Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 10-17-2007, 04:25 AM
acmost acmost is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 813
Default Mac Pro...black screen freeze question!

So uuhh...any of you ever seen this black screen thing. The whole screen goes back starting at the top and slowly going down until the big crash comes? Usually freezing the audio in a loop or slowing it down. The big crash... It happens like once a day depending. I have session file backup on stun but still it's pretty annoying. Is this a Ram thing or....?

I've got HD2 but I think it used to happen with an 002r also.

TIA
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 10-17-2007, 10:02 AM
crizdee's Avatar
crizdee crizdee is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Brighton, UK
Posts: 10,696
Default Re: Mac Pro...black screen freeze question!

Quote:
So uuhh...any of you ever seen this black screen thing. The whole screen goes back starting at the top and slowly going down until the big crash comes? Usually freezing the audio in a loop or slowing it down. The big crash... It happens like once a day depending. I have session file backup on stun but still it's pretty annoying. Is this a Ram thing or....?

I've got HD2 but I think it used to happen with an 002r also.

TIA
Hi,

You have experienced the curtain of death! this is usually an indication that something is seriously wrong with either the software or hardware, all you can do is re-install all your software and better still re-format your system drive and re-install the OS then re-install pro tools and all third party stuff, if this does not fix the problem then its likely you have a hardware problem that could be anything from a faulty USB device to Ram or mother board etc etc. elliminate the software first.

Chris
__________________
PT MAC Troubleshooting... http://duc.avid.com/showthread.php?t=54888

Producer, Engineer,
UKmastering Mixing & Mastering
Blinders_Columbia top 40 UK album charts
Slow Readers Club Joy Of The Return #9 UK album charts

www.ukmastering.com


PT10.3.10 Mountain Lion HD6 accel Magma PE6R4 D Command 32 MacPro 12 Core 3.46ghz UAD-2 Octo x2. Manley Vari-Mu, Manley Massive Passive, SSL VHD, ADL600, Grove Tubes ViPre, Tube-Tech CL-1B. Hafler TRM active monitoring.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10-17-2007, 12:11 PM
kptkarl kptkarl is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: LA, Karlofornia
Posts: 206
Default Re: Mac Pro...black screen freeze question!

Applejack!!!

aside from the afore mentioned software advice. applejack is another highly advisable thing to install and run. also included with applejack installer is memtest.

more information
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Black screen of death Mac88s 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 4 01-22-2009 04:03 PM
PT LE 7-black screen/not launching Gozzinni 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 4 10-23-2008 01:22 PM
Partial Black Screen..Never saw this before ejwells 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 0 07-26-2004 05:27 AM
the osx black screen of death mersisblue 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 1 01-15-2004 01:49 AM
Freeze up, Black Out -- It Looks Like Rain shuaksky 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 4 06-28-2002 09:19 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 07:37 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com