Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Other Products > MIDI

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 05-01-2007, 11:05 PM
Chris7514 Chris7514 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 291
Default Export MIDI always results in corrupted file ! Why ? Help !!

Hi Everyone !
EVERY TIME I try to export MIDI the result is corrupted file. I can not figure out what's going on. I just had 2 tracks of MIDI.( Piano and strings). 4 minutes song, 128 bars, perfectly quantized for printing. I did everything by the book i.e. unmuted both tracks, selected multi track option, specified desktop as a destination, named the file. I tried that several times with different sessions. The result is ALWAYS a corrupted file, that I cannot open neither with Sibelius, nor even with Quick Time to check. Quick Time does open it, but then on a playback there is a silence, no data, no sound, and file's length is over 11 hours ! ( maximum length of a session in PT). I've tried also selecting the length of a song before exporting it as a MIDI, but it didn't help. For some reason It always defaults to the maximum length of a session ( even though my session was only 4 min. long !). PT 7.1, iMac G-5 1.8 GHz, 160 GB HD, 120GB Lacie external HD, 2GB RAM, Digi 002R, MOTU MIDI Express XT etc. OS X 10.4.9 updated. I've done over 120 projects using my rig in the last 5 years or so( including two full length movie scores-full VSL orchestra). Everything works perfectly well. no problems ever, except... Export MIDI is just NOT working. Any ideas ? Please Help !!! I will need to print MIDI mockup session for live orchestra ( June 20th deadline). I just want to avoid re-performing everything from scratch in the notation program ( strings, brass, woodwinds etc.). Why can't I just export quantized MIDI tracks from PT 7.1 to be opened in Sibelius for printing ?
Chris 7514
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 05-02-2007, 06:34 AM
Stig Eliassen's Avatar
Stig Eliassen Stig Eliassen is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Norway @ Studio Varmt & Trangt
Posts: 7,455
Default Re: Export MIDI always results in corrupted file ! Why ? Help !!

Have you tried exporting to the session folder on you audio drive instead?

I seem to vaguely remember something "bad" regarding MIDI and desktop, but it hasn't hit me yet. Try the session folder first.
__________________
Studio rig - Pro Tools|HDX 2018.7 | Logic Pro X.4.2 | Avid HD I/O (8x8x8) | 6-core 3.33 Westmere w/24GB RAM | OS 10.12.3 | D-Command ES | Eleven Rack | Vienna Ensemble Pro 5
Mobile rig - Macbook Pro i7 w/16GB RAM | UA Apollo 8p | Pro Tools|HD 2018.3 | Logic Pro X.4.2 | OS 10.12.6
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Midi file corrupted - crackling? micart671 macOS 0 05-25-2012 01:22 AM
Export MIDI from PT results in 20 thousand measure file ! Chris7514 MIDI 2 12-18-2007 05:46 PM
Export MIDI produces corrupted data. Unable to export MIDI ! Chris7514 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 0 05-01-2007 08:18 PM
corrupted midi file? yOkO 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 0 12-26-2004 07:11 PM
I need to export a midi file Paul David 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 7 12-02-2004 12:53 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 03:42 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com