Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 10-13-2010, 10:04 AM
marty lester marty lester is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: austin, tx usa
Posts: 138
Default export midi

hey folks...

baffled. i'm exporting a PT session as an OMF, and the midi doesn't xfer. fine. i export the midi tracks and export a midi file and the only thing that happens when i re-import that midi data into a new session is i get the memory location markers.

what am i doing wrong? the tracks are highlighted, as is the whole time-line.

PT version 7.4 HD/3
Mac OS 10.4.11
2 x 2.66 dual core xeon
5 GB memory

thanks,
marty.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 10-13-2010, 10:16 AM
crizdee's Avatar
crizdee crizdee is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Brighton, UK
Posts: 10,681
Default Re: export midi

Quote:
Originally Posted by marty lester View Post
hey folks...

baffled. i'm exporting a PT session as an OMF, and the midi doesn't xfer. fine. i export the midi tracks and export a midi file and the only thing that happens when i re-import that midi data into a new session is i get the memory location markers.

what am i doing wrong? the tracks are highlighted, as is the whole time-line.

PT version 7.4 HD/3
Mac OS 10.4.11
2 x 2.66 dual core xeon
5 GB memory

thanks,
marty.
Hi,

OMF only does audio not midi

You'll need to do a midi file as well as OMF. the midifile does the location markers as well as the midi and the tempo map!!!!


Chris
__________________
PT MAC Troubleshooting... http://duc.avid.com/showthread.php?t=54888

Producer, Engineer,
UKmastering Mixing & Mastering
Blinders_Columbia top 40 UK album charts
Slow Readers Club Joy Of The Return #9 UK album charts

www.ukmastering.com


PT10.3.10 Mountain Lion HD6 accel Magma PE6R4 D Command 32 MacPro 12 Core 3.46ghz UAD-2 Octo x2. Manley Vari-Mu, Manley Massive Passive, SSL VHD, ADL600, Grove Tubes ViPre, Tube-Tech CL-1B. Hafler TRM active monitoring.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10-13-2010, 01:55 PM
marty lester marty lester is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: austin, tx usa
Posts: 138
Default Re: export midi

Quote:
Originally Posted by crizdee View Post
Hi,

OMF only does audio not midi

You'll need to do a midi file as well as OMF. the midifile does the location markers as well as the midi and the tempo map!!!!


Chris
thanks for the reply...yeah, i have done a separate midi file yet no actual midi tracks come along in the export. very odd.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 10-14-2010, 07:34 PM
marty lester marty lester is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: austin, tx usa
Posts: 138
Default Re: export midi

ok...pilot error of course. been so long since i've exported midi. turns out
it was either because the midi track was muted, or the track was in notes mode rather than regions mode...but more than likely because i had the track muted.

hope this helps someone as forgetful as i,
marty.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 10-14-2010, 10:04 PM
drBill drBill is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 348
Default Re: export midi

Hey Marty -

Yeah, must UNMUTE all tracks you want to transfer.

As you figured out, it's a 2 step process - OMF & MIDI for tempo map, etc.

Bill
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Export MIDI Without General MIDI assignments grhufnagl 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 0 02-24-2009 10:12 AM
Export MIDI produces corrupted data. Unable to export MIDI ! Chris7514 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 0 05-01-2007 08:18 PM
Midi export Toontrack Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 2 08-07-2006 11:13 PM
protools midi export to garageband midi? speky 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 1 02-23-2006 11:39 AM
Export MIDI ?? Virtual 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 4 08-30-2002 09:03 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:37 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com