Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 05-04-2009, 02:46 PM
KingFish KingFish is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Nashville TN
Posts: 2,659
Default reading Audio file metadata ?

I'm doing something when editing, slip of the right click, with a specific tool (From the multi tool) while holding command down - I just can't figure out WHAT is causing THIS DIALOG AND ANALYSIS to Pop up, and highlight the region with a bright yellow box.

Am I TCE'ing? I can't "Force the dialog", but it's popping up about 7 or 8 times per comp.

Any ideas what this is ?
__________________
David

- MacPro 6,1 Intel Xeon E5 2.7 GHz 12-Core 128 GB 1066 MHz DDR3
- HDX II Sonnet xMacPro Server
- 16x16 HD i/o x 6
- PT 2018.10
- OS X 10.14.4
- ProTools Dock / PT Control
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 05-04-2009, 10:20 PM
squidsquad squidsquad is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 12
Default Re: reading Audio file metadata ?

PT is reading the metadata of the audio files to determine whether it should 'match' them based on criteria in the files.

If you select 'track id' as the match criteria, then command-click on the highlighted region with the selector tool, any other audio file that has the same 'name' in it's metadata and overlaps in time will pop up in a contextual menu. Selecting another file from the menu swaps out selected audio for the other file.

It's useful if you have an eight-track field recorder, and have eight tracks of production audio from a film shoot. With one track in the session, you can highlight a word or phrase, and swap it out for another channel (i.e. boom to radio or one actor's radio to another actor's radio).

It gets interesting when you use sibliminator from maggot software. Sibliminator takes a group of files and forces then to be siblings, then if they overlap in time, you can swap them out using the technique above.

We use if for ADR - all the takes get sibliminated, then individual words can be swapped (for example).

It has applications in music too - sibliminate your vocal tracks, and comping is a breeze.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 05-04-2009, 11:48 PM
Felix Rost Felix Rost is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Berlin, Germany
Posts: 564
Default Re: reading Audio file metadata ?

Quote:
Originally Posted by squidsquad View Post
It gets interesting when you use sibliminator from maggot software. Sibliminator takes a group of files and forces then to be siblings, then if they overlap in time, you can swap them out using the technique above.
There's "match from timecode only" in the match menu (7.4 and up). Doesn't that do the same?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 05-05-2009, 11:35 AM
c-tone c-tone is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Posts: 1,129
Default Re: reading Audio file metadata ?

I just got it to do this by right-clicking on a region with the Apple key held down. When I tried it again, it wouldn't do it anymore.

It can be a bummer when you are working quickly and this happens to a long region - it can take a while.
__________________
www.clifnorrell.com
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 05-05-2009, 02:08 PM
KingFish KingFish is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Nashville TN
Posts: 2,659
Default Re: reading Audio file metadata ?

Quote:
Originally Posted by c-tone View Post
It can be a bummer when you are working quickly and this happens to a long region - it can take a while.

Yeah that's my complaint... I want to shut it off - I don't use this work flow, and it's popping up, and analyzing whole files, in the middle of my comp edits.

I'm cutting all the vox on a project, and comping every day right now - and this is a bit of a P.I.T.A - obviously a "New Analysis" Shortcut for PT8 as I haven't changed my workflow in a few years, and this is a new dialog for me.

Anyone know if there's an Option / Preference - to disable this?
__________________
David

- MacPro 6,1 Intel Xeon E5 2.7 GHz 12-Core 128 GB 1066 MHz DDR3
- HDX II Sonnet xMacPro Server
- 16x16 HD i/o x 6
- PT 2018.10
- OS X 10.14.4
- ProTools Dock / PT Control
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
request: make "reading audio file metadata" background task Felix Rost Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 7 03-11-2011 07:35 AM
"reading audio file metadata"--key command? Floydio Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 3 10-27-2010 02:23 PM
file reading metadata by mistake garnoil Post - Surround - Video 2 10-07-2010 09:36 AM
Audio File Metadata - toggle off??? digidub Post - Surround - Video 6 02-24-2010 05:04 AM
Reading audio file metadata???!!! GeneOuse Pro Tools TDM Systems (Win) 1 01-21-2008 10:07 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:56 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com