Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 10-04-2004, 06:38 AM
powerjoe powerjoe is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Elk River, MN USA
Posts: 1,284
Default How to disable RAID?



Okay, I've looked everywhere on the DUC but could not find a mention of how to disable RAID after I have loaded everything. (yep, maybe this should have been done during install?)

*See my system below*

Is it as easy as going into Device Manager and disabling it there? If, so, how can I get all my drives recognized if I cannot have RAID enabled?

Thank you so much for your replies!

Asus A7N8X Mobo
1.5 GB Kingston PC 2700 RAM
3, Internal WD (80GB) HD's, 7200 RPM
Athlon XP2700
DIGI 002
PTLE 6.4x
__________________
Joel DuBay
Ready Acoustics LLC
Bass Traps and Acoustic Panels
www.readyacoustics.com
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 10-04-2004, 10:25 AM
CozmoXP CozmoXP is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Redmond, WA
Posts: 114
Default Re: How to disable RAID?

Are you actually using RAID? If you don't know how to turn it off it seems unlikely that you ever set it up in the first place.
__________________
AthlonXP 2700+, 1.5GB XMS DDR,A7N8X Dlx,120g 8mb Seagate System drive, 160g 8mb SATA recording drive, dual 19" CRTs and an 002r on XPSP2!
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10-04-2004, 10:36 AM
Rail Jon Rogut Rail Jon Rogut is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Los Angeles, CA, USA
Posts: 14,490
Default Re: How to disable RAID?

The RAID controller is normally set up in your BIOS

Rail
__________________
Platinum Samples
www.platinumsamples.com
Engineered Drums for BFD
••••••••••••••••••••••••••••
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 10-04-2004, 12:03 PM
powerjoe powerjoe is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Elk River, MN USA
Posts: 1,284
Default Re: How to disable RAID?

Hey thanks,

I looked in my Bios, but do not see anything listed as RAID. May I assume that it would be in the Power Management tab area?

I have seen it in my Device Manager and it says it is enabled there.

Any other thoughts?
__________________
Joel DuBay
Ready Acoustics LLC
Bass Traps and Acoustic Panels
www.readyacoustics.com
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 10-04-2004, 12:27 PM
CozmoXP CozmoXP is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Redmond, WA
Posts: 114
Default Re: How to disable RAID?

Are your 3 disks setup as a RAID0 stripe? What kind of controller are they connected to?
__________________
AthlonXP 2700+, 1.5GB XMS DDR,A7N8X Dlx,120g 8mb Seagate System drive, 160g 8mb SATA recording drive, dual 19" CRTs and an 002r on XPSP2!
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 10-04-2004, 12:39 PM
cruisemates cruisemates is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Posts: 766
Default Re: How to disable RAID?

Raid comes in many different configurations. The basic idea is to distribute all your data over 2 or 3 different hard disks simultaneously, either for faster disk access or for safety of data (depending on which level of raid you are using, the most common is RAID 5, FYI).

If it came stock on your machine and you have already been using it awhile, you cannot just disable it. RAID configs define how data is written to your hard drives, so if you disable it you won't be able to read the data.

Look at your computer docs and figure out if RAID is running or not. If it is, you will probably have to ghost your system to another drive and install it into your system instead of the raid, or take the ghost copy, disable raid, format and transfer your data back to the original disks.

If you do not know what we are talking about, you should probably let a computer pro do this for you. Playing around with your raid config is a good way to lose your data for good.
__________________
- but the second mouse gets the cheese
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 10-04-2004, 01:19 PM
powerjoe powerjoe is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Elk River, MN USA
Posts: 1,284
Default Re: How to disable RAID?

Very good.


When I had the machine made, I asked the tech to make sure RAID was not enabled. So, I assume that is how it was originally configured. However, I did a clean install a few months back and had to use the Asus CD to load some stuff. I think, but am not sure, that I may have enabled RAID at that time. I only say that because I remember the system not recognizing all 3 of my 80GB internal drives. But, I think I enabled it in DEvice Manager. I guess this is not possible huh?

I am using a Promise Controller.
__________________
Joel DuBay
Ready Acoustics LLC
Bass Traps and Acoustic Panels
www.readyacoustics.com
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 10-05-2004, 12:07 PM
cruisemates cruisemates is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Posts: 766
Default Re: How to disable RAID?

Sorry, I don't have a RAID controller so I cannot answer your question. But if you have RAID running, you should have some kind of a RAID program under your start button giving you some raid options. Also - take a look at your disk properties under my computer, if the partitions and areas used are all pretty much identical, you prolly have RAID installed. If they are all different then you don't.

Other techs here? if raid is enabled wouldn't it just look like one big drive to the system rather than separate drives?
__________________
- but the second mouse gets the cheese
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 10-05-2004, 12:43 PM
Rail Jon Rogut Rail Jon Rogut is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Los Angeles, CA, USA
Posts: 14,490
Default Re: How to disable RAID?

Took a look at the Asus Website for your motherboard.. and it doesn't list a RAID controller as being integrated into the motherboard.

Here's my motherboard for comparison -- which allows you to disable or enable the RAID controller in the BIOS.

Rail
__________________
Platinum Samples
www.platinumsamples.com
Engineered Drums for BFD
••••••••••••••••••••••••••••
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 10-05-2004, 04:21 PM
K.B. K.B. is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: London - a rather posh bit
Posts: 4,711
Default Re: How to disable RAID?

Oh for crying out loud!

Do a search on your system for (wait for it!) "RAID" - bit of a dark art all this...

If you have RAID installed you will have a 'raid manager' which will probably be called something like (and here's where you need the experts) "raid manager". Open that and see what it says...


Then you could try looking in the device manager. It might be there.

Or start / programs / accessories / system tools. Or somewhere around there....

Or start / settings / system / administrative tools / computer management...

If none of these come up with anything - you haven't got it.



Minus fifty house points to everyone that's posted here - a big big 'doh!'





Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Thunderbolt Drives, disable RAID? RTASW Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Mac) 15 07-03-2013 07:43 AM
how do I disable a raid 0 config Filmusic 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 14 08-01-2009 05:03 PM
How do you disable RAID? Victorious 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 1 12-20-2007 02:32 PM
How Can I Disable RAID In A7V600? Escape 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 4 12-07-2003 02:43 PM
Help Anyone with Asus A7V333, disable Raid! mxsoul 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 8 11-22-2003 11:14 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:00 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com