Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support

Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > macOS
Register FAQ Today's Posts Search

Old 01-03-2016, 08:18 AM

Default Restoring backup question

I have never had a need to do a backup restore in the past, although I do time machine backups regularly of my macbook pro. Currently I have El Capitan running and it is causing problems with PT 11HD. I am wondering if there is a way to install a backup of just Yosemite OS without losing files on the computer created since that backup?

I'm assuming the answer is yes, but I don't want to try for the first time and lose a bunch of files, or to spend hours moving everything to another hard drive.

I was going to do the upgrade to 12HD, but as a student, I really can't afford to be doing such an expensive upgrade right now, and with also knowing it would be another $399 next year right as I'm graduating.

Any advice would be appreciated. I would like to make PT11HD as stable as possible on this computer
Old 01-04-2016, 05:15 AM

Default Re: Restoring backup question

Quote:
Originally Posted by IVcrane View Post
I have never had a need to do a backup restore in the past, although I do time machine backups regularly of my macbook pro. Currently I have El Capitan running and it is causing problems with PT 11HD. I am wondering if there is a way to install a backup of just Yosemite OS without losing files on the computer created since that backup?

I'm assuming the answer is yes, but I don't want to try for the first time and lose a bunch of files, or to spend hours moving everything to another hard drive.

I was going to do the upgrade to 12HD, but as a student, I really can't afford to be doing such an expensive upgrade right now, and with also knowing it would be another $399 next year right as I'm graduating.