-2011, 12:58 PM
Tragic Dog Tragic Dog is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Orange County, California
Posts: 254
Default Re: Dual monitor vs single monitor setup

dell 20" 17" (hoping to replace this soon), and a 32" vizio... all work wonderfully with PT9
__________________
Jon Lillie
Behind the Light Productions
PT 10-CPTK-Motu Traveler v1
Mac Pro 2x2.8GHz Quad-Core, 14gigs of ram
Macbook Pro w/Retina Display, 2.3Ghz i7, 16gigs of ram
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 01-02-2011, 07:11 PM
fakir_cz fakir_cz is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Czech Republic
Posts: 226
Default Re: Dual monitor vs single monitor setup

24" HP and 20" NEC here. :) I've been running a dual monitor setup for years now and I can't really imagine returning to single monitor, even a big one.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 01-02-2011, 08:19 PM
Emcha_audio's Avatar
Emcha_audio Emcha_audio is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Montréal, canada
Posts: 6,681
Default Re: Dual monitor vs single monitor setup

I've always used a dual monitor for PT, not sure what a 3rd would do for you though, since all you need is the edit screen and mixer to always be present.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 01-02-2011, 10:16 PM
Hotcrazyfruit Hotcrazyfruit is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Toronto
Posts: 1,261
Default Re: Dual monitor vs single monitor setup

triple 20's. loving it.

Nick
__________________
Core i7 920 OC'ed @ 4.0 GHz (200 X 20)
12 GB Patriot Viper Extreme
Asus P6T
OCZ Agility 64 GB SSD
Hitachi 1TB 32 MB HDD
WD Caviar Black 500GB
Saphhire HD 5850
3 x 20" monitors

Eleven Rack w/ ERXP
Fender Super Champ XD
Marshall JCM2000 DSL100 Silver Edition W/ Silver Jubilee Cabinet
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Dual or Single Monitor Setups? ctyelvis Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 22 11-21-2009 07:30 AM
Still on Dual monitor setup gerax Pro Tools TDM Systems (Win) 2 07-07-2006 01:51 PM
PT7 Dual monitor setup Serious issues. inkness Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 5 02-09-2006 11:00 AM
new to dual monitor setup... shynomi 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 5 02-09-2005 11:16 PM
Dual monitor setup questions kjax 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 0 05-17-2002 01:09 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 01:34 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com