Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support

Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Pro Tools
Register FAQ Today's Posts Search

Old 07-23-2021, 05:35 AM

Default No audio after recording track through plugin

I am new to the pro tools scene. I feel that I have a user end problem that I can't quite seem to figure out. I have the latest version of Pro Tools (just downloaded last month) and Scarlet 2i2 3rd gen. I got a couple other things. I have Amplitube 5 which is really what I want to use.

Problem: I think everything is set up correctly. I can arm the audio track and pull up the plugin for guitar effects and play and hear audio from both headphones and monitors. I can then record the audio no problem and also hear the playback. However, when I am playing back the recorded audio I can no longer hear any audio coming through when I play the guitar again 'on top' of the recorded sound. Also I can't punch in to do a recording fix. I have also tried to take the original track and bounce it, then deleting original track and starting a new one with a new instance of amplitube, but I still can't hear audio in armed mode in the newest track. There is input signal to the interface and also to the plugin, just no audio coming out after something has been recorded. I tried freezing/committing the track. I have searched EVERYWHERE to figure out what setting I'm missing. I have tried combinations of the direct line on the audio interface.

Ultimately what I want to be able to do, is record guitar so that I can loop it and play over top with the same distortion to either practice solos, or record solo, but I can't get a plugin to work after something has been recorded. Also I can't overdub here. Apologies if this is super noob, trying to figure it out. Thanks for help!!!
Old 07-23-2021, 12:15 PM