Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 04-27-2010, 08:00 PM
javiopro javiopro is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 8
Default how to export midi.

having some problems exporting my midi drum tracks... here's what im working with

a session with several tempo change markers...(which have changed the speed of some parts of the midi drums) when i go to export the midi file those tempo changes are lost (guessing because smf do not carry over the "tempo map"/tempo change markers" i have made. how can i export the midi file while maintaining the changes that the tempo change makers have made to the midi performance. Need to get those midi performances into another non-pt daw.

so more or less is there a way to apply the tempo changes to the midi file before i export?

experimented with applying real-time properties before export and flattening. not working. any ideas
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 04-27-2010, 08:45 PM
tlennon tlennon is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 171
Default Re: how to export midi.

There is no tempo change associated with midi. It always follows the tempo of the DAW. However you can use sysex message at the beginning and most DAW will ask if you want to use the tempo of the midi file.
__________________
Terrence Lennon
Ivory Key Productions
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 04-27-2010, 10:12 PM
javiopro javiopro is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 8
Default Re: how to export midi.

found a post on how to export the tempo map from pt via the midi file but that only gets me halfway to where i wanted to be which is similar to what your describing. i would like to use the midi files in logic without having the tempo changes show up also from the pt session.

wish there was a way to make those tempo changes to the midi sequence itself before export so I wouldnt have to use the pt tempo map.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Export MIDI Without General MIDI assignments grhufnagl 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 0 02-24-2009 10:12 AM
Export MIDI produces corrupted data. Unable to export MIDI ! Chris7514 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 0 05-01-2007 08:18 PM
Midi export Toontrack Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 2 08-07-2006 11:13 PM
protools midi export to garageband midi? speky 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 1 02-23-2006 11:39 AM
Export MIDI ?? Virtual 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 4 08-30-2002 09:03 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 09:46 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com