Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > General Discussion & Off Topic > General Discussion

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 06-22-2009, 07:51 PM
TranceLab TranceLab is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Cornwall and Devon. UK
Posts: 16
Smile How does one get to be a Beta Tester for Digidesign?

Hi all.

Hope everyone is well and enjoying the new Pro Tools 8.

I am keen to become a Beta Tester for Digidesign. Anyone know the correct way to approach this?

Many thanks

TranceLab
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 06-22-2009, 08:11 PM
sunburst79 sunburst79 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Cleveland, Ohio USA
Posts: 12,763
Default Re: How does one get to be a Beta Tester for Digidesign?

Quote:
Originally Posted by TranceLab View Post
Hi all.

Hope everyone is well and enjoying the new Pro Tools 8.

I am keen to become a Beta Tester for Digidesign. Anyone know the correct way to approach this?

Many thanks

TranceLab
Buy something.......
__________________
Scott

Formerly Hobo Wan Kenobi

Core 2 Specs Page

ASUS P6T6 Revolution | i7 930 | 12GB OCZ DDR3 1600 7-7-7-20 | PTLE 10 | CPTK | 003 | Presonus D8 | 11Rack | Alesis AI3 | Presonus HP60 | Mercury + Studio Classics | Sound Toys | MasseyPack | Axiom61 | MAudio Keystation Pro 88
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 06-22-2009, 08:14 PM
sunburst79 sunburst79 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Cleveland, Ohio USA
Posts: 12,763
Default Re: How does one get to be a Beta Tester for Digidesign?

Just kidding of course.
__________________
Scott

Formerly Hobo Wan Kenobi

Core 2 Specs Page

ASUS P6T6 Revolution | i7 930 | 12GB OCZ DDR3 1600 7-7-7-20 | PTLE 10 | CPTK | 003 | Presonus D8 | 11Rack | Alesis AI3 | Presonus HP60 | Mercury + Studio Classics | Sound Toys | MasseyPack | Axiom61 | MAudio Keystation Pro 88
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 06-22-2009, 08:20 PM
sunburst79 sunburst79 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Cleveland, Ohio USA
Posts: 12,763
Default Re: How does one get to be a Beta Tester for Digidesign?

There was a call for Vista x64 beta testers awhile back, check the Windows announcement areas for that thread. They occasionally hold open betas for new products like Structure, Velvet, Eleven.

The key is to check the announcement areas regularly. If you hit the DUC's main page and click "New Posts" one or twice a day you will get a good feel for whats going on in all of Digiland.
__________________
Scott

Formerly Hobo Wan Kenobi

Core 2 Specs Page

ASUS P6T6 Revolution | i7 930 | 12GB OCZ DDR3 1600 7-7-7-20 | PTLE 10 | CPTK | 003 | Presonus D8 | 11Rack | Alesis AI3 | Presonus HP60 | Mercury + Studio Classics | Sound Toys | MasseyPack | Axiom61 | MAudio Keystation Pro 88
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 06-22-2009, 08:25 PM
TranceLab TranceLab is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Cornwall and Devon. UK
Posts: 16
Default Re: How does one get to be a Beta Tester for Digidesign?

Thanks for the info

I've been wondering around here for a couple years before posting
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 06-22-2009, 09:16 PM
docbop docbop is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 403
Default Re: How does one get to be a Beta Tester for Digidesign?

Most companies I've worked for being a beta tester was by invitation. We would look at people from online boards like the DUC who have exhibited vast experience with the product and excellent technical knowledge. Then we would notice people submitting good bug reports with good problem description and valid test cases for reproducing the problem. Just being a user isn't much help need people who can write detailed bug report and supply steps for a test case. Then there are high profile users that are willing to test beta releases. They didn't ususlly write good bug reports, but their industry knowledge made their input on new features and know they would push the product. This was also a way to get them on a NDA which all beta testers have to sign. Being a good beta tester is a lot of work, its more than just trying out new releases.
__________________
Steve B.
----------------------------------------------------------------
If you think you can or if you think you can't, you're right.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 06-24-2009, 12:01 PM
x9blade x9blade is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: NY
Posts: 1,399
Default Re: How does one get to be a Beta Tester for Digidesign?

Quote:
Originally Posted by sunburst79 View Post
Buy something.......

beautiful
__________________
3930K I7,X79 asus,GTX780,Samsung SSDx2,Western Digital Black 2TB HDDx4
32 Gb Corsair ram,30"Apple Cinema Screen,HD NATIVE
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 06-24-2009, 12:20 PM
peppertree peppertree is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Elsewhere
Posts: 1,610
Default Re: How does one get to be a Beta Tester for Digidesign?

Quote:
Originally Posted by sunburst79 View Post
Buy something.......
Rim SHOT!
__________________
`My name is Pro Tools HD, King of Kings:
Look on my works, ye mighty, and despair!'
Nothing beside remains. Round the decay
Of that colossal wreck, boundless and bare,
The lone and native DAWs stretch far away.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 06-24-2009, 05:47 PM
aus scott aus scott is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 185
Default Re: How does one get to be a Beta Tester for Digidesign?

Quote:
Originally Posted by sunburst79 View Post
Just kidding of course.
Classic LOL
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Come on avid we re not beta tester the_nooon Pro Tools 9 10 12-13-2010 10:35 AM
What's new about beta tester flautista 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 11 09-15-2009 08:11 AM
I am tired of being a Beta tester McMasters Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 36 12-29-2004 02:27 PM
Beta tester team for PT 6.1 LE for XP mpmb 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 7 05-01-2003 05:39 AM
beta tester bighead General Discussion 6 12-10-1999 06:56 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 03:15 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com