Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 09-17-2004, 08:14 AM
icounil icounil is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 3
Default digi002, cubaseSX, radeon 9200 & 9800 ->1394 error

i have a G5 with cubase SX2 installed. i have just added a second graphics card to have a TV out and third screen to create sound for video, this allowing me to work with two full screens for cubase mix and editing panels whilst having full screen video on a TV.

but now i have a serious bug, as soon as i have any of cubase's windows outside the main screen (plugged into the radeon 9800) i loose the 1394 connection with the digidesign 002 ! if i keep all of cubase's windows inside the main screen, it works, but even if there is 1 pixel (be it a window's shadow!) that splashes outside, no more sound from the 002...

if i leave two screens with only the 9800 cubase works fine... i have tried replacing the second graphics card (9200) with a friend's radeon 7000 to test this, and it does the same nasty bug...

has anyone else had this problem? if so, how did you fix it? if you have a three screen powermac G5 setup for cubase SX audio, how did you do it?

i would much appreciate speedy help so as to take the card back if the prooblem has no known solution...
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 09-17-2004, 11:04 AM
icounil icounil is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 3
Default Re: digi002, cubaseSX, radeon 9200 & 9800 ->1394 error

still hoping for some feedback
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 09-17-2004, 02:28 PM
icounil icounil is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 3
Default Re: digi002, cubaseSX, radeon 9200 & 9800 ->1394 error

okay people, finally found more info from osxaudio.com forums... i quote the guy who helped me out:

********************************
I tried various iterations of the same thing on my G5, and there was no solution. Having a second video card just hammers the PCI bus and the system bus, especially when moving anything between the two monitors. I ended up just using two 21" CRT monitors with vga adapters. The only real solution would be if some company were to release a three-head video card for the Mac (they exist for PC), but I wouldn't hold your breath. For external TV-video, your best bet would be some Firewire breakout box or maybe a PCI card that only does NTSC or PAL (but not computer video).

Sorry for the bad news,

jason

Edit: there is a crappy half-solution: use the optical in and out of your G5 to connect to your audio interface instead of Firewire. You'll get decent stereo audio, but you won't be able to use ProTools. All and all it, it really isn't a solution.
_________________
Jason Hyerstay - Macintosh Consultant - Dual 2.0 G5, 828mkII, HR824s, BuzZer, CA5000, DSP-Quattro, ImpOscar, Live 4, Logic Pro 6, Korg Legacy, MMV, Native Instruments, PlastiCZ, PSP VW, Tassman, Zebra... Carbon Copy Cloner, DiskWarrior 3, TechTool Pro 4
********************************
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Radeon 9800 Pro 1511 Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 2 09-05-2006 09:54 AM
ATI Radeon 9800 Pro NOT OEM, Conflict with PT HD1 Mark 66 Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 3 01-22-2006 07:32 PM
Radeon 9200 causing crashes... Arno Peeters 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 3 06-27-2005 12:30 PM
radeon 9800 pro mac edition holycable Post - Surround - Video 0 01-20-2005 02:27 PM
From G450 to an ATI Radeon 9200 SE....why won't... Rudger 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 8 04-21-2004 07:30 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 03:07 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com