Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Mixing > ICON & C|24

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 12-12-2020, 11:47 PM
mfefc mfefc is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 126
Default C24 Scribble strip failing

Hi guys, anyone had experience with their c24 scribble strip not displaying correctly? The last 8 bank of faders scribble strip only displays rectangles, the others work fine but the last 8 won’t display any characters. I’d say maybe 1/20 power ons it will display properly but for the most part it just displays coloured in rectangles. Anyone have any suggestions. Cheers.
__________________
Windows 7 Pro 64-bit
Intel Core i7-2600K @4.5GHz QUAD 8 MEG CACHE W/HT
LGA1155 Motherboard dual channel DDR3 TI firewire (Sandy Bridge)
Mushkin DDR3 16G RAM
Pro Tools HD Native 9.0.5
C24
Eleven Rack
Lynx Aurora, LTHD
UAD2 Quad Neve
-----------------------------------------------------------------
MacBook Pro
2.3GHz Quad-core Intel Core i7
8GB 1333MHz DDR3 SDRAM
Pro Tools LE 8
Glyph Tech GT050Q
003 Rack
Mbox2 mini
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 12-12-2020, 11:50 PM
mfefc mfefc is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 126
Default Re: C24 Scribble strip failing

I’ve uploaded a photo of it here:
https://postimg.cc/pyB6jgvC
__________________
Windows 7 Pro 64-bit
Intel Core i7-2600K @4.5GHz QUAD 8 MEG CACHE W/HT
LGA1155 Motherboard dual channel DDR3 TI firewire (Sandy Bridge)
Mushkin DDR3 16G RAM
Pro Tools HD Native 9.0.5
C24
Eleven Rack
Lynx Aurora, LTHD
UAD2 Quad Neve
-----------------------------------------------------------------
MacBook Pro
2.3GHz Quad-core Intel Core i7
8GB 1333MHz DDR3 SDRAM
Pro Tools LE 8
Glyph Tech GT050Q
003 Rack
Mbox2 mini
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 12-13-2020, 08:13 AM
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Norwich, CT
Posts: 37,159
Default Re: C24 Scribble strip failing

I would open the unit(bottom panel?) and check/reseat connections between the circuit boards(isn't it 1 board for channels 1-8 and a second board for 9-16?). Pretty sure that the 1-8 circuit board gets all its voltages from the 9-16 board(IOW, no direct connection to the PSU)

If that doesn't help, maybe check with an avid-approved service like allproelectronics.com for advice or repair info
__________________
Gigabyte X79/intel i7 3930K, 32GB RAM, HD/Native, 192 IO
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


The better I drink, the more I mix

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 12-18-2020, 06:03 PM
mfefc mfefc is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 126
Default Re: C24 Scribble strip failing

Hey mate thanks for the advice, I thought I’d have to take the back off was hoping there might have been an easier way. Thanks again and I’ll post progress of how I get on just in case it helps someone else. Cheers.
__________________
Windows 7 Pro 64-bit
Intel Core i7-2600K @4.5GHz QUAD 8 MEG CACHE W/HT
LGA1155 Motherboard dual channel DDR3 TI firewire (Sandy Bridge)
Mushkin DDR3 16G RAM
Pro Tools HD Native 9.0.5
C24
Eleven Rack
Lynx Aurora, LTHD
UAD2 Quad Neve
-----------------------------------------------------------------
MacBook Pro
2.3GHz Quad-core Intel Core i7
8GB 1333MHz DDR3 SDRAM
Pro Tools LE 8
Glyph Tech GT050Q
003 Rack
Mbox2 mini
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 04-03-2021, 03:38 PM
Claudio Vila Claudio Vila is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2021
Location: Brasil
Posts: 2
Default Re: C24 Scribble strip failing

Hi mfefc, did you get a solution to the problem on your C24 scribble strip? My C24 shows only rectangles on all channels. I am suspicious of the controller board.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 09-16-2021, 02:24 AM
mfefc mfefc is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 126
Default Re: C24 Scribble strip failing

Quote:
Originally Posted by Claudio Vila View Post
Hi mfefc, did you get a solution to the problem on your C24 scribble strip? My C24 shows only rectangles on all channels. I am suspicious of the controller board.
Sorry for the late reply, no i havent got it fixed yet and in fact its only gotten worse.

Now all display scribble strips display incorrectly with loads of different symbols.

I took the back off, didnt really know what i was doing but just re-plugged in the cables that looked like they belonged to the display screen. It didnt fix it, it was just the same.
Fast forward quite a few months and now all screens are unreadable. I emailed the company listed in a previous reply to this thread but never got a response. Im in Australia so no idea who i can turn too. Didnt want to have to ship it to the USA etc.
Have you had any solutions/ideas?
__________________
Windows 7 Pro 64-bit
Intel Core i7-2600K @4.5GHz QUAD 8 MEG CACHE W/HT
LGA1155 Motherboard dual channel DDR3 TI firewire (Sandy Bridge)
Mushkin DDR3 16G RAM
Pro Tools HD Native 9.0.5
C24
Eleven Rack
Lynx Aurora, LTHD
UAD2 Quad Neve
-----------------------------------------------------------------
MacBook Pro
2.3GHz Quad-core Intel Core i7
8GB 1333MHz DDR3 SDRAM
Pro Tools LE 8
Glyph Tech GT050Q
003 Rack
Mbox2 mini
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 09-16-2021, 02:28 AM
mfefc mfefc is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 126
Default Re: C24 Scribble strip failing

Updated picture, the symbols are all garble when a session is open.

https://postimg.cc/qz7qsj8G

This is the back open if it helps anyone give us any ideas. All i did was unplug and re-plug in those ribbon cables.

https://postimg.cc/zbsmyDSM
__________________
Windows 7 Pro 64-bit
Intel Core i7-2600K @4.5GHz QUAD 8 MEG CACHE W/HT
LGA1155 Motherboard dual channel DDR3 TI firewire (Sandy Bridge)
Mushkin DDR3 16G RAM
Pro Tools HD Native 9.0.5
C24
Eleven Rack
Lynx Aurora, LTHD
UAD2 Quad Neve
-----------------------------------------------------------------
MacBook Pro
2.3GHz Quad-core Intel Core i7
8GB 1333MHz DDR3 SDRAM
Pro Tools LE 8
Glyph Tech GT050Q
003 Rack
Mbox2 mini

Last edited by mfefc; 09-16-2021 at 02:40 AM.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Control 24 scribble strip wesmix ICON & C|24 0 02-25-2011 07:20 AM
Scribble strip: TB4 lead scuzzytim ICON & C|24 4 11-27-2006 01:53 PM
scribble strip going dim off and on WilliamDC ICON & C|24 2 08-29-2006 08:31 AM
scribble strip syntheticrhyme ICON & C|24 1 05-15-2002 07:22 AM
Scribble Strip Disapearing MeltMediaMusic ProControl, Control|24, Command|8 0 05-22-2001 04:27 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:42 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com