Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Pro Tools 2020

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 04-09-2020, 12:21 PM
Xensori Xensori is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2017
Location: Nashville
Posts: 12
Default Windows 10: Cursor and Rulers disappear from timeline

Windows 10.
2020.3 will not display a cursor on the timeline and all of the rulers (bars|beats, min:secs) etc are blank. Playback is fine.. I'm just having a video issue of some sort. It's weird. 2019.6 is fine


If I close the timeline view and reopen it (CTRL-=) everything appears fine until I click or hover on anything that generates a menu or tooltip, then its gone again. If I move the timeline window outside of the bounds of the main protools windows I can see a strange overlay/artifact. So, its drawing.. I just can't see it.



2019.6 is fine.. Anything newer than that has this issue.

I've trashed prefs, updated the video card drivers, latest windows update, disabled firewall, uninstalled, reinstalled as Admin, launch as admin. Got rid of everything my startup folder. No dice.

Video Card is GTX 970 and RME Fireface 400 (there are no issues if this is removed)

Googling to no avail.. Anyone seen something like that? I think a support ticket is in my future.

Nothing weird in Event Viewer. One strange thing I see in the Avid log that didn't show in 2019.6 is:
294.627477,04920,0e0f: CMN_TRACEASSERT AAXH::Terminate - Unexpected number of active ACF objects: 1, expected: 0 (numActiveACFObjects == sNumExternalACFObjects) d:\code\scm\protools\release\2020\r1\aax\public\aa xhost\aaxhostsource\aaxh.cpp line 112
__________________
ADK Windows 10 / RME / ATH M50s

Pro Tools Shortcuts App for iOS and Android
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 04-09-2020, 02:43 PM
Nish Nish is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Belgium
Posts: 197
Default Re: Windows 10: Cursor and Rulers disappear from timeline

Adding PT to the nvidia custom settings solved it for me, now I'm using an amd system with a radeon pro card and again had the same issue, so adding it to the custom setting in radeon again solved it.

Hope this helps! Cheers
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 04-09-2020, 03:28 PM
Xensori Xensori is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2017
Location: Nashville
Posts: 12
Default Re: Windows 10: Cursor and Rulers disappear from timeline

Thanks Nish!

Are you referring to this screen, or somewhere else? Also was there a specific setting that you changed to make Pro Tools work?
__________________
ADK Windows 10 / RME / ATH M50s

Pro Tools Shortcuts App for iOS and Android
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 04-09-2020, 04:20 PM
The Weed's Avatar
The Weed The Weed is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 6,622
Default Re: Windows 10: Cursor and Rulers disappear from timeline

Try uninstalling anything Nvidia in Control Panel>Programs & Features except the Graphics Driver and PhysEx.
__________________
Take your projects to the next level with a
non-union national read at reasonable rates
Demos: brucehayward dot com
Source-Connect: brucehayward
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 04-09-2020, 05:39 PM
Xensori Xensori is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2017
Location: Nashville
Posts: 12
Default Re: Windows 10: Cursor and Rulers disappear from timeline

Thanks for the recommendation. No dice, unfortunately. Actually, I then uninstalled the NVIDIA driver entirely now and still have the issue, so that's kind of interesting (It falls back to a stock 2019 driver that NVIDIA writes, though). All was well in 2019.6.
__________________
ADK Windows 10 / RME / ATH M50s

Pro Tools Shortcuts App for iOS and Android
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 04-23-2020, 10:36 AM
xlotvsx xlotvsx is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2020
Location: corona
Posts: 1
Default Re: Windows 10: Cursor and Rulers disappear from timeline

I too have same issue, been 2 weeks still no solve.
super super upsetting and frustrating..my time line cursor / beats and bars are legit stuck to my desktop screen leaving my actual pro tools work space nonfunctional when it comes to play back and editing.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 04-29-2020, 07:03 AM
Xensori Xensori is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2017
Location: Nashville
Posts: 12
Default Re: Windows 10: Cursor and Rulers disappear from timeline

Quote:
I too have same issue, been 2 weeks still no solve.
Same here. But, at least we're not alone. What are your system details? Let's see if we can find a pattern here somewhere and if someone in the community can give us more ideas.
__________________
ADK Windows 10 / RME / ATH M50s

Pro Tools Shortcuts App for iOS and Android
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 04-29-2020, 08:09 AM
philgrab philgrab is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: California
Posts: 180
Default Re: Windows 10: Cursor and Rulers disappear from timeline

Not seen this at all in my Win 10 system. I have an older GeForce GT 1030 and not seeing this. This is a pretty basic graphics card as I don't use games on my PT system.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 05-01-2020, 12:46 PM
lesbrunn's Avatar
lesbrunn lesbrunn is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Accra, Ghana
Posts: 829
Default Re: Windows 10: Cursor and Rulers disappear from timeline

Also using Windows10, PT 2020 here with a GTX 950. Display is normal.
__________________
X99 | i7 5960x @4.6GHz | 64GB GSkill DDR4 | Nvidia GTX 950 | Samsung 950 Pro NVMe 256GB | Samsung SM961 NVMe 1TB | Samsung 850 EVO 1TB | Samsung MZ7PD256 SSD 256GB | Kingston 120GB SSD | WD Black 1TB x2 | G-Drive 4TB x2 | WD Elements 4TB | Audient ID14 | PT2020.12 | Windows 10 Pro
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 05-01-2020, 05:17 PM
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Norwich, CT
Posts: 36,879
Default Re: Windows 10: Cursor and Rulers disappear from timeline

I also have no issues on Windows 10(nVidia Quadro 600). Maybe try another cable from the card to the monitor?
__________________
Gigabyte X79/intel i7 3930K, 32GB RAM, HD/Native, 192 IO
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


The better I drink, the more I mix

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
how to snap timeline/cursor to grid ZdonTheRapper Pro Tools 12 1 03-17-2018 10:41 AM
Cannot See Timeline or Cursor Selection XdrewE Pro Tools 12 1 03-16-2016 03:46 AM
Problem with Moving Multiple Clips in Timeline - Some Disappear WolfScream Pro Tools 11 6 04-07-2015 07:44 AM
Timeline/cursor start point? BilboMcP Pro Tools M-Powered (Win) 3 07-01-2008 01:04 AM
PT5/PT6 -> different cursor[timeline] behaviour micon 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 0 10-23-2006 06:28 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:05 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com