Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 08-26-2009, 10:57 AM
Patill Patill is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 178
Default Bit-Rate and Sampling Frequency change of a session???

Hey,

I would like to change the bit-rate from 16 bit to 24 bit and the sampling rate from 44.1 kHz to 48 kHz, since this is recommended when you record a CD. I thought I go woth the CD defaults, but I´m propably wrong .


I can re-record the audio material, so what´s left in the sessions is just instrument tracks with some RATS instruments (Battery and Xpand2).

Is it possible to change it easily? How do I do that?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 08-26-2009, 11:09 AM
JonesH JonesH is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Sweden
Posts: 159
Default Re: Bit-Rate and Sampling Frequency change of a session???

I'd create a new session @ 24bit/44.1 kHz and then use Import session data. Don't runt 48k sampling rate when the end product is going to CD, you just need to make sample rate conversions from 48k to 44.1k.
__________________
I just wanna do engineering...

(as opposed to make music :/ )
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 08-26-2009, 11:13 AM
1ace1 1ace1 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Bristol, England, UK,
Posts: 582
Default Re: Bit-Rate and Sampling Frequency change of a session???

You can also go to the 'Save Copy As' function and change the settings of the session there (the new settings will be in the saved copy).

A
__________________
I Love Audio!!!
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 08-26-2009, 11:21 AM
Patill Patill is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 178
Default Re: Bit-Rate and Sampling Frequency change of a session???

ah ok.

I´ll try that, but somebody´s gotta help me out, I once tried saving a copy and some stuff was gone after .

I´d like to have it as a copy so I can delete the original without loosing stuff.


Now a very important question:
Is there any quality loss when I do that??? I mean saving a copy with 24 bit?
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 08-26-2009, 11:27 AM
1ace1 1ace1 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Bristol, England, UK,
Posts: 582
Default Re: Bit-Rate and Sampling Frequency change of a session???

the bits shouldn't make a big difference (it just will be representative of a 16 bit recording) but upsampling just adds samples that are already there to fill in the gaps so it is destructive to the raw data. resampling would be the best way to go but again would be somewhat destructive. rerecording would be ideal!

A
__________________
I Love Audio!!!
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 08-26-2009, 01:37 PM
allstaar's Avatar
allstaar allstaar is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 416
Default Re: Bit-Rate and Sampling Frequency change of a session???

Quote:
Originally Posted by Patill View Post

I´ll try that, but somebody´s gotta help me out, I once tried saving a copy and some stuff was gone after .

I´d like to have it as a copy so I can delete the original without loosing stuff.

If you were saving a session copy at the same bit depth and sample rate, you'd need to make sure it copies all audio files as it is an option for it to reference the audio files in the current session. To avoid this, check "copy all audio files" in the save session copy window.

If you're creating a session copy in either a different bit depth or sample rate, Protools has to create new files so always copies all audio files. In your current scenario, this is what would happen.

After you've done a session copy, it may be worth moving the old session to the trash temporarily and then opening the new one to make sure it has all the audio files it needs. Protools cannot reference audio files in the trash, so this is a way to check, if you're at all worried.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 08-26-2009, 02:47 PM
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Norwich, CT
Posts: 37,050
Default Re: Bit-Rate and Sampling Frequency change of a session???

Excellent advice above. I also agree that recording at 44.1 saves a sample rate conversion(although there are some that feel the conversion can smooth off rough edges). I usually work at 44.1K and always(unless someone else started a project) record at 24 bit for the increased headroom. That allows you to be more relaxed with your record levels(good for avoiding clipping with that singer that has no mic technique). Just remember that a 24 bit file will need to be dithered to 16 bits for burning audio CD's.
__________________
Gigabyte X79/intel i7 3930K, 32GB RAM, HD/Native, 192 IO
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


The better I drink, the more I mix

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 08-27-2009, 06:24 AM
Patill Patill is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 178
Default Re: Bit-Rate and Sampling Frequency change of a session???

Thank you everybody, have big work to do now


Quote:
Originally Posted by 1ace1 View Post
the bits shouldn't make a big difference (it just will be representative of a 16 bit recording) but upsampling just adds samples that are already there to fill in the gaps so it is destructive to the raw data. resampling would be the best way to go but again would be somewhat destructive. rerecording would be ideal!

A

Yes, I´ll rerecord the audio files, that´s no problem. But what about the instrument tracks? They shouldn´t have any quality loss at all right? Or do I have to change something there, too?
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 08-27-2009, 07:11 AM
1ace1 1ace1 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Bristol, England, UK,
Posts: 582
Default Re: Bit-Rate and Sampling Frequency change of a session???

They SHOULD be fine as far as I'm aware.

A
__________________
I Love Audio!!!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
PT11.n - no option to change sampling rate in "save as" dialog BCnSTL Pro Tools 11 3 03-18-2014 04:23 PM
Session sampling rate messup, what are my chances? digidesigner Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 2 11-02-2011 10:39 PM
How to Change A Session's Sampling Rate homegirl 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 1 07-17-2007 01:29 AM
Can I change the sample rate of my session? Help! Allbaldo Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 9 05-09-2006 01:05 PM
Sample rate change during session? JonMitchell 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 1 10-02-2005 10:47 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 01:20 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com